We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Visit Any Time of the Year”

Witley Court & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
229 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Fantastic Visit Any Time of the Year”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was my second visit to Witley Court and I was not disappointed. On the previous visit we were treated to the magnificent fountain display and Summer time views. This time we had Winter sun and a new prospective on the ruins. Wandering around the burn out court allows your imagination to stir and contemplate the opulence and grandeur of a previous time. Well worth a visit especially a visit to the parish church with it's amazing interior.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MRB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    172
    16
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
366 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“What a fountain!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The photo does not do the fountain justice. Make sure you go on a day that the fountain will operate (not all day, every day). The house is a shell, but still very impressive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SolihullBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Simply Magnificent”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Being English Heritage members and passing through the area on our way home, we decided to visit Witley Court and Gardens. What a fantastic decision it was.

The Building
What was no doubt once a beautiful and grand building is now an impressive shell which manages to pull off an elegance and charm.

We would recommend you listen to the audio tour to find out the history of the building as you walk around.

There are plaques positioned around the building that show you how it originally looked. It truly was magnificent, although you don’t need match imagination to see how it would have looked. An added bonus is that some of the decor remains visible.

This is the most spectacular ruin we have visited. It literally takes your breath away at the size, beauty and grandeur; even as a ruin.

Our 7 year old daughter was given a task sheet to complete which she did with enthusiasm. She loves history and traipsing around old buildings with us, so she was in her element.

The Gardens
The gardens are large and took us a good while to stroll around. They are well looked after and absolutely beautiful.

It would be lovely to sit in the gardens with a picnic (which you are allowed) on a warm sunny day and take in the vast array of colour from the surrounding flowerbeds, bushes etc.

The Fountains
A stunning centre piece to top any other.

The largest fountain bursts into life every hour for about fifteen minutes. Water shots out and gets higher and higher.

The fountains only work during the summer months so plan your visit around the summer. It really is a must to see.

The Church
The church was a surprise. It sits away from the main building and was unaffected by the fire that destroyed the building.

It sits proudly on top of a small hill and is very ornate with spectacular ceilings and windows. There is a small cemetery outside.

There is no entrance fee for the church although you can donate.

The Tearoom
After our tour we visited the tea room. This is a traditional tea room with conservatory and gardens with bistro type tables and chairs.

The food, price and service were all excellent.

Generally
The walk to the ruins and gardens is in itself a pleasure. It is wonderfully peaceful and the scenery is a pleasure.

The ruin, gardens, fountains, tearooms and church were all outstanding and we cannot recommend a visit here strongly enough.

Tip
Dogs on leads and picnics are allowed

Check out foundation operating times

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank pecanpie2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The most beautiful fountains in the area! The house is also fascinating and the audio tour is really worth completing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Penny1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Behind the scenes tour”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have known Witley court since the 1950's when I farther used to take a Boys Brigade Company (18th Birmingham) camping in a near by farmer's field. It has always held a fascination for me and I introduced my wife to it early in our marriage. Like most people who see Witley Court she too fell in love with it. We have visited many times over the last forty years together with our children. It was they who bought the gift of the 'behind the scenes tour'. Witley court has certainly benefited from English Heritage's custodianship. They have made it into a fascinating historical attraction with something of interest for social historians, architects etc.
The tour certainly took us to parts of Witley Court we had never been to before and was ably led by Elisa and Ann who's enthusiasm for Witley Court even exceeded that of the tourists and that is saying something.
Highly recommended for fit adults ( there is quite a bit of walking and clambering) and children) over twelve (in my opinion)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Witley Court & Gardens also viewed

High Green, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Droitwich, Worcestershire
Harvington, Worcestershire
 

Been to Witley Court & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing