We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Cliff Lawn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff Lawn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Darlington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

i was there for new year eve. one night. and it great. very clean. staff were awesome. would deffo stay there again. and i plan to too!!! just enough distance away from the city centre. cant say anything about the food. i didnt have any. but overall, a great place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank garb88
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    66
    29
    5
    6
See reviews for
34
47
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My scores relate to how I think others might judge it honestly, but I loved it. Lovely, big rooms with comfy beds. Great value. Not the cleanest but acceptable standards - I say not clean because of the old building so eg the window frames need replacing.

Service was great - taxis booked, vegan breakfast! And all with a smile.

Stayed here 23rd dec before seeing family. Prices were so reasonable that I didn't have to share with my mum and we had separate rooms! Amazing.

Lovely location, buses into town. Big car park. What else can I say? Great.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a very comfy hotel, but somehow you feel you shouldn't really be here... The Reception desk is so tall it obscures the person behind it... when there is one... and you just get the impression that no one really expects you around here... maybe this hotel isn't for the likes of you... but as there doesn't appear to be anyone else here this seems a little odd... No bar, as mentioned elsewhere, and very abrupt welcome. But breakfast very good.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthC141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We choose the Cliff Lawn as it was very convenient for visiting our daughter who is a student living nearby. The location was quiet, and the price reasonable. The cooked breakfast was very good indeed - scrambled egg was creamy and beautifully cooked, and came with a generous portion of mushrooms and grilled tomato.
The 'hotel' has a rather sparse feel somehow, and would have benefited from some colour in the bedroom, and a few pictures and plants around the place. We had a 'superior' bedroom, which was large, warm and contained everything needed. There was a small, modern en-suite shower room.The building however, though beautiful, is in need of serious money spent on maintenance and renovation, without spoiling the original features.For example, there was evidence of damp around the cornicing in the bedroom, and the sash windows were single glazed, with condensation being a problem each morning. Would have given three stars, but the breakfast saved the day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff were businesslike and efficient. We were given room 10, which is on the first floor. The room was thankfully warm on a very cold windy day! Nicely roomy, with a huge bed (two singles attached) and very firm. The bathroom was nice and clean, and the new shower unit a good size. Lots of teas, coffees and milks, so you dont have to ask for more, and the hot chocolate was very tasty! Lots of TV choices too. Spacious car park was a bonus. The hotel is half an hours walk to the Arena, which was our reason for staying. The breakfast was delicious, perfectly cooked and decent sized portions. All the public spaces were very clean and tidy. A very adequate three star B&B, would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ConeyImagesPhotograp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Cliff Lawn Hotel occupies a Victorian Gothic Mansion in substantial grounds on a quiet road near Hyde Park. It's a pleasant 15-minute walk to the University. In October, the gardens are enlivened by a variety of colourful fuchsia and you can imagine how nice it would be to sit at one of the terrace tables on a warm day.
Despite the age of the building, the hotel is warm and there was no hint of a draught. I had Room 12, at the front, above the dining room, which was clean and comfortable. Free Wifi, hairdryer, shampoo, shower gel and body lotion were provided. Personally, I prefer soap - for its feel and its lesser impact on the water supply.
The hotel has a lot of repeat guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with friends. Overall the hotel is nice enough for a short stay but I can't understand why it is 4 star.

The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a very pleasant garden area. The hotel is fully licensed but the bar is actually like a tuck shop in a cupboard so the staff had to open it every time we wanted a drink.

The room was clean and tidy. We found the bed very firm which suited us well but my friends found it a bit uncomfortable. The bathroom looks like it was newly decorated and had the most enormous shower I've ever seen!

This hotel isn't ideal for the city centre unless you want to walk or bus it in. The wasn't a problem for us because we weren't primarily there for the city centre.

Overall, as others have said, more along the lines of a large b&b but fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrielovesfanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
403 reviews
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#32 of 87 in Leeds
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lawn Hotel

Property: Cliff Lawn Hotel
Address: 45 Cliff Road | Headingley, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lawn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliff Lawn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Lawn Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing