We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funeral tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night, with a funeral tea booked for 23 people on the second day.
Found the hotel to be perfect for our requirements.
We had one single and one twin room.
The staff were always very helpful and friendly, rooms were good value for the price.
The buffet meal was excellent and all of our guests remarked on this.
Could not find any fault at all with our stay or the meal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann-Forrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Very kind of you to write this review. Thank you.

Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 453 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed two nights while visiting friends who joined us for dinner, good choices for meal well served and excellent quality. Fantastic staff especially our waitress at dinner. Good breakfast and comfortable room. Hayley's is in a good location for getting into Leeds as it is in a quiet road close to the main bus routes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kennedyjames01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

As you say Haley's is perfect for shopping in Leeds centre (have a look at the new Leeds trinity centre) or just for spending time on Headingly main street. Thanks

Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Only stayed one night, a Sunday, which meant that I didn't get to try the restaurant or bar as they were closed.This wasn't a problem as Headingly has plenty of restaurants,bars and cafe's that are open Sunday nights. Nice room with windows that opened and so got the fresh air. I am tired of staying in British hotels which claim that they have air-conditioning without mentioning that it doesn't work. Friendly service, decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexWembley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

We are trainning the reception to serve drinks from the bar, between 7pm and 11pm, then there is the night porter who will be pleased to serve a night cap drinks. Thanks for your review.

Gordon Jowett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arranged a christening party for our family and friends in early March (we have only just got around to the review now!)

It was excellent and was extremely well run and organised by Gordon and his staff. The only downside was that we were so organised that we had made arrangements several weeks in advance and by the time we came to confirm them, it seemed like they had been forgotten. But this was only a minor blip (and probably our fault anyway) as we met with Gordon who was very helpful and we quickly got everything arranged and confirmed again.

Everything on the day went extremely well and it was all fantastic, particularly the food which for buffet food was reallly nice. We had several compliments during the day about the quality of the roast beef and there was loads of dessert left because everyone had had so much to eat.

All in all a very good experience and we would recommend to anyone to have a small party here (it seemed ok for up to 50 or so).

As an aside, definitely try the Sunday lunch. We had some the day we met Gordon to make arrangments and we also came back for Mother's Day. It's worthy of a five star review on it's own. Delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments in your review. Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've stayed at Hayley's 3 times now on business purposes. Each time has been a very nice experience. The rooms are always very clean and comfortable (room no. 25 is beautiful! very large and a brilliant bathroom). The restaurant is top quality. Staff are also very friendly and helpful. All in all, for the price that I pay there is nothing I can fault about it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick_grimsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We try to offer value for money, with all the new carpets in the bedrooms will make them nice (6 weeks time) . Thank you. Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Based on the online pictures showing a lovely building with lovely 'de-luxe' rooms and bathrooms, I booked an overnight stay for us as a surprise for my partner. On arrival it all looked quite promising. We were not let down on entering the grand foyer/reception area, beautiful! We checked in, and by the way, we had to pay on arrival which I found strange, never had to do that in any other hotel before! We arrived at our room and ta'dah-a very dated and lack lustre room, I think it is the one that is yellow on the pics but has been re-plastered and painted a very bland shade of beige! Which needs some touching up. Dated and tired looking furniture and furnishings filled my heart with dispair. Never mind says i, we have a deluxe bathroom to look at yet! Oh no, we didnt! The fittings and suite had definately seen better days with obvious signs of major repair work, bubbly wallpaper, very tired looking tiles, so disappointing. But, we had paid and the hotel was full- a 50th anniversary party in that evening, the weather meant we stayed put-a foot of snow. We went out to eat and had a lovely evening but when we went to bed, we could hear the party people in the bar below quite clearly, so sleep was not imminent!. Breakfast time and a lovely spread was set out before us. Everything you could want, except another guest asked if he could order a fried egg, to be told by the young man behind the counter, we dont do them, the chef says no! So, as my heading suggests, we left extremely disappointed, having paid a 'de-luxe price for a very standard room. Did we complain? No, as there was no-one at reception on departure. Sorry Gordon, but the above is a truthful and genuine review. I would however stay here again due to the locality, but would question and wish to see which room has been booked for us before paying

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Payment on arrival is not all that unusual, I have done it on many occasions.
Once the accomodation is paid you can book drinks and food to the room and to settle on departure (that seems fair to me).
We are working our way re-decorating all the bedrooms and and new carpets to follow but I have to tell you Sue that bedroom number 2 which you stayed in had been done i.e. Satin/white wood work with magnolia walls and a contrast wall in the bathroom (we didnt know the bathroom wall had a bubble on it.
I don't want to fill your heart with despair again but we shall not be changing the colour scheme in the near future.
Our price in a large double bedroom of £79.00 on a weekend for bed and breakfast for two is not a deluxe price as you state, you would easily pay upto £150.00 in Leeds for a deluxe room.
We do offer fried eggs on a morning. I will be having a word with the chef. Nice to see your review on a local cafe was a 'treat to behold'.
Sue, I am sorry you left disappointed with our family run hotel, I will send you a copy of our response in the post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were lucky enought to be treated to corprate visit to watch leeds Rhino's. We choose this hotel to be near the stadium. We had pleasant stays at the sister hotel the corn mill. We would not hesitate to stay at the Haley's hotel again.The room was large clean light with nice bathroom. Breakfast excellent. The service was all together very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly504106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for this review, hope the Rhino's won! Hope to see you again at either Haley's or The Corn Mill Lodge. Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
434 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
#48 of 87 in Leeds
516 reviews
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
332 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haley's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 6-10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range: $93 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haley's Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Haley's Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Leeds
Haley's Hotel And Restaurant Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing