We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great business hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Leeds North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Leeds North
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

I'm used to staying in generic standard business hotels up and down the country but this was different!

We arrived quite late at night after a drive down from Glasgow we got parked pretty much at the door so no long haul with luggage to the reception.

Check in was quick and efficient, We got to the room and where impressed by the modern interior of the room my only complaint was the route to the room we had to take 2 lifts and got lost a few times on our 2 night stay.

The bed was big and comfy and the plasma tv was a nice treat for my hubby who had joined me. The bathroom was modern and clean.

We had breakfast in the buffett and was not disappointed great northern brekkie. And great service from the wait staff too.

We had dinner in the pub in the hotel and it was tasty and the fire was most welcome as the snow was coming down thick and fast by then.

A great hotel in a great location headingly is a lovely suburb of leeds and close to the town centre.

  • Liked — Fab!
  • Disliked — not easy to get to the rooms.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunsetbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    616
    530
    291
    178
See reviews for
421
784
86
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2008

Stayed for a night last week and on arriving about 7pm found it hard to find a parking space. It transpired that the health club is very popular and if you arrive eveningish, its very busy.

The reception was well staffed and very friendly.

The website descibes the rooms as being uber chic. My room wasn't. Dont get me wrong the room was clean and well furnished but a red wall doesn't make it chic.

I had dinner iin the hotel and it was really good. Bar prices were reasonable too. Breakfast was great and had a good choice.

I would definitely stay again but would ask for a roon in the new build. A colleague stayed in one and her room was much better

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — not quite as adverised
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

Stayed here for work and I really liked this hotel. The pool was great for a wind down after a busy day. My room was a decent size and clean with the normal expected facilities. No noise from adjacent rooms either. The breakfast was good. Had dinner in the ‘pub’ within the hotel, food was nothing special but ok, had real ale on tap which was a bonus. I don’t recall what the reception staff were like which must mean they neither rude nor overly attentive! I would return here for work or pleasure.

  • Liked — pool & spa
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jamforbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle-under-lyme
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

Had to wait until 3pm before could have room which was a pain. Room clean and no complaints about this - Sky sport on tv, abit of a walk from reception ut all in all OK.
Food was great both in restaurant (Verve) and the 'Pub' - great for families too (childrens food also excellent) BUT the staff are very very miserable. Are all Leeds people like this? They did their job but without a smile, a good morning, or a hello. The staff did not go out of their way to do anything - as I said they need training in customer care. We have met friendlier staff in Sainsburys!!

A slight alarming point was that the fire alarm went off four times in the middle of the night, and all of the hotel were evacuated. The only representative from the hotel that appeared was a porter who took a role call (in broken english). In the end a hotel customer completed the role call. No management appeared at all, and the only apology was a letter pushed under each door in the morning. There was apparently a fault, but this was not clearly explained at the time and this gave you no confidence to go to sleep afterwards - very little sleep that night - and no management to be seen.

Overall nice hotel but not nice people who work there - this puts us off.

  • Liked — Food and leisure facilities
  • Disliked — Staff - miserable and unwelcoming
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potters21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Headingley hotels

London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

I'm afraid my one night here was a bit of a disaster.

It started to go wrong at reception where I was ignored for ages by two chatting receptionists. I arrived in my room to find the phone unplugged from the wall and grubby furniture. The free wireless internet code had been changed from the one I was originally provided but the reception staff didn't seem to know anything about it...

Room service didn't start until much later so I had to go to the basement coffee bar to get a cup of tea - sadly the chap working the bar was more interested in chatting up a female member of staff than he was in talking to me. In fact everything I tried to do in this hotel came apart at the seams.

Finally I have to say that breakfast was one of the most depressing experiences I have had in a long time. Cold eggs, burnt bacon and a do it yourself toastr that merely warmed your bread complemented the most undrinkable coffee I think I've ever had.

If this place billed itself as a modern Fawlty towers and not as a pseudo-respectable hotel I'd be a bit more understanding. It certainly did not live up to its billing and I felt sorry for the pensioners' coach tour that had to endure this place while I was there - I was there for work but this place was meant to be part of their holiday

In the end I had a long list of petty issues which added up into serious irritants. The room itself was basic

  • Liked — Friendly pensioners on a coach trip
  • Disliked — How long have you got????
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LiamFitzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

The deal booked and agreed via the web suddenly became £40 more on checking out. There appears to be a problem with promotion codes so make sure you get everything in writing, ESPECIALLY THE PRICE before you set foot in the place. Arrogant staff just quote promotion codes and have a "Not Our Problem" attitude.

Total rip off in the end

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the over-flated amended price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrsWhUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

On arrival the gentleman on Reception felt his phone call was more important than checking in a customer and eye contact during his call was to be avoided at all costs, as was any acknowledgement that he had kept me waiting quite some time.

Clearly a busy hotel with lots of comings and goings but we were in a quite corner and suffered no noise or other disturbances.

No time to use the leisure facilities so can't comment.

Breakfast was excellent - apart from the nasty, obviously very cheap sausages. As this was included in the price for a family of four, all of whom had seconds, I increased the rating due to the good value.

We also got lucky with the view - it was of some sort of commercial or industrial unit - but ihow amazing to open the curtains in the morning and see deer grazing on the grass!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tysis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
6.9 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds South
0.3 mi away
Weetwood Hall
Weetwood Hall
#28 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
7.2 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#45 of 87 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Leeds
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#15 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Leeds North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Leeds North

Property: Village Hotel Leeds North
Address: Hotel Leeds North 186 Otley Road | Headingly, Headingley, Leeds LS16 5PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Leeds North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Leeds North is situated only a short drive from the city centre and 3 miles from the train station. Leeds is an all-round vibrant city and offers the perfect base to explore some of the best theatres, music and shopping in the country. You will also be drawn to attractions out of town, like the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Village Hotel Leeds North has 134 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Village Hotel Leeds North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Leeds North
Village Hotel And Leisure Leeds
Village Hotel Leeds North Headingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing