We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don do it!!!”
Review of Boundary Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boundary Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Epworth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don do it!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Outdated, smelling of chip oil and cigarettes, saggin matress, noisy, including early morning chat show, in our case hosted by 2 ladies exchanging views of their night out which were not all positive and the tonality and volume mirrored this. the double bed was 3/4 bed. We left just after 7a.m. as the early morning chat show which had commenced at 04.45 appeared to be never ending.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tottermire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    25
    20
    53
See reviews for
16
32
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Was in Leeds for 1 night Saturday 19/11/2011 - was in Leeds for a mates stag do and as the price was pretty cheap and the hotel looked fine, so I recommended it to the the other lads too who also booked rooms. Room was basic but clean and tidy. Didn't have an ensuite - was a shared shower room on a corridor - but again clean and tidy, powerful shower. All that I needed really. The hotel had a bar downstairs and a pool table which was used by us all before hitting the town! Slept very soundly though the large amount of alcohol drank probably helped. Checked out without fuss the next day. One complaint - they really should have an iron and ironing board available to use - not really good enough not to have one! Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Booked a triple room for ourselves and our daughter. We weren't expecting palatial. However, it was dingy, in the basement, two small windows just above street level, very basic facilities, one overhead and no reading lights, bathroom shared with countless others, nowhere in the bathroom to hang anything or put rubbish, people left wet towels on the floor, next door room occupied by a barking (and smelly) dog for one night of our stay, was like a hostel but not hostel prices. Could not recommend.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, don't stay in the basement and don't share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Headingley hotels

Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I first stayed here in December 2011 to take up my new job here in Leeds.

I have been here for 5 months now and have had a great experience, where i felt the place was my second home.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and would always go out of their way to make sure my stay was 100% - I often looked forward to just getting back to my room after a long day at the office.

the food here was excellent, courtesy of Dave (Chef as he likes to be called) and John - with huge portions too !

The rooms themselves were always kept in an excellent state of cleanliness - and very comfortable too. All the amenities too - from the tea & coffee maker, super biscuits and a side dish of sweets ! Decent television in all the rooms.

I never had a single problem in staying hear all this time. I will also miss all the individual members of staff, each one adding their own flavour of fun to the experience.

I am sad this morning as I am now in the office and will always remember the hospitality I enjoyed there. Good luck you guys - and thankyou for everything (From Ian Currie)

Room Tip: Just tell them what you need - and they will no doubt accomodate you !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iancurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLowther, Owner at Boundary Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review Ian, really can't believe its been 5 months since you arrived. We all wish you every success in your new job and will miss the frequent chats about the most random of stories!! - From Hendix to steam trains!!

Stay in touch!!

Kind regards and best wishes Mark and the team at the Butlers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here on friday 13th for 1 night for my nieces 18th birthday,on arrival we were checked in by Mark (lovely guy) who had champagne on ice waiting for us as requested :) cheers Mark!!
stayed in the double room downstairs and also had the adjoining room too 18/19.
bedlinen was clean and crisp and the towels were white and fluffy too :)
Had a fantastic night in the bar playing pool before heading out into leeds city centre,had a
proper good laugh with Mark and he did his upmost to make sure our stay was memorable!!
Full english breakfast the next morning was lovely and very reasonably priced too!:)
Have to say Mark and the staff there will go out of their way to help and have a smile whilst doing so unlike some other major chains of hotels with no faces to the names half the time!!!
will definately stay again and will not hesitate to recommend to others either!! :)
No complaints at all!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlekimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2011

4 of us stayed here, on arrival service was shocking we, were demanded to pay when we thought we already thought we had, we then had an amazing night out in leeds and came back early morning and couldn't open the door with the code so rang the contact number and was very short with us, we were shocked!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

If I ran a B&B it would be the exact opposite of this one.

Dirty, outdated and totally over priced.

Booked a double room which turned out to be smaller than my bathroom at home. Sheets disgusting, dust everywhere- clearly not been cleaned.

Shared bathroom was revolting- dirty & smelly.

'Bistro' was filthy.

Have honestly stayed in nicer hostels. £48 a night is an absolute joke. Especially charging extra for a breakfast (is it not a b&b?!)

The place is a hideous mess. Having said that the receptionist was polite and the location was good. These are the ONLY positives I can come up with.

Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherry-lips-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
0.0 mi away
The Butlers Hotel
The Butlers Hotel
#8 of 9 in Headingley
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boundary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boundary Hotel

Property: Boundary Hotel
Address: 42 Cardigan Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boundary Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Boundary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boundary Hotel Leeds
Boundary Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing