We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveler rating
747
287
108
43
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
747
287
108
43
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews malvern hills stunning views wine list main building fresh milk coach house hotel grounds amazing location biscuits dinner menu lovely hotel relaxed atmosphere special occasion afternoon tea lovely room evening meal high standard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2019

Wanted to treat my visiting sister to a special Sunday lunch. I will not make that mistake again. The beef was stringy and tough, supposed to be top rump. Roast potatoes dry and hard as wasthe yorkshire pudding, although variety of veg, very small quantity and only one small sprig of broccoli spear each. Plates not hot. Service disjointed and items had to be asked for twice. Extremely disappointing considering ratings will not be lunching there again. One bright spot pudding was delicious if very small. To us it seemed they were trading on the view which was not in their control. A neighbouring single diner was heard to ask for a steak knife to eat his beef. He was well built and had stronger muscles than us so was obviously having the same problem with the tough beef.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageTeam, Front Office Manager at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Hello. Thank you for visiting our restaurant, 1919, for Sunday lunch and for taking the time to share this review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. Thank you for your feedback – we will discuss this as a team and use it to make improvements. Although it is always our aim to exceed people’s expectations, sadly this doesn’t always happen. It is, however, possible to learn from these situations and deliver a better quality of product on future occasions. We would very much like to welcome you back to The Cottage in the Wood so that we might have the opportunity to restore your faith in us. All the best, The Cottage Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

Took my mum here for her birthday meal and it was a great choice.
They won instantly by providing mum with a birthday card from the staff and I thought that was a lovely welcome touch.
The ambience is nice but in the evening you can’t really appreciate the amazing view from the property so potentially lunch is a better option.
The meal was beautiful. I’ve eaten at the Ritz and I’d say food wise this was on a par. Really heavenly food with new taste sensations for the palette.
We didn’t have any alcohol as mum isn’t a big drinker and I was driving but a 2 course meal for the 2 of us therefore only set me back £70. Considering the quality of the food served I think this is actually really good value. Highly recommended for a special occasion.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank LynsFrostee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageTeam, Front Office Manager at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

Hello. Thank you for choosing our restaurant, 1919, as the destination for your mother’s birthday meal. Thank you for your glowing comments about the food. I’m sure our chef will be delighted to hear your comparison with the Ritz! We are thrilled that you and your mother enjoyed a lovely Birthday treat and truly appreciate the recommendation. We would love to welcome you back to The Cottage in the Wood. Best wishes, The Cottage Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

What a lovely 2 night stay we had at the cottage in the woods.It really is high up in the woods with amazing views,After a delicious breakfast you can leave your car and take the path at the side of the hotel to just walk and walk,the hills are idyllic and then return at the end of the day for a drink in the cosy bar area.Our room was large, clean & very comfortable with a really large bathroom & a lovely view. yes it does all need modernising (which is being done) but i loved it anyway really homely & relaxing.
Then to dinner in the lovely modern dining room with its friendly staff & tasty,
beautifully presented food , so glad we got to try it 2 nights running . This place is a real little Gem exceeding our expectations. We look forward to returning some time to see what else they do to it.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Pewitview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageTeam, Front Office Manager at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Hello. Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to share your experience in this review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, breakfast, dinner and the magnificent local hills! It is always our aim to exceed people’s expectations and we are delighted you were impressed. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, The Cottage Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful setting for this hotel; perfect for a hike or just taking in beautiful Malvern views. Our room was a good size however very dated and in need of a refurb; which the hotel did say was imminent. This didn’t spoil our stay.

However the restaurant more than made up for our room the food was fantastic with good veggie options.

Service was friendly and good.

Would recommend this restaurant to my friends and family.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank KarenB637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageTeam, Front Office Manager at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2019

Hello Karen. Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are situated in an idyllic spot for anyone wanting to explore the beautiful Malvern Hills and admire panoramic views across the valley. Thank you for joining us for dinner and for your kind words about the food and service. We would love to be able to welcome you back along with your friends and family. Warm regards, The Cottage Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019

Had lunch with my brother in law this week and really enjoyed the visit, we enjoyed a drink outside, the weather was fantastic Wednesday, moved into the restaurant for lunch and enjoyed starters, Cottage Pie, drinks and coffee for what I thought was a very reasonable £20 each considering the quality of the food and great atmosphere. Staff were good, particularly the front of house staff, the bartender was not having a good day though. Great venue, great food. Sorry about the photo, I’m not much of a photographer as you can see but the view is stunning and I wanted to make the attempt!

Room tip: Ask for a view
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Maps64477457325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageTeam, Front Office Manager at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2019

Hello. Thank you for visiting The Cottage in the Wood and for sharing this wonderful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience, made all the more special by the glorious weather we were lucky to have. Thank you for your lovely comments about the food and the staff. We set ourselves high standards to provide quality service in a relaxed environment and we are pleased you thought the atmosphere was great. Thank you for sharing your photos – they are brilliant! We hope we are able to welcome you back. All the best, The Cottage Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews