We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking hotel, but poor service and maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I booked Haleys's Hotel by telephone for 3 nights in a single room for a business trip. My room looked fine at first, but moments later the main single downlighter went out. I went down to reception and was told that nothing could be done until the next day when the maintenance man would be in; I accepted this and lived with the two dim table lights.

At 6am the next morning I was awakened by a kitchen door repeatedly banging closed, as they laid-up the dining room for breakfast. I asked both the restaurant waiter and the receptionist to arrange for the kitchen door closer to be adjusted so that it didn't bang and wake me up. They said they would sort this out. However, arriving back that evening the downlighter in my room was still dead and from 6am the next morning the kitchen door was banging again. I complained again, but that evening neither the light bulb nor the door had been fixed. In desperation for a full night's sleep, I got myself a different room.

So, be warned: All the single rooms are on the first floor, above the bar, restaurant and kitchen, so have some noise from below. If you have any problem with your room, ask to be moved immediately, because the maintenance is useless: The hotel was full of downlighters, yet reception didn't have a single spare bulb! Also note that their Wi-Fi is terrible - could hardly even access my email.

On the plus side: Without any problems the hotel is much nicer than staying in a Premier Inn, Travelodge or similar and offers good value for money. And the restaurant chef is clearly very good, as my first night meal in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonvue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

Hi mr London,
Thank You for your review but we would like to make the following few comments, We have 4 single rooms which We think are very tasteful, 2 of these rooms have got 3 lights in and the other 2 have 4 lights in. Maintenance is 5 days over 7 although Management are on stanby incase of any emergencies.
The hydrolic closer between the kitchen and restaurant was attended to within hours of it been reported, there must of been another door that we were un aware of.
Thank You for your positive comments which we appriciate, we also try to take on board negative reviews so that we can have a continuous programme of inprovements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 461 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

We thought we had made a reservation for a room similar to one on the website. Unfortunately, on checking in we were given our key and told we were in the building across the car park. Room was very sad and in need of updating. Old style five channel tv, dirty tea pot and bathroom floor was in dire need of a good clean ie hair & fluff in the corners and dirty skirting boards. Breakfast was ok. If you stay in the main hotel it probably is alright but have based our review on our room. Three star grading - not sure it warrants it. All in all a really tired, dated hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinedevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

It sounds as if your were in Bedford House which is a grade II listed building, All the televisions throughout Haley's and Bedford House have been upgraded to 32" flat screen Freeview T.V.s.
Some of our guests actually request to stay in Bedford House in which we have six bedrooms some with antique furniture.
House keeping and deco is under constant review and we have an on going programme of investment (we took over the hotel just over 12 months ago).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This could be a lovely hotel, unfortunately the staff really let it down. Our room was quite pleasant we stayed in room 30, but the rest of the hotel is sad and dingy. Breakfast was awful. On checking out we tried to pay for the drinks we had the previous evening only to be told that we had already paid for the room and there was no bill outstanding for drinks! Ok with us we got free drinks but what is the management doing? Just don't stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franoman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

This hotel is obviously not for you, glad to hear your room was quite pleasant and as all the rooms are similar we conclude they are all "quite Pleasant".
"CHEERS" Hope your enjoyed your free drinks but please do not bank on them everytime, sorry you didnt enjoy your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We arrived on Christmas Day and were extremely politely received - despite the hotel being extremely busy with Christmas diners. Our Family Room our room was huge with a charming decor, four beds, a very deep bath, separate shower and a large flat screen TV.

Breakfast was charmingly served, cooked to order and a self-service buffet of cold items was available. Good coffee & tea were served alongside it & as much toast as you wanted.

The whole stay was highly enjoyable and I would strongly recommend Haley's to anyone visting Leeds and wanting to stay outside of the centre and away from a big hotel. It really is like being out in the country.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcatola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

Thank You for your positive comments, please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Heated towel rails.High pressure shower.Very comfortable bed.Very well heated room.
Reception staff very helpful if a little unfriendly.Sufficient public space with free daily newspapers.Well appointed restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearaman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

A pleasure having you stay with us, Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

In chronological order of the service: Booked online through their website recieved an email to confirm booking. Although I know Leeds well finding the Hotel is so simple just one right turn off the main road (it's even signposted from the main road). Check-in was simple and so friendly. The inside of the hotel is beautiful with a large staircase leading up to the rooms. Whilst we carried our bags to our room I'm positive that if needed the staff would happily take your bags for you. The whole hotel was clean, in the room there were crisp white sheets and pristine towels. An iron (with board), desk, wardrobe, tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities were availble in our standard room as was freeview Tv. The room for the price (£50) was amazing, not huge but enough room to move around. The ensuite had a bath/shower which was enjoyed in the morning as you can control the pressure and tempreature (can not stand low pressured showers). The location for me was perfect- two minutes walk from the main road so close to buses and Headingly city center whilst far enough away so that you do not get any noise. The hotel is locked at night, which my fiance didn't like, however there is a door bell and mobile number for the night porter. At 12am when we arrived 'home' it took the nightporter under 5 minutes to open the door after we knocked, so it's really not a problem. Checking out was also so simple just a hand over of the keys and we were gone. All in all everything from the price, staff, rooms and building to the location was perfect.

Plus from my knowledge from here to the towncenter is a £5 taxi ride, short bus ride (which are so regular take any bus and it goes to the center), 15 minute drive into town or an hours walk.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingAussiePom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

We try to offer value for money, when people see a picture of the hotel there expectations are higher than the tariffs we charge.
In the past Haley's Hotel would charge £80 to £120 per night, But this was before we aquired the Hotel out of administration.
Thank You very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We had two rooms at this hotel last weekend as it was in a convenient location for a family reunion. The building is very impressive in a lovely setting with ample free parking. Our de-luxe turret room was well equipped and very peaceful with an ensuite bath and (very gentle) shower. Our son had a standard single room which was larger than usual. The full English breakfasts on Saturday morning were made to order and delicious although on the Sunday it was a self serve buffet due to the number of guests. The hotel is in a vibrant student area but only a £7 cab ride from central Leeds where we enjoyed an excellent Chinese meal at Red Chilli. We were very happy with our stay here and will re-book when we next need a Leeds hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patpgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

Thank You, It is true we offer a self service breakfast mainly on busy mornings which is usually Sunday morning.
Thank You once again for staying with us, and glad to hear you enjoyed your meal at the Red Chilli Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
#48 of 87 in Leeds
523 reviews
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Headingley Lodge
#2 of 9 in Headingley
335 reviews
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#51 of 87 in Leeds
991 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haley's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 6-10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range: $91 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haley's Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haley's Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Leeds
Haley's Hotel And Restaurant Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing