We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect dinner”

Salumeria Cafe & Deli Shop
Ranked #10 of 40 Restaurants in Headingley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Salumeria Cafe & Deli - The real taste of Italy is available in Leeds at Salvo's Salumeria, first Leeds Salumeria. Opened in 2005, our Salumeria has established a strong following amongst customers new and old. For those that may be asking what is a Salumeria? - well a Salumeria is an Italian delicatessen. Salume is Italian for cured meat products like prosciutto and salame. We also offer a café within the Salumeria and serve light meals as well as being fully licensed.Salumeria Restaurant The Salumeria "Ristorantino" meaning "The Little Restaurant", is an intimate dining room. We feature specials dinner evenings, from musical soirees and wine tastings to regional dinners showing the best in Italian regional dishes. The menus are created every day by our chefs, using the days favored fresh ingredients so our guests enjoy a well balanced and delicious meal for you to enjoy at a great price, the only thing you have to decide is whether to drink our specially chosen wine recommendation, an ice cold artisan beer or a choice from our wine list. Please inform us of any special dietary requirements when reserving your table. Requesting a table is recommended as these evenings are popular.
Shipley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect dinner”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a great Piedmontese dinner at the Salumeria, the annex to Salvo’s Restaurant. This was one of the regional dinners offered on Saturdays, where one gets a set menu, sampling a wide variety of dishes. As a family we are not easily satisfied and most of the time one of us would say ‘it was good, but…’ Well, this wasn’t the case, it was perfect. A fantastic array of some seven or eight (we lost count!) Piedmontese dishes including prosciutto, rabbit, marinated beef, veal, tuna and gnocchi with fresh vegetables, salads, apple and nut. The staff were very helpful, explaining each dish. We are now looking forward to the next set of regional dinners in May.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jensam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    35
    7
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, N Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Another excellent meal at this super Italian great food and great value for money always enjoy a visit to Salvo's

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank galbosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique and authentic experience”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I love experiencing food in new ways, and this genuinely feels like you're in a family restaurant/deli in Italy. The food was great (we did the 6 course taster menu) and really good value for money. The staff were really knowledgable and explained what every dish was and even what region it came from. They were really accommodating to my boyfriend's lactose intolerance and let him pick a pudding from the deli counter instead of the set menu creamy pudding. Will definitely go back and have recommended to a friend who is a head chef in an Italian restaurant (Vercelli's, Hexham - also awesome!)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LinsWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sensational Piedmont dinner”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have been visiting the Salumeria for years as a coffee bar, for working breakfasts and of course for their great Cenare and even better regional cooking dinners. I was very surprised to read about poor service as this is one of the elements that always makes for a fantastic experience. I find their staff the best trained and motivated in Leeds. Last nights feast was quite different from the other regions that I have sampled. Far more vegetables and dishes I had never heard about. I love the way they keep their most popular dishes but keep producing new ones to surprise you. I brought my kids here years ago and my grandchildren always insist on coming when they visit from London for "the best spaghetti bolognese in the world".

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeedsBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor service and an extremely rude waiter - pretentious place and not worth it”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went as a family to this restaurant at 7pm on Friday 15th Feb when it was completely empty for its 'Cenare con amici' evening. The first sign that things would not work out as we had hoped was when we asked the waiter if we could have two vegetarian meals instead of one. He gave us the impression that this was a huge problem for the chef but he would see what he could do. He reminded us that this was not what we had pre-booked. He badgered us for our choice of wine when we intimated to him we were not ready and looked mildly put out when we asked him to come back a bit later. Worse was to come. It took him 1 hour to bring the third course and when he did - it was wrong. We were told the reason for the delay (not however why we were served the wrong dish) was that a lot of persons had come to the restauarant at the same time. We pointed that we had arrived when it was empty and had been waiting 60 mins for a wrong course to arrive. Perhaps the waiter had decided to make us wait whilst the other tables reached teh same point in their 'Cenare'
At that point I accidentally spilt some of my tap water on the table. Our waiter saw this and as I mopped up the mess, he simply watched. At no point did he offer to help - get a cloth etc.
The evening might have been salvaged if the food had been really good. Sad to report it was not. It was interesting in parts but definitely not worth the £22.50 per head price. It really isn't very hard to cook pasta and add some vegetables and cream. I should add for the sake of balance that a fourth course with some salmon was quite good and certainly the culinary highlight of an otherwise extremely disappointing evening.
Having this kind of service from arrogant man lacking all sense of proper service did not feel like 'eating with friends'.
I can't believe that other customers haven't also been treated rudely by our waiter.
You have been warned!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salumeria Cafe & Deli Shop also viewed

Headingley, Leeds
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Headingley, Leeds
 

Been to Salumeria Cafe & Deli Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing