We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great service and best full english I've ever had.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redlands Guest House
Ranked #3 of 3 Bickenhill B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at the Redlands for two nights when going to NEC recently and could not believe the level of service and friendlyness of the lovely couple who own the property.

Rooms are all in the garden in small brick or timber units, each room is an suite and all have fridge,TV, kettle and tea making facilities. Some even have microwave oven. Small but adequate rooms, well decorated and furnished with good units etc. Summer stays would be good as there is a large garden with pond/fish and plenty outdoor seating. Yvonne and Phillip the owners are great and very helpful, even to taking you to your local venue or airport in their mini bus FREE OF CHARGE. What more can you say other than THANKS FOR A GREAT STAY.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 101 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

After a none too friendly welcome from the owner, (we arrived at 2pm, which is their earliest specified check-in time, however we were told that we weren't expected til 3pm) we were shown to our room which was very clean, well equipped, and decorated nicely.

The owners drew us a map to help us get to the centre of Solihull, which is beautiful, and told us about some local places to eat and drink, where to park, etc.

However, the walls in the rooms were very thin, we could hear the guests next door having a conversation! I would have liked a bit more flexibility regarding breakfast times, it seemed it was 8.30am or you did without, even on a Sunday.

The free shuttle service was useful, the breakfast was massive and there was a good selection. I would stay again but would request a room on its own to avoid noise.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JoeUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recommended this lovely B and B to friends and Family when we held out Wedding at Home on Hampton Lane and everyone loved it and would highly recommend it. They "pods" were unusual but unique and lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Very surprised at this "little" guest house. You pull up in front of a house and you think it's just a normal guest house..... Until Phil calls you from the side gate and takes you through to the kitchen, then you meet his wife Yvonne.... I actually felt like I was popping in to friends it was instantly welcoming.... And then for the next surprise.... The rooms..... I loved it. Imagine a big playhouse at the end of your garden, with fountain as well (in garden not room LOL)... It was a mini wood cabin....In the room was a fridge, microwave and the usual tea etc.

Breakfast was at the main house in the conservatory... And trust me when I say the breakfast will keep you going all day.

It's not spotless, cold and clinical, there might be the odd cobweb but I would thoroughly recommend as it was very friendly and homely.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixxy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

we stayed with my wife at this lovely place in January 2013. This place is amazing!!! Excellent service, supercool English breakfast and excellent location (it's close to NEC, train station and airport).

i would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vladsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here before traveling from Birmingham airport.
Rooms are wooden chalets around a small garden area.
The chalet was comfortable and quiet (save for the 'planes going over - though you can ignore them most of the time).
Breakfast was pretty good too!
We used the complimentary shuttle service which makes things very easy.

I would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRHCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We just wanted to say a big thank you for our stay and your hospitality. The room was good, well equipped and clean, just what we needed. The breakfast was huge! It was nice to have a freshly cooked breakfast rather than a ‘buffet’ that could have been cooked 15-20 minutes ago! Very filling! It was also great to have a free minibus service to/from the NEC, as it turned out it saved us a lot of hassle with the awful traffic on our return. Phil’s driving was amazing, not only a free shuttle service but off-road driving as well!!!! We will certainly look to book with you first if we come that way again and would recommend it to anyone staying in the area, and we are not easily pleased! Your directions to avoid the traffic grid-lock on our way back home to Kent worked a treat as well, we got back in about the same time it took us to arrive mid-afternoon, just what we needed after a long day at the food show. We met people who have been staying here for years, that says a lot. A big thank you again!
And free WiFi to watch City beat Wigan on our iPad!!! lol
Well recommended, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anabella N Stev... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickenhill
0.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,884 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redlands Guest House

Address: Redlands Church Lane, Bickenhill, Solihull B92 0DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Bickenhill
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bickenhill
Price Range: $100 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redlands Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Redlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redlands Guest House Bickenhill, UK - Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing