We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gildersome
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cannot fault”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The hotel is clearly a wonderful building and has been tastefully decorated with nice furnishings in the public rooms. The roaring fire in the bar made it very cosy.
Food was excellent. I had the salmon with crusted topping and my colleague had the fish and chips. Presentation was superb but with a very reasonable price tag.
My room could not be faulted. I had the Dimity, with a glorious bathroom, plenty of space and a bed that was so comfortable.
Staff were attentive without 'hassling' which is important, especially when we spent most of the afternoon working in the public area using the free wifi.
I was here on business, but found it so good I would come back for a personal stay.
Fantastic!

Room Tip: Dimity. Great bathroom and has two patios (one outside the bathroom and one outside the bedroom) R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    117
    37
    23
    13
See reviews for
99
166
11
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Myself & my (now) husband were married at Woodlands on 28th December 2013 and I cannot fault the entire day - It was beyond perfect!

We visited Woodlands first (from a long list of venues) and after our initial visit made our decision this was where we would be married - no more time spent looking elsewhere!

The staff are truly fabulous, every meeting I had with Lauren was a pleasure and every member of staff there are so polite & helpful - Emily & Nigel were fabulous on the day too and the night before and we booked all 23 rooms for our guests and had nothing but compliments not just about the day but about the venue/staff at the hotel.

I really can't say enough good things about the whole experience...

The rooms are beautiful, all individual and of different sizes but everyone made comment of the quality and what a good night sleep they had. I have eaten in the bar & restaurant on different occasions and everything was to a extremely high standard - food,wine and of course the staff!
The Wedding day itself ran to plan - although we thought we were missing a shirt for my Father-in-law and Nigel was on the case immediately in his car heading to buy a replacement without any stress - we found the shirt in the end but the reaction was just what you want to ensure no panics are had - nothing was too much trouble.

The detail in the Mulsanne Suite where we were married was outstanding & the marquee took my breath away when it was all complete with fairy lights & decorations.

I would recommend Woodlands to everyone - it now has a special place in our hearts and we look forward to frequenting this hotel for many years to come.

The staff are an absolute credit and we hope you all enjoyed a chocolate or two (we got a big box to make sure they went around!!)

Thank you again the all the staff at Woodlands for our "Amazing Day"

Jane & Paul Frost

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My friends wedding was held here, we were able to check in on arrival which was useful, the hotel and grounds are beautiful. It was a perfect day the staff were all friendly and helpful. Rooms weren't huge but plenty big enough, beds were v comfy and bathrooms well equipped. All in all a great experience and would def recommend staying here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viicsticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My daughter and son in law got married at this hotel in Dec It was the perfect venue for a lovely winter wedding. Thanks to Nigel and his excellent staff who where friendly and nothing was to much trouble and also Lauren and Jessica the wedding coordinators who where always available to answer any questions. They had 80 guests and the food was excellent.( Perfect day )

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon905103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brotton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed just one night whilst my car was being serviced & MOT'd just down the other end of Gelderd Road (although a taxi still cost us £7 in that short distance). Looks inviting from the outside, set in beautiful grounds which we strolled around in the morning, to work off the plentiful full English breakfast. Room 5 'foulard' was ample (read a review that it was small, but what do you need), well decorated, warm, clean, well stocked tea & coffee making facilities (although the plug which you need to remove to fill it, was a little difficult to get to under the desk). My only complaint about the room was the shower over the bath. You had to get in it to reach the controls (the shower door wouldn't move outwards) so it meant you got a frozen arm whilst adjusting the settings. The water did not drain away completely from the night time shower so in the morning you had to stand in cold water in order to get to the taps. The restaurant food was excellent, very tasty and well presented (although a little on the expensive side) and the bar area made for a very romantic setting with the open log fire (but with the central heating and all that good food, I couldn't stay awake) bliss! The staff were all friendly, the receptionist gladly held our bags behind the reception whilst we went for a walk and rang for our taxi which only took minutes to arrive. It was a little bit more than what we wanted to spend on just one night away, but no regrets because it was really special.

Room Tip: We had room 5 'foulard' which was good, cosy, warm and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts,England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

States for one evening, room 15 very small room with curtains you cannot shut due to dressing table being in the way, a blind with slats missing in the bathroom, curtains that could do with a good clean and a dripping toilet all night !
Although room was far from ideal, the evening meal and service in the bar was fabulous.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TillyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Booked a last minute getaway for me and the hubby and all i can say is it was lovely. So spacious and clean with lovely staff. We couldn't have asked for more. I payed a little more for a superior suite and was very impressed. The huge bed was super comfy.
We also have drinks in the cosy bar and a scrumptious evening meal (Hubby had steak and i had duck)
Breakfast was a perfect end to our stay.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to others!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uslittlelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gildersome
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,077 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,185 reviews
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#32 of 87 in Leeds
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel Leeds

Property: Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Address: 79 Gelderd Road, Gildersome, Leeds LS27 7LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Gildersome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gildersome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is a stylish contemporary hotel and restaurant set in beautiful landscaped grounds. Consisting of 23 individually designed bedrooms, alongside a popular restaurant and bar and a range of beautiful bespoke meeting rooms and private dining rooms. The hotel is only 3 miles from the vibrant cosmopolitan city centre of Leeds with its superb nightlife, unrivaled shopping and easy access to all motorway links. The entire building can be hired for exclusive use parties and celebrations and whether you visit with friends and colleagues or arrive alone you will enjoy the chic yet comfortable atmosphere of this excellent luxury hotel. Woodlands also offer Free WiFi Internet in all bedrooms and public areas with no restrictions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Woodlands Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Leeds Gildersome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing