We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel, reception staff good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, reception staff good service”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My fourth visit to this hotel that provides excellent value for money. Reception staff are friendly and helpful as is Bob the night porter, providing friendly service at breakfast.

Rooms are clean though fittings and furnishings are getting a tired appearance. Sometimes a little attention to detail will make all the difference.

I would not mind paying a little more if the rooms were brought up to a higher standard, overall though a good, value hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for aroom not above the restaurant as you will hear the piped music through the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlymouthArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We have an on going programme at Haley's to visit the furnishings in the bedrooms, it is not our intentions to modernise but to improve the general quality and appearance of the furnishings. Thank you. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    168
    64
    23
    16
See reviews for
107
151
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Haleys in Headingly is a blast from the past. Stayed for the third time visiting my daughter who is at Uni in Leeds. The whole feel of the place in sharp contrast to the usual standardised chain hotel is superbly charming and relaxing. It does look a little weary in places, but I would much prefer that to modern hotels. Located along a leafy lane with loads of car parking space you would not know you were in a city. However the main road with pubs, shops and restaurants is in easy walking distance. The breakfast is excellent and although we did not eat dinner in this time, it has previously been very good. The price too, at under £70 for two is very competitive for a hotel of this standard. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artysport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Haleys has that special feeling of a country house hotel situated on the edge of Leeds City centre. Thank you for your review. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed overnight here whilst visiting Leeds for the Test match. The hotel is intimate, served a good buffet breakfast and the staff were responsive in their service. I was upgraded to a garden suite - it was well appointed and clean. The hotel was a short 7-8 mts walk away from the Headingly ground and hence I was able to park at the hotel and just stroll down to the match.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shehanwije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We are well situated for Headingly cricket ground also the shops, bars and restaurants in Headingly and only 5 - 10 minutes on public transport that can be caught at the end of the road. Thank you for this review. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staying in a hotel in the centre of Leeds is not a pleasant experience. However, the leafy suburb of Headingley, only a couple of miles from the city centre, is where you will find Haley's on a non through road but only a short walk from shops, restaurants, bars and cafes. It is spotlessly clean, bedrooms are very well appointed, wifi is free, the bathrooms are immaculate. Parking is free - which is more than can be said for many of the hotels in Leeds including the lodge type so called hotels. On my most recent trip to Leeds I travelled alone and only stayed one night (a Sunday) so the restaurant was not open but I know from previous visits that the food is first rate. Breakfast is excellent value and the staff of the hotel are always attentive. Try it - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clwydian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon. Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We always stay here when we are in Leeds to visit family. Hotel is clean and quiet on a leafy road- in fact it is very interesting just to walk down the high road and see the old back to back houses and industrial heritage of this part of Leeds. Good wifi reception, and lots of hot water for big long baths. Spotlessly clean and really nice staff. Gorgeous breakfast which keeps us full all day. Great value for money.

My Tips:
- decafinated teabags offered with the fruit ones for breakfast
- turn down the heating a smidgen - it was boiling this weekend (had my covers off and window open in cold October!)
- more milk in the rooms for tea (or little note that you could get more from a basket in reception/ from reception ?)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boxy_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we have stayed at hayleys about six times now sometimes for 2 or 3 days. It is idealy placed to visit our daughter in Hyde Park. We love the building, the location and general warmth and cozy feeling there. However the place is a little tired. We have stayed in 4 different rooms and the furniture in all is past its use by date. On our first stay the room was adequate but very small. Next time as our daughter was also joining us we had a larger room, there were faults such as not being able to draw the curtains fully and the shower pressure and temp was very poor. despite reporting this the next time we stayed and asked for the same room nothing had been done! Again we booked the same room and things were better...except the TV came on very loud on its own at 3am! reported this at reception and low and behold it did the same again the next morning again at 3am. Wether someone set the timer as a joke i dont know but it wasnt delt wtih. Moved to another room for our last day which had a usless shower. Our last stay on 26th and 27th Oct saw us in room 7. The room is usually rented as a single and as such the bed dipped badly in the middle we had an awful nights sleep. It also had a strange wooden edge sticking out of the bottom sides (visible in the review pics) which is idealy plased to catch you foot on! Some of the paintwork needed attention. We stayed one weekend including the Sunday and after going out for a meal returned to have a drink only to be told the bar wasnt open Sunday evenings!!
The staff on our first couple of stays were fantastic, but the Girl on reception girl on our next few visits was abrupt unfriendly and unhelpful. The girl this time also had a very basic approach to customer relations. Bob who is night porter and breakfast concierge is a really nice bloke! very helpful and a fantastic tourist information centre all on his own. Breakfast is excellent!
We are likely to try another hotel we looked at now as Hayleys seem to be getting more complacent and are not bothered if you have had any problems despite being relatively frequent customers. Its a shame to have to write this, its dissapointing.

Room Tip: dont choose room 7 if your a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blokefromherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
I am sorry to hear the details about your disapointments. We are constantly updating things and have recently re-decorated and re-carpeted all the public areas. It does sound as though somebody had set the alarm system on the Tv either by mistake or to be mischeivous. Rest assured we are no complacent as you can see from our replies to Trip advisor reviews. Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I went here for our anniversary (25 years). we were very impressed with the food, both quality and quantity and the 3 course deal was really good value. In fact deinks at the bar on arrival, 3 courses, bottle wine and coffee les than £53 for us both! The staff too were friendly and efficient, though it was very quiet so they weren't tested under pressure!

A couple of tiny points that knocked the star off - the dessert cheescake supposedly came with whipped cream but it was that awful stuff from an aerosol! Why oh why in such an upper class place serve this awful chemical concoction?! The atmosphere and surroundings were good but it would have been even better if the lighting had not been so bright and maybe add a candle on the table. otherwise excellent and extremely good value!

Room Tip: We only used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear your dislike of the whipped cream runny double cream can always be served as an alternative and of course at no extra cost. Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#29 of 86 in Leeds
730 reviews
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
380 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haley's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 6-10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haley's Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haley's Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Leeds
Haley's Hotel And Restaurant Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing