We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage in the Wood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Lovely room. Lovely place. Lovely people. Lovely food!!! We spent two nights there for my Birthday and had a Brilliant time! Would definitely go back again!!! Everything you could wish for in the room! The view was amazing too!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneStraubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Suzanne, may we wish you a belated Happy Birthday! So pleased to hear you both enjoyed your stay with us - you were also blessed with some lovely weather which always is the extra bonus. Hope we'll see you again and thank you for posting a review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    190
    67
    18
    14
See reviews for
93
556
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
341 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had a great one night stay and dinner. The room was a bit dated but the view is outstanding. Bathroom was excellent and loads of hot running water in the rainfall shower. We sat with a bottle of wine just taking in the scenery then had dinner in the restaurant. The food was 10 out of 10, very fine dining indeed. Service was impeccable with a very wide selection of wines. We will be going back for sure. The breakfast was lovely too, all local produce, cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Awesome indeed! I was gazing across the valley this morning (until my wife called me in to help and do some work!) - a beautiful, sunny almost summer like day - and agreed it is awesome even after 27 years. In this case familiarity does not lead to contempt! We are of course delighted you enjoyed your stay and the food too. Thanks for taking the trouble to post a review. We'll be here to welcome you back.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at The Cottage in Feb, having booked through Living Social deals. The hotel was clean and very small, the bar area was very quiet and lacked atmosphere. It was more like a nursing home than a bar/restaurant. The food was uninspiring and over-priced.
The biggest let down however, was the room- very old, tired furniture that looked like junk shop finds topped with glass. The decor was like an old person had decorated it 20 years ago and the noise from the rooms above kept us awake. The staff were however very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SomersetBilly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
It is always very disappointing to hear from a guest who did not enjoy their stay and I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the occasion. However, I'm always keen to read reviews in which we either "ring all the bells" or at the other extreme fail completely as in your case. Neither are entirely credible in my view. I assume you researched our web site before booking with the Living Social deal where you can see each room in the hotel. You also mention over priced food but failed to mention that with your deal you received a £20 discount which brings the price down to bog standard pub prices. I have to add that the last "terrible" review we got was in September 2012 and of your three Trip Advisor reviews to date, two were "terrible" and one "poor".
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I booked a Celebration Break at the Cottage in the Wood for my parents.

They have just returned, and in particular praised the comfort of their room, the friendliness of the staff, and the presentation of the food. The hotel also benefits from an excellent location, with matchless views.

I hope to visit myself one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneDoe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Front Office Manager at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
I'm very pleased to hear the feedback from your parents. What a nice idea as a present. When my father was still alive and birthday or Christmas loomed and I asked him what he'd like he always used to say "consumables only". ie he had all the rest of what he needed especially having downsized. We hope you will visit yourself one day and we'll look froward to welcoming you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

my children bought us this from Social Living as a christmas present. It was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Super location and views. Room spotless and food fab with excellent service and a family-run atmosphere We had a lovely walk up the Malverns from the hotel after a full English breakfast. We stayed in the Pinnacles . The room was far better than the pictures on the internet. I was expecting the room to be smaller from the pictures. Thank you Jane and Keith Duggan

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hallo Mr and Mrs Duggan. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and you are another who has benefited from the break as a present. It's a lovely idea. Very pleased you enjoyed the food and the family feel of the place. Hope you will return one day.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We only had 1 night there, but it was great.
Great location for walks, and the views in decent weather.
We were taken by surprise with the excellent service, and quality of the evening meal.
Beware of the full English, it's huge !
The staff really could not do enough for us, thank you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. I note that you were surprised by the excellent service and good food. I wondered if it was because of poor standards you'd suffered elsewhere or whether your expectations were well and truly exceeded. If the latter, we lived up to the standards we always aim to achieve. As for breakfast, at least it set you up for the day!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights on a half board basis earlier this month. Splendid location with a view that's everything others say about it. Rooms spotless and quiet and the family-run atmosphere works well though we encountered at least 10 different members of staff. The food was very good and we enjoyed our meals . However, the drawback for us was that the menu is a set one for about 6 weeks at a time , I believe. After 2 days this begins to pall. If one fancied fish again it's exactly the same fish as before. We would prefer a daily changing menu with choice which other hotels like this manage to offer This is the kind of place where one could easily spend a week as there is so much to do in the area: walking, music, theatre, interesting places to visit but I couldn't recommend a stay of more than 2 or 3 nights because of the menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
I read your comments carefully and I thank you for them. We have tailored our business to meet the needs of short break takers but I take your point, we may be denying ourselves the longer stay business. There is I submit, plenty of choice on the menu with two fish, several meat dishes and vegetarian options. We also have a menu for coeliac sufferers too. As for 10 members of staff, we are a team and as long as the ethos of the place and the standards are maintained, it matters not whether it's 2, 5, 10 or more. it's all part of the challenge of running a 365 days of the year business.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
2.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Malvern Wells Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage in the Wood: hotel, restaurant and bar in Mavlern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hill with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 30 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HRS, LateRooms, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Great Malvern/Malvern Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing