We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely comfortable hotel, walks straight from your room door.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage in the Wood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfortable hotel, walks straight from your room door.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

we had an overnight stay with our 6 month puppy in the most comfortable room with amazing views. Our room was in the Pinnacles. Everywhere was spotless with no doggy smells although they were catered for with bed provided, poo bags and biscuits. There were french doors out to a patio and you were in the wood with wonderful walks in seconds. The room was of a high standard and quite large with everything you could wish for. The biscuits were delicious. They even provided fresh milk in a communal fridge for people(us) who hate the UHT milk. We hope to be back soon for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the pinnacles have a better view although you have a short walk outdoors for your breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We have always owned dogs and so few hotels genuinely welcome them. We have had virtually no issues over the 25 years we have been here. In fact we've has more issues with humans!!!
We often find ourselves with our dog ostracised and put in some small, poky room. We do have specific dog designated rooms but that is really because some people are allergic. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for posting a review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    189
    67
    18
    14
See reviews for
92
554
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We first visited Malvern to look round the Morgan factory a few years ago. We are keen walkers and were struck by how similar Malvern is to North Devon. If you love Lynton & Lynmouth you will love the Malvern Hills. The only thing lacking is the rushing rivers which are such a feature in North Devon. For walkers, Cottage in the Wood is ideally placed, not quite midway North to South, but quite a way up the hillside and facing East. This means that the sun rises through your bedroom window, and you can see for miles both from the bedrooms and from the dining room. The food is really excellent. A good selection and very well cooked and presented. The chocolate ganache is arguably the best we've had anywhere. The wine list is extraordinary, and clearly compiled by a wine buff. If you like your wine, and we do, you should ask to see the list well in advance of your meal to do it justice. The dining room is modern and airy with large windows so that all diners can enjoy the magnificent views. Nice touches in the rooms are home made biscuits, and fresh milk is available for tea making. There are two rear access points onto the hills from the hotel grounds, and it's possible to walk to the Northern extremity of the hills, or the Southern extremity in one day. The hotel will provide you with packed lunches if booked the day before, which are also highly recommended. This Hotel is a walkers paradise, but if you prefer to relax, the stunning views and the terraces will provide a welcome break from the hustle & bustle of daily life.

Room Tip: The rooms in "The PInnacles" have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
No rushing rivers I'm afraid - or sea - but the Severn is just across the valley and can be seen when in flood. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the walks. Some guests arrive here and don't get back in their car until it's time to leave. As for the wines, that's my domain as it were, Dominic my son is Head Chef and runs that section and I do the wines. Great fun! Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

wonderful views,and walks in the Malvern hills straight from the hotel.We have just returned from 2 nights in this comfortable hotel.Dinner was an event in itself,, beautifully presented. An amazing wine list . I wish I could afford to try some of them though the house wines were more than adequate Housekeeping is of the highest quality. All in all a most relaxing break at a very reasonable price.Having stayed there several times we will certainly do so again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. House wines should always be more than adequate. I spend a disproportionate amount of time searching for good, affordable house wines. It's amazing to see what out of a £5 bottle is for the actual contents. You then realise there's no such thing as quality wine at under a fiver (unless on offer of course). Delighted you returned to us and that we haven't succeeded in putting you off another visit!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Cottage in the Wood on a Saturday night in April. The location of the hotel is excellent and our room had lovely views over the Worcestershire countryside. We had dinner in the restaurant which was fine and the service was good. The guest rooms themselves could do with some updating. Although our room was perfectly comfortable and clean, the decor was pretty old fashioned and rather busy. We also found that the labels that were stuck onto almost every piece of furniture giving advice to guests were unecessary and annoying (guests don't need to be told that the fan in their room is not a heater and that a bath can be slippery when covered with soap). All in all, the hotel is very nice but, with a bit more thought, could be outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chembemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Firstly, I'm sorry not to respond to your review as promptly as normal. I can only assume I was interrupted whilst doing some replies and I missed yours. Thank you for your comments and for taking the trouble to post a review. We are definitely NOT "cutting edge" nor are we "boutique" and neither do we want to be but we are redecorating and refurbishing as fast as resources allow. Notices are annoying and allowing for natural exaggeration as your comments did sound like a paper chase, we live in litigious times and slippery floors, very hot water etc covers our tender areas! The sign about the fan is to prevent guests from assuming it's heating, as has happened on many occasions. Still, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a 2 night stay at this little gem a couple of weeks ago. The attention to detail throughout the whole hotel should be envied by many in the hotel industry. For us nothing at all was lacking. The family run business offered us a relaxed and enjoyable stay (which was just what we were looking for).

The hotel is positioned in a picturesque setting, which on a clear day gives fantastic views. Unfortunately there was a mist looming over the area at the time of our stay. It makes a great base for walking the Malvern Hills too. The centre of the village is around a 30 minute walk from the hotel and well worth spending a few hours exploring the area. There is a variety of shops, cafes and a couple of fantastic indian places to eat.

Back to the hotel, we stayed in the rooms named the Pinnacles. These are reasonable sized rooms which are situated adjacent to the main hotel building. They were very clean and well cared for. Just how many hotels provide a heated mirror in the bathroom? A good selection of toiletries and a good power shower. The bed was one of the comfiest that we had slept on in a hotel too. A selection of tea/coffee and hot chocolate in the room and homemade biscuits. One very nice touch was that on the first floor in the Pinnacles there is a small fridge with fresh milk left for people who would prefer fresh to the UHT milk which is left in the room.

The restaurant was extremely good both for breakfast and for evening dinner. It was well worthy of its rosette star rating. Nothing was too much trouble and if we are ever planning to go back to that neck of the woods, we would have no hesitation at all to returning.

Thank you for an enjoyable stay to all of the helpful and friendly staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We chose the pinnacles as the higher floors have fantastic views (on a clear day). these rooms had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttylovers666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
It's so frustrating when the visibility is not crystal clear however, it's a good reason to return! Sue and I get used to panoramic views disappearing as we love Scotland! I'm glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including our food but also found the Anupam in the town, an excellent Indian restaurant. In fact the owner started in 1987, the same year as us, so we are both heading for 26 years. Thank you for your review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My partner and I just had a wonderful relaxing overnight stay at this hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming with nothing being too much trouble for them. We had stayed on a LivingSocial offer which included a bottle of wine and they seemed genuinely concerned by the fact that they didn't have in the Cabernet Sauvignon we had agreed to have when we booked the room and had had to replace it with another (which proved to be more than satisfactory - an excellent Shiraz). The room was spacious and clean with comfortable bed and the bathroom was outstanding. Plenty of space, well-designed with fantastic water pressure and high standard of things provided from face cloths to toiletries.

Breakfast was of an excellent standard, following on from the most delicious dinner we've eaten in a very long time. Scrambled eggs were notable for their flavour, as was the smoked haddock which I suspect was poached in milk. Also noteworthy was the dried fruit which, in the case of the figs and apricots, had been rehydrated with spices and orange so that they had a wonderful Christmassy flavour to them. Our only warning - if it's a sunny morning then you'll need sunglasses (and definitely no jumper) to sit near the window as the sun streams in through the window of the dining room in the morning!

The view from the ground floor front rooms in the Pinnacles is fantastic, looking out across the Severn Valley. The isolated, exclusive location of the hotel, using three houses built together at the end of their own lane and clinging onto the hillside, really lends to a sense of "retreat" that you get while staying here. In fact, the only problem we had was driving in and out of the hotel - the driveway is long and narrow with a steep drop off on one side and minimal passing places. Unfortunately we met people in both directions and it was a definite squeeze to get past!

Room Tip: This is a hotel where getting a room with a view really is worth it - any front-facing rooms with vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I'm glad to read you found a deal - that's what they are for and to introduce us to new guests many of whom return or if they are in the group who never go anywhere twice, become very good ambassadors. So, thank you for your review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed Dominic' s food (he's my son, so I suppose he can remain in his job!). The sun in the mornings is bright but how nice to be warm at last after such a harsh winter. In the summer we throw the doors and windows open. The drive can be a bit challenging but that's the inevitable consequence of a hotel perched on a hillside. Views are worth it though.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowle Solihull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited the Cottage in the Wood for dinner bed and breakfast to celebrate a wedding anniversary. We had been to the hotel twice before and therefore knew the standard of service etc and everything came up to expectations. The dining room is tastefully decorated and the dinner was excellent. Service in the restaurant also excellent. The bedroom in the Pinnacles was beautiful and to wake up to that wonderful view of the Severn Valley was a real treat. The breakfast next morning was delicious. We had to walk up the hills after all the indulgence! Being a family run hotel has its advantages as all the staff are so helpful and accommodating. We shall go back in the future.

Room Tip: Not sure if all the rooms look out over the valley but it is a must to have that view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleggyknowlesolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Happy anniversary! It's an honour that you wanted to spend such a special day with us and your hat-trick of visits too. Delighted we were up to scratch again with service and food. Returning guests are always special but also a real help to me as monitors of our standards. It's vital we do not relax for a second. We all look forward to your next visit. Thanks so much for posting a review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
2.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
#4 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Malvern Wells Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage in the Wood: hotel, restaurant and bar in Mavlern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hill with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 30 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Great Malvern/Malvern Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing