We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorial Service for the Mother in Law” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bell House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bell House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Benger
Woking
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Memorial Service for the Mother in Law”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and found it to be well run and friendly. The facilities may need modernising and a bit of repair but the breakfast was enjoyable and dinner very pleasant. We had invited 150 guests for drinks and sandwiches during the Friday afternoon and all we very efficient and well organised.

We would happily stay there again and would like to say thanks to all the staff for their time and effort during our stay.

Mike

Room Tip: room 4 is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    30
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
41
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous lunch at the bell house hotel today, home made burgers with bacon and cheese with deep fried chunky chips, would highly recommend this place to be visited,this is only one of meals off the menu we have yet to try, the menu has just been updated so we shall be going back. Chris makes you feel very welcome.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rooms were lovely clean and tidy, everything you need very warm and cosy, food in the restaurant was very nice, however the menu choice was small, however Chris the owner has said he has ordered a new traditional menu with a wide variety of choices and this I would return to view and taste. Overall a very good hotel, all staff are warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Double room which I stayed in was big and plenty of clothing space loads of mirrors and overall plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

A couple of weeks ago my wife and I were passing through Sutton Benger in Wiltshire one sunday and stopped to have a sunday lunch. We only live about 30 minutes from the village but thought we would try somewhere different. We pulled up outside The Bell Hotel in Sutton Benger and hesitated going in as it looked a little run down! However we had parked up so we decided to venture inside and initially were still unsure if we were going to stay and have a meal? While stood at the bar waiting to be served a gentleman came up to us and asked us if we were having lunch we said yes and he took our coats and showed us to a table, very nicely laid on a crisp white table cloth. What followed was a superb meal, both my wife and I had the scallops with a pea puree done to perfection followed by succulent slices of roast beef served with an array of vegetables and potatoes centred under the beef topped with a big yorkshire pudding and a wonderful rich gravy. To add to this excellent meal the Owner Chris who had initially shown us to our table continued to be courteous and attentive to our every need which made this a real treat, something we would not have expected based on our initial observations?

We subsequently returned again last week for an evening meal which again was superb and today I took both of our parents and my sister for sunday lunch.

If you are in or around Sutton Benger and looking for a restaurant with superb food together with a front of house/owner (Chris) who makes each visit an occasion to remember I would highly recommend the restaurant in The Bell Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I recently visited the Bell House with my brother on Wednesday, 7 November and it was so good we went back again on the 8 November. Chris the host was a gem and our food was well presented, hot and the wine was great and the beer was nice and cold and full of flavour.
It has just been renovated after a number of years and the new owners have transformed this once tired hostelry into something that is a most pleasurable experience. If you have previously visited this place and had a bad experience it can only be at a time before the new owners took over. go back, you won't be disappointed.
Peter Gregory, Perth, Western Australia

Room Tip: Didn't stay. We stayed with my brother who lives about 5 minutes away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here recently for a family member's birthday as it was in the perfect location for what we had planned. Would not stay here again. Our room was extremely cold and without a working radiator, the shower didn't work, there was no lightbulb in the light and the whole room smelt of smoke. The bed cover we found in the wardrobe was covered in stains, but it was so cold we had to use it. We informed the owner of the problems and he claimed he didn't know anything about the issues! The one positive was that the food we had in the evening was very nice - if expensive, but the full english breakfast was definitely on the small side. I kept my coat on throughout breakfast as it was so cold. In our opinion it shouldn't have been open to b&b guests as the accommodation needed a lot of work to make it acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex8xeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Bell House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We purchased this beautiful 500 year old piece of British history late July 2012. May I please offer my sincere apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay at the Bell House. With winter closing in we have hit yet another problem that we were unaware of this being the heating system. Your comments have been discussed at great length and plans are under way to remedy the issues i.e. electric radiators are now in place should the radiators or system fail.

We have now finished the restaurant and bar refurbishment and busy looking at the bedrooms sorting out light fittings and changing mattresses to make it more comfortable for our guests until we start the major works in the New Year.

Now we have re-launched the restaurant there is a new menu and so our breakfasts will be more on the hearty side, we have increased our fresh food orders and hope that our customers will enjoy it.

Once again my sincere apologies to all concerned

Chris Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Bell House in September. We are family of 6 and stayed in 4 rooms. The heating did not work in any of the bedrooms so the rooms were freezing cold. When we mentioned this to the owner he said that he wasnt aware of the heating problems, however there are a number of references on this site stating the same. There was only hot water in 1 of the rooms.The shower did not work at all in one of the rooms. One room smelt of burning. The rooms were dated and not cleaned to a high standard. The rooms were not worth the money (£75 for a double room).
Our evening meal was ok, but overpriced and the "full" english breakfast was significantly lacking!
I would not reccomend staying at this B&B and it certainly was not worth the money that we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rach815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Benger
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
2.7 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
4.6 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
6.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell House Hotel

Property: Bell House Hotel
Address: 47 High Street, Sutton Benger, Chippenham SN15 4RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham > Sutton Benger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Benger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Chippenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing