We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Landlords Yet”
Review of Railway Inn

Railway Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Railway Inn
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have lived a short distance from this public house, restaurant and B&B for 27 yrs and have seen many landlords come and go. Some good, some reasonable, some really terrible. Kate & Scott who is the latest family to move in since August 2012 are very homely and very friendly. They have given a fresh outlook to the place. The food is good and very reasonable, with a set menu and specials board, all freshly cooked. I have not stayed at their B & B but I have seen the rooms and they look very comfortable. Many of the patrons that had disappeared through bad management in the past are now returning which says a lot. For anyone that has had a bad experience in the past I SUGGEST YOU TO TRY IT AGAIN I am sure you will be pleased with the service from Scott and Kate. I know I have.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here recently arriving (and eating) at lunchtime and then again the same evening. It did look a little tired initially, but the warmth of the welcome (thanks Scott) and the good beer soon put this to rest. The ingredients in the meals are very good and excellent value for money. Did I also mention how well the beer is kept?! The rooms look a little funny from the outside (converted skittle alley), but go inside and you will be pleasantly surprised - we were! Very comfortable and we lacked nothing. Overall very good value for money and a great stay - thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed this weekend for the cricket festival at Malvern College. This inn is 1 mile exactly from the college. Was a little wary when we saw the outside door for the accommodation but once inside the room was lovely - large, comfortable bed, nice separate seating area and a lovely, modern bathroom. The whole room looked freshly decorated and the bathroom was spotless.
Breakfast was very relaxed and very filling. We had some fiddly requests and everything was catered for perfectly. Would definitely use again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillhammer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend as a friend was having a house party who lives nearby. We had lunch on the terrace which overlooks the whole valley. What a view. The ploughmans lunch we had, had the largest pickled onions we had ever seen. The food was all very fresh, but would have liked to have known if the ham and cheese were locally sourced. The barmaid didn't seem to know! Would recommend to anyone who likes a walk as it is a bit off the beaten track shop wise.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We came up to The RS Malvern Spring Show and stayed at The Railway Inn. It was great. We had a large bedroom with a sitting room and bathroom. This is in the separate house, next to the pub. It was quiet (wooded hills to the rear and v pretty church next door) the main road, in front, didn't bother us. The rooms were clean and comfortable - masses of tea- / coffee-making sachets/pots. We threw open the french doors and went onto the balconies - bathed in sunshine, the views were breath-taking (we could see the three-counties showground). Kate and Scott are very friendly and helpful / laid-back. Breakast was huge and delicious; we had to ask for a reduced version on the second morning. We're hoping to come up to the Malvern Autumn show and will definitely stay with Kate and Scott then - if they have room!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Railway Inn with our dog. We were all made very welcome by the hosts and the room which was detached from the pub was very quiet, spacious and clean.

We had a lovely meal in the evening and a large breakfast which set us up for our walk up the Malvern Hills.

We will definitely be visiting again soon - it is rare to find somewhere where dogs are as welcome as their owners!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

we stayed over night for a dog walking weekend.Our room was large,clean and very comfortable.Our two young dogs were made very welcome.Kate and Scott were very helpfull and friendly. We had a very good dinner in the pub and a huge breakfast the following morning.Ideal place for walking in the hills.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
0.7 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
1,024 reviews
1.3 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
424 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
#10 of 10 in Great Malvern
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Great Malvern
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Inn

Address: Malvern Wells 78 Wells Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Malvern Wells
Price Range: $77 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway inn is located on the A449 in Malvern Wells, we are a family friendly bar/restaurant with 3 superior guest rooms located in an out building with private access. We offer a traditional pub menu with great ales, wines and soft drinks. We also offer free WI-FI in the bar, restaurant and guest rooms, free parking, fantastic views and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway Hotel Malvern Wells
Railway Inn Great Malvern/Malvern Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing