We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveler rating
709
268
98
33
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
268
98
33
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewsmalvern hillswine listthe main hotelfresh milkhotel groundscoach housebiscuitslovely hoteldinner menulovely roomrelaxed atmosphereevening mealhigh standardafternoon teanew ownersshort break
Filter
Updating list...
889 - 894 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at The Cottage in the Wood and on both occasions we had a really fabulous stay.
The service is attentive without being intrusive and the warm and friendly atmosphere makes for a truly relaxing stay. Rooms are tastefully furnished and offer really comfortable, spacious accomodation with high quality room service and housekeeping. Add to this the excellent food and outstanding views to make a perfect gettaway break.
The biggest accolade however, is that our dogs recognised the hotel as we drew up for our second visit and were clearly delighted to be back - they must have remembered the great walks and their welcome treats waiting for them in the room.

Room Tip: The Pinnacles offer an excellent standard of room with privacy and fabulous views. Dogs are made extremely welcome in the ground floor rooms which have their own small patio with table and chairs and easy access to walks on the hills.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

I was so pleased to read your review, for which many thanks, I was glad to see you were able to relax and found the housekeeping up to the standards we set ourselves. Yes, dogs are welcome too in those rooms with easy access to the wide outside. So many hotels say "yes" to dogs but then the welcome is half-hearted. We know, we've got a dog as well. Hope to see you return one day. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have been comming to The Cottage in the Wood, for the past 7 years. We have primarily eaten there ( light lunch, full lunch, Sunday lunch and afternoon tea). The service is attentive but not overwhelming. As it it family run there is a strong feeling that the staff wants the customer to have an very enjoyable experience. As a driver, it is refreshing to eat somewhere that has an extensive wine list of 1/2 bottles. Good service, good food, good wine and excellent views!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisfromsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Great! It's really encouraging to read you've been coming to eat here for seven years because that shows you really enjoy it and that we are consistent in what we do. The half bottle wine list (son of wine list!) is very unusual to find but I built it in response to listening to guests and diners who for a variety of reasons can find a full bottle too much. It's a shame that wine producers and wine merchants don't share my enthusiasm but I do my best to offer a really good selection. Currently I have just under 100 with a further 21 dessert wines in halves. Thanks for your review. See you soon. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Always welcoming, and with the views, comfortable accomodation and great food it is a venue not to be missed.
Since our first visit we have been back and back; relaxed and with good quality service from everyone, the stay cannot be better. Good access to walking up to the hills which is rewarded with more great views.
If you have never been, go!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

What an encouraging thing to read! We've just clocked up our 25 years here and to have someone say "If you've never been go!" is heartening. From a business perspective I hope many people take your advice even in these troubled times. More importantly, I'm delighted you enjoyed your latest stay. Thank you very much for posting the review. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The experience starts with the excitement of negotiating the rather tight turn up hill into the entrance drive but the short drive up to the hill straightaway gives the reward as the fantastic hillside setting give superb views of Worcestershire. Reception staff are helpful and friendly with good clear explanations of where everything is and a good range of local guides and some walking guides too. Our room was in the newer detached "Gables" building and was large well equiped and comfortable. Possibly the nicest touch was a communal fridge in the hall way with small bottles of real fresh milk for making tea. Each room has free wifi and there's a DVD player if guests want to make use of the hotel's very extensive DVD library.
The bar is nothing particularly special other than the place to order for dinner in the restaurant. We did wonder about dress code but the hotel information in the rooms made clear the proprietors had "no time for that sort of stuffiness" and wanted guests to wear what they felt relaxed in.
The refreshing openness and candour was continued in the excellent menu with even a meal pricing policy explained. The choice of wines was extensive and ranged from well chosen but easily affordable to the kind of thing one might celebrate a Gold Cup winner or a lottery windfall.
We enjoyed excellent sea trout, reasonably presented with sensible portions and then a superb white chocolate cheesecake for dessert.
And that was just the first night. Breakfast continued the high standard and we finished by taking our coffee out to the terrace for more of the morning views.
A thoroughly excellent weekend thanks to the ambience created by the family owners which translates to fists class service and attention to detail by all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are above the bar but that shuts at 11.00 Rooms in the Gables are larger and most have the good view but not all
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for this review. The drive is a bit daunting on first acquaintance but the disadvantage is out weighed by the views and peace when you arrive on our "plateau" half way up the hills. It's an advantage too when you go walking as you are already on your way to the top. I hate UHT milk and am delighted to be able to offer fresh. The wine list (my fault) is lengthy but there are wines at all price points. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Brilliant place for a peaceful one night break for my wife and myself. Lovely, quaint bedroom in "cottage style" decor. La piece de la resistance was the restaurant, where we had our evening meal. Superb views, top quality food, and a huge wine list. We chose a rather unusual Uraguayan chardonnay. We liked it so much that the staff kindly put us in touch with their wine merchant so we could order some ourselves! We will certainly be returning for another special occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Now that's a superlative to headline with and makes us really look to our laurels to maintain the standards. So glad you enjoyed your stay, the dinner and wine list and will return. Many thanks for your review. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews