We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1919 Restaurant

1919 Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good, wholesome gastro food. High quality of food and service.
Excellent choice for wine lovers as the wine list is huge and personally sourced and chosen by owner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. Very pleased to read you enjoyed both the food (my sons department!) and the wines (my department!). Hope to see you return one day.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    34
    23
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

superb food cooked to my liking and a stunning view from most of the tables..
Christmas day lunch was a hoot with pea shooters, flying balloons, poppers etc, fun was had by all (well most - there is always one grumpy !!)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Idharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
"What a hoot"! Yes, grown-ups behaving badly but having great fun. Christmas is special and the lunch has to be memorable, not just for the silliness but for the quality of the food too, so I'm delighted you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for the review.See you again I hope. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for our family celebration lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thank you Dawn for your valuable assistance with the organisation of our family celebration lunch. The menu was fresh and delicious, with sufficient variation so that there was something suitable for everyone. The wine list was tremendously varied and obviously put together with some thought. The service was polite and timely. The view was spectacular and provided an ideal backdrop for our special event.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Firstly, many thanks for the review. Secondly, I'm of course delighted you enjoyed your get-together
and enjoyed the choice of food and the wines. I've trimmed back to around 500 bins now if you include the lengthy half bottle list. We hope to see you again and by the way, I've drawn Dawn's attention to your comments (I asked her how much she had paid you!!). John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This restaurant has 2 rosettes, so we were obviously expecting great things - unfortunately we did not get them. It was ok, but not exceptional. We have had more flavoursome food in other hotels that only had 1 or no rosettes. To not put cloths on tables (which are not highly polished dark wood), is not right at this level of dining. Also it was very quiet, you could hear a pin drop, a little background music is definitely called for.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatariLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I was sorry to read that we didn't "hit the spot" with you. We always want diners and guests to have their expectations met and even exceeded, so I am particularly sorry. On a couple of detailed points no cloths was a modernising decision and met with 70:30% approval. Nothing can stand still and all changes are double-edged. Regarding music, as you can see from a review below yours, it is loved and hated in equal measure. Marmite perhaps?! Thank you for your comments. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“outlook from Cottage in the wood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

wow. you will never forget this wonderful view if you manage to get up to this terrific hotel. Stunning.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoniaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattinfamily, Owner at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. The view is absolutely stunning but I hope we are more than just a view.
We aim to provide an unstuffy atmosphere and some really good food aided by our award winning wine list. if you return,which i hope you will, I'd be interested in your further comments. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1919 Restaurant also viewed

Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 

Been to 1919 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing