We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fine - service poor”
Review of Railway Inn

Railway Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malvern Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Railway Inn
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food fine - service poor”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We ate there once and the food was basic but cheap - it was good value so we decided to bring visiting relatives. We booked a week ahead and gave them a phone number in case anything went wrong. We turned up today at the booked time and the place was closed with a sign on the door about problems in the kitchen. So why didn't they call us on the number we left with them in their reservations book?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Excellent service, waiting time and a superb quality of food!! Have already sent a blanket text recommending it to my whole phone book!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

we discovered this place to have re-opened after being closed for some time so decided to visit for lunch one day this week. We arrived at 12.30 p.m. and the doors were locked. We would have loved to give a review but are not able to. Does anyone know if this place is actually functioning as a pub? Not sure if we will be back as it all seems hit and miss. Shame.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lakelandladyMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
railwayinn-malvern, Owner at Railway Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for your comment. However the pub is open and we are trading very well. We suspect you came on the day we were having maintenance works done to the kitchen and were waiting on Marstons contractors to come. We were however back open a few hours after once the work had been carried out. We did leave a phone number attached to the door and would of happily came down and explained the situation to you. If you are ever passing again, we are open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Just three rooms but all with french doors to views across the valley. Room both clean and comfortable. Spotless white linen and towels.
Good breakfast and pub meals, very reasonably priced.
Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jed0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had a wonderful time. the spacious room was tastefully decorated. We were made to feel special even though it was a short break. Breakfast very welcome and fairly priced as was the two or three dinners we ate in the restaurant... Views from the area are amazing and much can be done without moving your car off the car park...all considered an up and coming gem. Thanks Adam and Louise!

Room Tip: All three rooms share same facing(view) and merely become more luxurious as they go up in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caudwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stopped for 2 nights in July, cannot comment on the pub facilities as the Grand Opening had been deferred to the 11th, the day after we returned but we were more than pleased with the accommodation and the enthusiastic reception we were given.

We will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcf1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
railwayinn-malvern, Owner at Railway Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Railway Inn and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind regards Adam and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My Husband and i stayed here for 3 nights at the end of September, the kids all away, we decided on a spur of the moment trip away. By chance we stumbled accross The Railway, and could not disagree more with both of the below reviews. Granted, i paid less as i had seen a 'deal' on laterooms, but could not have been happier with the levels of service, cleanliness, and value for money. The rooms are a real treat, beautifully furnished, and perfectly clean, and having had the breakfast, continental and a nice alternative to a greasy fry up, i would not hesitate to go back to The Railway.
We ate at the pub on the first night, and it really was very, very good, so we also ate there on the second night.
We were made to feel very welcome and i hope someone from the pub gets to see that i have written this as we thought they did a wonderful job.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cl0udyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
0.7 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
914 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
#10 of 10 in Great Malvern
88 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Inn

Property: Railway Inn
Address: Malvern Wells 78 Wells Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Malvern Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway inn is located on the A449 in Malvern Wells, we are a family friendly bar/restaurant with 3 superior guest rooms located in an out building with private access. We offer a traditional pub menu with great ales, wines and soft drinks. We also offer free WI-FI in the bar, restaurant and guest rooms, free parking, fantastic views and friendly service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railway Hotel Malvern Wells
Railway Inn Great Malvern/Malvern Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing