We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great find”
Review of Cliff Lawn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff Lawn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Herts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“a great find”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We chose this hotel due to its close proximity to Leeds Uni. Although it was initially difficult to find (due to our Tom Tom failing to direct us there!) we were delighted with its position and rooms etc. We had a very pleasant double en suite room and our twins shared a delightfully spacious twin bedded ensuite room. Breakfast was far superior to what we were expecting, with a good choice of fruit juices and cereals as well as a great choice for the cooked option. They also offered scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. The staff were friendly too. Will definitely consider staying here again should either of my twins choose Leeds for their Uni.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    66
    29
    5
    6
See reviews for
34
47
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here on the 23rd June for a Leeds Arena visit as we didn't want to stay in the city centre. We walked to the arena which took us about 30mins.Our room was located near the reception but it was quiet and staff are very friendly. The Hotel itself is in need of a lick of paint and the grounds are pretty but need tidying up. Our room No2 wasn't as clean as I would have liked . The bedding was clean and so was the bathroom, but there were marks on the carpet and grubby areas on the doors where hands had been which really would have wiped off. Shame, cos it spoilt the appearance of overall what was a nice room.We had an excellent breakfast the next day. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy999amb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a two night stay in order to watch the cricket test match at Headingley. The hotel was perfectly situated down a very quiet street. We had a good twin room, nice shower and were set up for the day with an excellent breakfast . Good location for university, city centre and other Leeds venues.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank twitcherjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Hotel is situated in quiet green space (with large trees and gardens), yet is within easy walking distance to Leeds University, one of the UK's best universities. The premises are clean, the breakfasts offer excellent choices, the staff are friendly and very helpful. Rooms are well maintained, clean and comfortable. WiFi is available and works well from anywhere in the hotel. I have used this "bed and breakfast" hotel many times, and when I have business at Leeds University, this hotel is my automatic choice. Great value for money!

Room Tip: Depending on the number of guests, all rooms (that I have had so far) are very good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dracula720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just what was needed for an overnight stay before collecting our daughter from uni. Clean, comfortable, quiet and friendly. We really enjoyed the walk by the woods towards the restaurants on Otley Road, and then walked back again after dinner. Lovely at this time of year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a very nice and welcoming hotel. In a decent position for visiting your children at uni and for visiting Leeds. taxi's and buses are very reasonable. The rooms are decent and mine was clean and comfortable. It could be excellent if it would only offer the weary traveller some food and drink in the evening, I know that there are many restaurants in the city centre, but after a 4 hour drive I would have preferred the option of staying in. The staff are friendly, the owner very pleasant and the breakfast is very good, with enough options and good portions. I would certainly recommend despite the lack of evening food.

Room Tip: room 14 was a good size with plenty of light and a nice view over the gardens and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55mo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

As other reviewers have said - spacious, comfortable room, excellent breakfast choices etc. The inside of this grand old building has had money spent and is very nicely presented. Outside, the garden needs some serious attention before it takes over the lovely building. We were there early summer and the growing season was in full swing. Very welcoming staff, good value and well situated in a quiet neighbourhood. We enjoyed our three nights there. Several small cafes within a few minutes walk and pub also. Recommend Cliff Lawn.

Room Tip: Quiet neighbourhood so all rooms should allow fora good sleep. We had an upstairs room with view to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
394 reviews
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#33 of 87 in Leeds
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lawn Hotel

Property: Cliff Lawn Hotel
Address: 45 Cliff Road | Headingley, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lawn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliff Lawn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Lawn Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing