We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gildersome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

perfect, perfect, perfect. lovely staff, very friendly. food was amazing (i recommend the Yorkshire breakfast!) and the room was spacious and spotless. good value for money too. i stayed there on my own but in a larger group of around 20 people. no one had a bad word to say (apart from the rooms being too warm and on a cold November night i was certainly not going to complain!). everyone thoroughly enjoyed them selves and its just a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: i had room 20, up in the eaves, very pretty.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Woodlands Hotel Leeds
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 463 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this wonderful hotel at the end of October and if I could I would stay at the end of very month. Fantastic service upon arrival that continued throughout our overnight stay.
Gemma, Nasser and Becky on reception were all superb and Leanne on breakfast was fantastic. But to be fair I didn't encounter a member of staff that wasn't smiling and seemingly happy to be there? Well done!!
We ate our evening meal from the restaurant menu and we were not disappointed, with special mention to the Eton Mess!
Breakfast was delish and made to order!
First rate hotel, first rate staff!

Thanks for a lovely stay

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Iamdavewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed overnight for a family wedding.

(Room 9)

Room was large and would have been great if it was just me and my wife who wanted to party till 3am. Instead i have two children under 4 who were with us. The room did not have a bed for my eldest child. This was rectified quickly but at a cost, had me over a barrel but my child's comfort was paramount.

Main issue came at 7pm when putting my children to bed to discover that my room (room 9) was above the main nights entertainment. The noise was so bad you could think the disco/band was in the bathroom. Also as it is a corner room, outside of both windows is the main smoking area. Kids did not sleep a wink and cried for about 6 hrs until the noise died down to an acceptable level.

hotel was full so staff could not do anything about it.

contacted the manager who said i should have asked for a quiet room. they know about the noise issue but wont tell you on arrival. you have to use your crystal ball and ask them to put you some where quiet. He also made the excuse that they did not know about children in the room.. At 3pm when i checked in and requested another bed for a child, you would think that this may have alerted them that a family where staying in their noisy room.Again no mention that my room would be one from hell.

Families are not welcome at this hotel, and they expect all quests to know that some rooms are nosier than others. Be warned its your fault when staying that you don;t ask for a quiet room.

This hotel does not care once you have parted with your cash. Had a much better stay in the premier inn about 20 miles down the road, and no thankfully i didn't pay the bill for my nights stay so this review is not about cash.

Totally disgusted at the manager and his attitude, plus his slow response to emails raising my complaint. I would not recommend this hotel and would not stay again.

Room Tip: You have the responsibility when checking in to ask them for a quiet room .
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harrison20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren Y, Director of Sales at Woodlands Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We have done some investigation into your feedback and I would like to share this with you. Please do get in touch with me directly on 0113 238 1488 or lauren@woodlandsleeds.com as I am keen to speak with your personally about your visit.
Kind Regards, Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed for one night in standard double room. Staff reception super friendly and efficient at all times without being O T T. Room very well equipped with everything including an iron, tea and coffee facilities, good strength wi-fi, terrace with table and seating. Pleasant gardens all round set within the woodland enclosure. Bar service really good. The restaurant serves really well cooked food that is not too trendy. Wine list is limited but acceptable in range, quality and price.
It is a hotel where the staff really listen to what you say and where all are made comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Perfect Wedding Venue – Beautiful and Affordable
I truly do not know where to start, but I know the end result was that Woodlands transformed my wedding reception into a day of magic and memories. I have been planning my wedding for many many years, (2.5yrs) and it was everything I could have dreamed about x2
Woodlands have the most professional team of staff that I could have had the pleasure of working with. It all began with a phone call to Woodlands hotel group and the start of a fantastic working relationship with Rachel Thorpe who demonstrated a remarkable level of patience, understanding and compromise that I could expect from any minister let alone a wedding planner. Four phone calls a day would drive anybody crazy, but Rachel would always accept every call, no matter how many times a day, no matter how many times I asked the same ridiculous question no matter what deal I would try to strike, no matter how unreasonable the temper tantrum, there was never any sign of frustration or impatience, and she would always, always do everything she could to make the dream come true. So during this lengthy process, Rachel was on maternity for a spell, and Lauren was tasked with looking after me (I truly did believe I was the only bride). One would have thought that after a year , everything would have been done and I was just waiting patiently for the day to arrive, but, oh no – the phone calls continued, changing guest numbers, changing layouts, wanting more free things, demand after demand after demand. Again Lauren took every call, always called me back, responded to every email, and answered every query. Even when my requests needed escalation to general management – a response would always be provided within 24 hour, even when my request was not possible, an alternative would always be suggested. Needless to say Brides I have dealt with many suppliers and the team at Woodlands exceed every expectation. I can guarantee that you will always feel like the only bride they have to deal with, they are never too busy, you will always always feel special.
I would definitely recommend exclusive use, as I think the fact that it was only my wedding was the icing on the cake. We were greeted on the day by Rachel, Lilly and Nigel who provided a remarkable level of service on the day, the venue was beautiful, and the staff were firing on all cylinders. We had external caterers in to do the wedding breakfast who worked closely with head chef at the woodlands team who prepared the canapés and the evening food. The Head chef was so accommodating that he even prepared breakfast for Val (the external Caterer) and her team before they got started. That was such a special touch as it made the external team feel so welcome and part of the team. I also know that the head chef chipped in and did so much to make the wedding breakfast service a success, before and during the wedding) The canapés were brought out hot (even though we were running late) and the compliments received were that the canapés were finger licking good. (I of course didn’t see any as I was being photographed in the beautiful grounds) The Caribbean wedding breakfast was a fantastic success prepared by Val’s team, served to perfection and extremely well presented, and then the evening food was another extravaganza, with head chef preparing a feast (with Val preparing curry goat and rice to compliment it). Everybody was friendly, professional and efficient ( reception, bar staff, waiting staff, ) to the extent where there was a member of the team following me around with my chocolate cake desert every time I got pulled away somewhere my chocolate cake would end up in front of me ( it was great). Nigel was massively accommodating on the day, reception were giving directions to lost guests, booking people in, and even called all the guests the next morning to advise them that breakfast was between certain times in case they didn’t know. We partied until 2am!!!
We had all of the rooms, which were squeaky clean and very stylish and breakfast the next morning was amazing. The service continued to exceed expectation with all of our things neatly put together in one place so they could be collected. Things of mine that ended up being strewn across the venue as I took them off (shoes, earrings etc.) appeared in my room (just like magic) I really was treated like a princess, and not one of my guests had a word of complaint. The feedback from all guests was that the wedding was a fairy tale wedding nicknamed the second royal wedding. 7 weeks later I am still on a remarkable high. Woodlands made my day one never to be forgotten by both me and all 150 of my guests. Well done woodlands team – you make dreams come true.

Room Tip: we stayed in the penthouse, excellent with 2 bathrooms and Jacuzzi bath. Bridal Suite beautiful, dam...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabbyb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We went to this hotel for our Team Meeting and all stayed the night. It was the best one yet, the staff we all very friendly (especially Victoria on Reception) and helpful. The food was excellent and the rooms very clean and some very big.... I can honestly say there was no complaints at all.

Rachel, the events organiser, was ace, again very friendly and nothing was too much for her to do.

We will defo be coming back and are even looking to have our Christmas Team Meeting there.

Well done to all :-) from all at Barclays.....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine Loz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had our wedding here on 4th October 2013 and also stayed over in the beautiful penthouse! We were treated like royalty all day long... The food was beautiful... The staff amazing! I have nothing negative to say about the Woodlands and its staff. All I can say is thank you for making our wedding so special xxxx

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkijoox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gildersome
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
243 reviews
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,624 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel Leeds

Address: 79 Gelderd Road, Gildersome, Leeds LS27 7LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Gildersome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gildersome
Price Range: $80 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is a stylish contemporary hotel and restaurant set in beautiful landscaped grounds. Consisting of 23 individually designed bedrooms, alongside a popular restaurant and bar and a range of beautiful bespoke meeting rooms and private dining rooms. The hotel is only 3 miles from the vibrant cosmopolitan city centre of Leeds with its superb nightlife, unrivaled shopping and easy access to all motorway links. The entire building can be hired for exclusive use parties and celebrations and whether you visit with friends and colleagues or arrive alone you will enjoy the chic yet comfortable atmosphere of this excellent luxury hotel. Woodlands also offer Free WiFi Internet in all bedrooms and public areas with no restrictions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodlands Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Leeds Gildersome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing