We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT BOOK OAK VILLA”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Oak Villa Hotel

Oak Villa Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak Villa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Headingley B&B and Inns
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DO NOT BOOK OAK VILLA”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is the most disgusting / dirty / smelly / run down / uncomfortable B&B We've ever had the unfortunate pleasure of wasting our money on. We arrived to find a member of staff waiting on the reception who was very pleasant. She checked us in & gave us our key, but there was no offer of showing us to our room. The moment we opened the door to room 3 on the ground floor you could smell the damp in the room. The carpet looked like it hadn't been hoovered since 1975, net curtains were full of holes, dusty curtains, black bits & hairs in the bed, poor electrics, unsafe shower, worn out bathroom mats, un hygienic carpet in en-suite (which smelt) and we shared the room with 6 spiders. If that wasn't enough.....we were disturbed in the early ours of the morning by a couple having sex outside our room 3 window!! When we went down to breakfast we were told we'd have to wait for a table as they were all taken, or we could share with someone else. At this point we decided to collect our bags and check out of the hell hole that is Oak Villa Headingley. I'm writing this on the Sunday evening after our Saturday evening stay, and be assured I will be contacting Visit England with regards to The Oak Villa's 3 guests house stars, and also trading standards & EHO dept of Leeds City Council. DO NOT BOOK The Oak Villa if you're planning to stay in Headingley.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IDS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    10
    18
    32
See reviews for
11
15
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Al Ain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I chose to stay here because the location was right, the price seemed good and I had also stayed before several years ago. But this time I was disappointed. Apart from the bedlinen, which was clean, some of the bedding was grubby, and the breakfast was not as good as it used to be. There was some sort of fruit drink, not juice; white toast only - no option of getting brown; and the cooked breakfast was very oily. Was I there on a bad day or is the place going downhill?
In spite of what I say above though in terms of price and location I will probably go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whonose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at this B&b for one night with our daughter. We were in a 3 bedded attic room. The room was badly in need of a good clean. There were areas where the Hoover had not been able to clean and these were thick with dust and grime. It was also badly in need of redecorating. Ceiling wallpaper falling off. The quilt on the double bed was for a single bed. There were only 2 bath towels and no hand towels in the room. The furniture was very dated. The noise from the traffic did not stop all night. Consequently we could not sleep. Staff not at all friendly. Breakfast was ok. Would not recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Headingley hotels

Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Staying here was like going back to the 60's as this was probably when the hotel last saw a coat of paint and new linen. Stayed for one night at a busy time of year, so choices were limited, and the price was very good for this area. Arrived at 10pm and had to ring for entry; apart from the waitress at breakfast we saw no staff so can't comment on service. Room was very cramped and dated, like staying in an elderly aunt's spare bedroom! Although the bedding and surfaces were clean, the sheets and towels were threadbare and the room hadn't seen a good turn-out for many months. There were areas of deep grime if you went looking for it. The bathroom was small and dated, with a fully fitted carpet (yuk) and not much in the way of toiletries. The small double bed was uncomfortable but I was very tired so managed to sleep through the creaky floors above and the traffic to the shared bathroom just along the hall. Breakfast wasn't much good, no choice, poor quality ingredients, about the same standard as in the supermarket up the road. The building and grounds are beautiful and the place would make a lovely small hotel if carefully upgraded, but for now it's only virtue is the price. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask to see more than one room if possible, it's clear that some are much better than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smferguson678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Gosh, let me start with the positives: the Polish girl on duty did her best, the location was handy for Leeds city centre, there was plenty of parking and our two dogs were welcomed. The building and grounds are actually lovely, with some nice features (stain-glass windows, high ceilings etc).
I feel that this hotel was probably beautiful in its time but, alas, maintenance has been neglected and it feels depressing and unloved. Generally, it was presented fairly, but if you looked closely it was in need of a good clean. Our room was tiny, the bed and pillows were uncomfortable and there was a lot of traffic noise.
Breakfast was basic in the extreme, unhealthy and with no choice ( your egg was fried and your toast white).
I think if you can take it for what it is, given the price etc. and you are a backpacker or on a student budget then it is just about ok, although I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cagsy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed for two nights with my partner to celebrate my birthday.Wish we did not bother as the room we stayed in was filthy and very dated also there was bad reception on tv plus stains on the bathroom tiles.The tea and coffee provided was poor the breakfast was very basic.We will definitely not be staying here again...

Room Tip: don't go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tralou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Ok so the good points, service was not bad and location is fairly good. Wasn't overly expensive and you do kinda pay for what you get.

The bad, the mattress was old, skanky, spring loaded and I got flea bites on my legs. Was really tired when I went to bed and only got a few hours sleep because of it.

Do yourself a favour, pay a bit more and stay somewhere else, unless you like being the main course for a family of fleas.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin_the_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
0.3 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#29 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.4 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Villa Hotel

Property: Oak Villa Hotel
Address: 55 - 57 Cardigan Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 1DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Leeds
Oak Villa Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing