We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gildersome
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wedding Wonderland”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Having been invited as a guest for my friends wedding, I wasn't holding out much for a hotel wedding. How wrong was I? The personal touches throughout the hotel was just the beginning. Seeing my friends pictures dotted around the entire hotel was such a lovely thought. The service and drinks afterwards was perfect. The location helped a lot as being a guest whilst the photo's are being taken can be boring. Not here, the many nooks and cranny's to explore both indoors and out kept children and grown ups entertained; pretty sure I didn't find all of them. The meal was put of this world, I wanted to lick the plate clean. Every member of the staff their were attentive without being overbearing which made the atmosphere very relaxing and the day about the wedding.

The room we stayed in was amazing and the view just made us feel very spoiled.

I would recommend anyone considering here as a wedding location to book now. I certainly will be returning as I am now in love with this hotel and I will remember my friends wedding for the rest of my life.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smalltowngirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    117
    37
    23
    13
See reviews for
97
166
11
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Booked this hotel as it was near the motorway network for a quick getaway the following morning.
Many years ago we lived near Leeds and new that Gildersome was not a wonderful part of the city so you can imagine our surprise when we drove up a tree lined drive to find this magnificent house surrounded by lawns......The interior was magnificent and the staff so charming we wished we were going to stay for longer...The breakfast in the morning was an absolute feast and that was before we started on the cooked element of the meal............
If you are in the area you must give it a try..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelstonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well what can we say about our amazing wedding day at the most beautiful wedding venue in Leeds .
Having chosen this venue over a year ago , our wedding co ordinator Lauren Youldon has been brilliant and with us every step of the way and nothing has been too much trouble , making all our arrangments stress free .
The manager Nigel is a credit to the woodlands and should be very proud of the way the hotel is run as a business .
We cant begin to tell you how welcoming this hotel is , on a recent visit to go over our wedding plans it was my fiancees birthday and to our suprise Nigel produced a wonderful selection of cakes for us to enjoy with candles , which was such a special thing to do , we were over the moon,. it is special touches like this that stick in the memory and make the woodlands poles apart from the rest .
From our arrival on our wedding day everything from the Mulsanne room where we were married to the patio where guests enjoyed drinks to the beautiful marquee where our wedding breakfast took place was perfection , the bridal suite is amazing and all our guests commented on how fantastic and indiividual their rooms were , breakfast was perfect but then again everything about the woodlands is perfect .
so to anybody out there who is looking for the perfect hotel for the perfect wedding then look no further than the hidden gem that is the Woodlands hotel .
Thank you to eveyone who shared this wonderful day with us , but most of all we couldnt have done it without the exceptonal staff at the Woodlands .

Thankyou

Mr & Mrs O'Leary ( Or as Lauren would say Mr & Mrs O'Lovely ) xx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived on the Saturday for a wedding on the Sunday
Checked in looked amazing place never knew this place was here..
They have a Marque that they use for big events and do have rooms located around the roof top so if your not involved your in for loud music until around 12.30am
We were given room 18 just above the kitchen too so we received double noise with cooking smells too ...

This is no way a bad review we had a great time and if you had been given a different room things I'm sure would be different.

Food here is top quality and have no problems / gardens / rooms all lovely

Room Tip: Avoid Room 18 and request a room on the second floor or around the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gold732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey channel,islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was our third stay at the Woodlands and sadly whilst the service in the restaurant and the bar was up to standard there was no wifi and no working telephones in the rooms. We had booked at short notice and no mention of this had been made at the time despite this being known. We needed the wifi for work purposes and were forced to go to another hotel. Whilst the staff were apologetic every assurance that the wifi was no working proved to be incorrect and a promise for the manager to call and discuss the problems with us never materialised. All in all very disappointing stay which has left us with a lasting poor impression. My recommendation is to give the hotel a wide berth unless you have specific confirmation from them of the basics you require and even then treat any confirmations with healthy scepticism.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our third visit to Woodlands over a period of 8 years and it did not disappoint. We stayed at the hotel midweek. The restaurant served the best hand cut chips we have ever had and the rest of the evening meal was very good. Breakfast was a full Yorkshire (other options ie for continental etc were available). We were upgraded to a deluxe double, room 6, a strangely shaped but well-spaced room. Bathroom was a bit small but it had a lovely whirlpool bath which worked perfectly. The bottom shower seal could have done with a good bleaching and scrub but everything else was clean. The bed was standard double with comfortable bedding and decent pillows. The room was very warm even with windows open but a fan was provided in the room. Our only issue was the intermittent wi-fi which did not reach to our room. This meant I could not do important work in the evening and had to do it down in reception where wi-fi signal was stronger. All in all, a good stay in a solid hotel with attentive staff. Thank you.

Room Tip: Email in advance to check suitability for you personal requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaghetti007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Attended a wedding reception. Very nice quiet location, just out of the city with good road links.
Staff worked very hard to ensure that everything ran smoothly. I had the soup starter followed by the roast beef dinner, the food was freshly cooked and tasty, the portions were adequate but only because several hours later we would be attending the buffet at the same venue. As for the buffet it was on the hole fine. Some of my fellow guests commented that the drinks were a little bit on the expensive side. I have just one minor grumble, the evenings entertainment and buffet were held in the marquee, it was unusually cold for June, I was sat at a table near one of the fire exits with my back to the fire escape doors. The doors were left open so that the people that smoke could pop outside. After a while I felt distinctively chilly. Overall though a very enjoyable experience in very nice surroundings.

Room Tip: Book early, especially if you are attending a wedding reception. We tried to book rooms 6 months bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escallops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gildersome
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,150 reviews
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
Quebecs
#9 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel Leeds

Property: Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Address: 79 Gelderd Road, Gildersome, Leeds LS27 7LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Gildersome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gildersome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is a stylish contemporary hotel and restaurant set in beautiful landscaped grounds. Consisting of 23 individually designed bedrooms, alongside a popular restaurant and bar and a range of beautiful bespoke meeting rooms and private dining rooms. The hotel is only 3 miles from the vibrant cosmopolitan city centre of Leeds with its superb nightlife, unrivaled shopping and easy access to all motorway links. The entire building can be hired for exclusive use parties and celebrations and whether you visit with friends and colleagues or arrive alone you will enjoy the chic yet comfortable atmosphere of this excellent luxury hotel. Woodlands also offer Free WiFi Internet in all bedrooms and public areas with no restrictions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodlands Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Leeds Gildersome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing