We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1919 Restaurant

1919 Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very nice Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

As a surprise for my Birthday my husband made a reservation at the Cottage in the Wood Outlook Restaurant. As we're new to Malvern this was a very pleasant surprise as we live less than a mile away.
The surroundings and atmosphere were very good and the food was excellent, even manage three courses which is most unusual.
One slight fault was that the first two courses came in quick succession, a breather in between would have been appreciated. We suggested this before deciding on a pudding and the staff were very happy to oblige.
A very definite yes for special occasions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I guess it's too late to wish you happy birthday but I'm delighted you enjoyed your first visit to "Outlook". Timing is always a bit tricky. I like to be leisurely at dinner but some think we are forgetting them if we are slow. Please do say you'd like a break before the main course on your next visit. What actually happens is that the chef on main courses will begin the cooking when the starters are called away as some need 10/15 minutes or more and then to rest before serving. This can go wrong if the guests are slow eaters or are delayed by a phone call or somesuch.
Still, that's our problem, not yours!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    34
    23
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“exciting fathers day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

it was a very nice ambiente, friendly staff and a delicious meal. we're looking forward to visiting you once again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paula_resch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I'm very pleased to read you enjoyed your Fathers Day meal. We and the team are keen for people to enjoy the whole experience - not just the food or the wine list or the view but the entire occasion.
Thank you for your review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“choices galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

a super place to eat, lots of care taken i.e. how pink do you like your duck?care taken with feasting the eyes before a bite is taken and all dinning room and kitchen staff seemed to care about your experience in their care.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael_dornan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, General Manager at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We all do care about the guest experience as a whole not just say the food part of it. Dining should be an experience and a good one at that!!!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel, Malvern Wells. Both the Menu and Wine List were very good. Four of us dined in the Outlook restaurant for two nights, each dish was excellent and the service was second to none.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank YJP568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
I guess between you all you really tested the menu so I'm especially glad to read your review (for which many thanks for taking the trouble by the way) as consistency across all dishes as well as across 365 days of the year is vital, if a challenge! I guess it's true that we are only as good as our last meal.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Full of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Took our closest friends for lunch. Parked up and walked the hills before lunch. With direct access into the woods and on to the hills from the car park it couldn't be easier. We were well looked after in a beautifully quintisencial hotel/restauarant, being family owned for many years. Interesting well cooked foods (extensive and varied wine list) and that fanatastic view. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
It's a really good idea to park here and then walk and lunch or lunch and then walk it off! Both our direct entry points are good jumping off points for a number of walks that begin above us. You mention that we've been here some time - well it's within sight of 26 years and now into the third generation with two granddaughters who are part time. I'm working on my annual update of the wine list. Lots of food for thought! We look forward to your return and may I thank you for your review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1919 Restaurant also viewed

Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 

Been to 1919 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing