We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel That Goes The Extra Mile!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I first stayed at 'The Cottage' over 20 years ago and returned to visit family who live locally.
Again, I was not disappointed with any aspect of my stay. In fact, far from it. The warmth on arrival and kindness offered to my cousin (who has been unwell) was unsurpassed. Nothing was too much trouble for the family and staff who run this gorgeous hotel.
The views speak for themselves and the tables in the dining room are laid out to make the most of them. The garden was sumptious and dripping with shrubs and flowers and well cared for.
My room and bathroom were perfect - large, clean, quiet and luxurious and all the little 'extras' I needed...
I met up with John and Sue Pattin - the owners - while I was enjoying a full English with fabulous local sausage and congratulated them and their family who look after the Hotel to such high standards. Thank you again. Jacmac

Room Tip: The view from a room in the Pavillion would be hard to beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacmac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

I guess what separates a good privately owned hotel from a chain hotel is the "extra mile". We see it as part and parcel of what we do and what we are here for. We try to give our guests a good experience. We don't know what they may be going through or have recovered from in their private lives but if we can help them to relax and be pampered, then we've done our bit. It was lovely to meet you again after two decades. Don't leave it another two as I will have slipped from this mortal coil! Thanks for the review.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 969 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here using a voucher so paid about half price. It is a lovely location and perfect for relaxing after a day in the Malvern Hills. The restaurant is very good, with a good menu. There was only one veggie option but it was excellent. Breakfast was also very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

I'm glad you used a voucher. It was a promotion and aimed at a low period of the year, so hopefully a real bargain. I'm delighted you enjoyed the break and would recommend to everyone. That's a real compliment. Sorry about only one veggie main course, we used to have two but found we had a big wastage. However, we are always happy to provide an alternative with a little notice. Many thanks for your review.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a one nights stay at the Cottage in the Wood and I can honestly say it's the best hotel we've ever stayed in. If you are in any doubt about whether or not to book this hotel, then believe me you won't regret it!

Let's start with the positives;

Location - breathtaking
Room - clean, spacious, well equipped, comfortable
Food - fantastic, high quality
Service - faultless
Value for money - it's not cheap but you get what you pay for
Overall - very impressive

There are no negatives.

We cannot wait to return - hopefully for longer next time!

Thank you Cottage in the Wood, you have made this weekend a very memorable one.

Mr & Mrs Sharratt.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are more expensive but the views are extraordinary - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bird84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your generous comments. We now have something to live up to to ensure no negatives when you return! We'll be here to welcome you and as you said, hopefully for more than just the one night. The area is rich in things to do - in fact we have a six page leaflet highlighting many of the attractions, houses, gardens, car drives etc.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

beautiful setting on the slopes of the malvern hills looking out directly towards bredon hill. Our first stay as an anniversary treat for 2 nights.very friemdly family run hotel with delightful accomodation in the pinnacle .ideal walking straight out onto jubilee hill from either side of hotel. the food was excellent and for breakfast there was plenty of choice.would definately return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Happy anniversary! I'm glad a memorable date was enjoyed. Many thanks for posting a review. The walks from our grounds are really enjoyable and can be just a stroll to the top or something much more serious as the range of the Malvern Hills is 9 miles long.Haste ye back as my Scottish friends would say!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend here with friends. We stayed in Beech Cottage, the bedrooms were pretty, beds comfortable and everything was exceptionally clean. There are stunning views from most rooms and from the light and airy Dining Room. The cooked breakfasts were extremely good and the evening meals were excellent. There is a cosy Bar
but only for residents. Every member of staff we met was very pleasant and only too pleased to answer questions. I would recommend this super family-run Hotel to any of my friends and tell them not to forget their walking shoes. What more can I say?

Room Tip: The whole Hotel is quiet. When booking ask for a room with a view, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YJP568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

We have now been here for nearly 26 years and extend to the third generation as two of our grandchildren work part time! Equally, our team all act as if they are family and care passionately about what they do. Very pleased you'll recommend to your friends - you must be confident enough to think you won't lose them as friends!! Yes, walking boots or stout shoes are a good idea so you can enjoy the walks on the Malvern Hills from our grounds. Thank you for posting a review.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are looking for a Hotel, restaurant with quality service, first class cuisine, comfort of a very high standard, then this is the place to visit. The location of this Hotel is stunning with views to die for! This is a family run hotel and we found every member of staff friendly and most helpful. We fe lot the prices to be very reasonable considering the standards we enjoyed, certainly revisit in the future.

Room Tip: Any room at the front is blessed with stunning views in any of the Cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek17Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

One of the best things for me to hear is "we will return". Of course some people never go back anywhere however good the experience has been. However, if like Sue and I you find a bolt hole that suits you it can become a regular haunt. We find we slip into the break much quicker and relax quicker. Delighted you enjoyed the views and found the team all helpful. Thank you for your review.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

we had an overnight stay with our 6 month puppy in the most comfortable room with amazing views. Our room was in the Pinnacles. Everywhere was spotless with no doggy smells although they were catered for with bed provided, poo bags and biscuits. There were french doors out to a patio and you were in the wood with wonderful walks in seconds. The room was of a high standard and quite large with everything you could wish for. The biscuits were delicious. They even provided fresh milk in a communal fridge for people(us) who hate the UHT milk. We hope to be back soon for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the pinnacles have a better view although you have a short walk outdoors for your breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We have always owned dogs and so few hotels genuinely welcome them. We have had virtually no issues over the 25 years we have been here. In fact we've has more issues with humans!!!
We often find ourselves with our dog ostracised and put in some small, poky room. We do have specific dog designated rooms but that is really because some people are allergic. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for posting a review.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
1.0 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
472 reviews
6.0 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range: $123 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage in the Wood: hotel, restaurant and bar in Mavlern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hill with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 30 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Great Malvern/Malvern Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing