We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!”

Witley Court & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The most beautiful fountains in the area! The house is also fascinating and the audio tour is really worth completing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Penny1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    170
    16
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Behind the scenes tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have known Witley court since the 1950's when I farther used to take a Boys Brigade Company (18th Birmingham) camping in a near by farmer's field. It has always held a fascination for me and I introduced my wife to it early in our marriage. Like most people who see Witley Court she too fell in love with it. We have visited many times over the last forty years together with our children. It was they who bought the gift of the 'behind the scenes tour'. Witley court has certainly benefited from English Heritage's custodianship. They have made it into a fascinating historical attraction with something of interest for social historians, architects etc.
The tour certainly took us to parts of Witley Court we had never been to before and was ably led by Elisa and Ann who's enthusiasm for Witley Court even exceeded that of the tourists and that is saying something.
Highly recommended for fit adults ( there is quite a bit of walking and clambering) and children) over twelve (in my opinion)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ruin with park and flower beds + magnificent fountain.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Preserved ruin with restored fountain which is unfortunately covered with masses of algae. Fountain only on for short bursts, naturally, Also well worth a visit to the baroque chapel on the site.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Normally it's ruined castles. Today its a ruined mansion.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Witley Court stands out in the English Heritage guide book not because its another country mansion with a special carpet or a must-see painting of people draped in very little cloth... no this property is very different because it's a ruined house!
My partner, Stephen, isn't keen on the countless country mansions and our membership with EH is based more on the huge number of castles available for us to explore. But having read the description of Witley Court we headed out from our Shrewsbury base very excited to find out about this property and the great disaster that brought it from a family home to a spectacular ruin.
Arriving at the propery (Between Tenbury Wells & Worcester in Great Witley) the parking was easy to find and the ticket office doubles up as a gift shop. Being Halloween the staff were appropriately dressed in witches outfits... unless these are your normal work uniforms ladies in which case you are still appropriately dressed. Our cards were swiped through and we were handed the maps and information and off we set! There is a lovely walk between the ticket office and the house with detours offering lovely routes through woodland and along the lakeside so stroll along at your own leisure here.
At the house is a small kiosk where we showed our receipts before standing in awe and amazement at this house completely gutted of interiors, ceilings or roofs! The whole place is left to your imagination but a handy (and free) audio guide is on hand to help you get a better picture of the place. There are plenty of 'rooms' to explore and this is definatley a place to come if you want to see the bare-bones of a country house stripped back to its shell. The story is actually quite sad as within 50-yrs from its creation the place was brought down by fire and then abandoned to the elements.
At the back of the property is the delightful and well-kept pleasure gardens and fountains complete with what has to be one of the biggest fountains I've ever seen located right in the middle of the gardens. This magnificent statue fires up every hour, on the hour and is one of the highlights of a visit here with the water shooting up far into the air. We enjoyed our picnic here on the steps above the fountain and enjoyed the noise of the water splashing into the pool.
We also visited the parish church beside the house and what it lacks on appearance outside it more than makes up for inside with spectacular paintings, colourful walls and an extremely clean and classical appearance. Outside the church and down the path is a tea-room serving 'wonderful' tea as the staff put it :-) but of course being money-savers we brought a picnic and had no need for using the facilities on this visit.

So our final impression? A must-see property with plenty of areas to walk and soak up the atmosphere. The building is a bit eerie but this for us is what makes it interesting and certainly a far cry from the country house and mansion visits we do. If you want to see something a bit different then this will certainly be a place for you!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broms
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Late history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having just recently visited Witley Court after some 20 years since last going to the site which resemble a bit of a bomb site I was quitely impressed by the renovation that has been achieved by English Heritage.
The grounds are now in marverlous condition considering the amount of damage that was done by the fire that distroyed the court in 1937 and the subsequent vandalisam over the years that it lay negleted.
The fountain in the gardens now restored to its former glory is a spectacular site, turned on ever hour and runs for about 20 minutes.
This is a site well worth a visit if your into modern history, just envisage what it was like to be a part of that household in its hay day.
The parish church ajacent to the court is one of the finest Barroc examples that I can say that is to be seen.
All in all this site is well worth a visit and has plenty to ocupy for a day located in Worcestersire LOOK IT UP!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alcanBroms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Witley Court & Gardens also viewed

High Green, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Droitwich, Worcestershire
Harvington, Worcestershire
 

Been to Witley Court & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing