We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birmingham is back on the menu!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bickenhill
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Birmingham is back on the menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Right - heres the thing...

Last minute hols with my partner to gran canaria - flight from Birmingham filled me with dread based on past experiences and we needed car parking for 11 nights.

Found this hotel 2 mins from airport with car parking for less than car parking alone usually is and what a winner!

Car was perfectly safe and sound on return and no fuss! Drink prices were a little steep in the very pleasant bar and the food was excellent for a bar meal (though there is a very nice looking restaurant too) and very fairly priced we thought. felt a world away from airport stress and really started our hols there.

Room was more than adequate, bed comfortable bath clean and a window which opened a bit which I like.

All in all I really rated our stay there and if you read my other reviews you will see that I am usually more than honest about things!

GOTTA SAY IN BOLD THAT I FIND MYSELF TELLING EVERYONE ABOUT THE THOUGHTFULNESS OF THE CONTENTS OF THE TOILETRY GIFT BAG AT RECEPTION - EVEN AN ALCOHOL GEL WHICH IS SO SO USEFUL - EVEN JUST FOR PEACE OF MIND WHEN TRAVELLING AND I HOPE OTHER HOTELS READ THIS AND FOLLOW SUIT!

Arden - we will be staying again.thanks guys!

Room Tip: there can be a bit of a wait for the lifts and so low floor would save you the grief. also some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliejules2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear juliejules2,

Thank you for your lovely review and your comments on your stay with us prior to your flight from Birmingham Airport.

I am really pleased to read your comments and to see how impressed you were with our welcome packs. We have recently revised the contents of the welcome packs to ensure that they are offering items that our guests want to compliment the toiletries we already provide in the room.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again for your next flight from Birmingham Airport.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    471
    341
    166
    98
See reviews for
220
396
61
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

stayed whilst visiting the NEC, easy walking distance to train station and airport also, staff gave map directions so really easy to follow. We got a great deal on the room with it being a Sunday night so weren't expecting much to be honest but the hotel is great, light and airy with friendly staff. Our room was large and clean, the only problem we had was with the shower becoming very very hot when my friend turned the dial the wrong way, almost scalding herself- a sign or labels would help. The food in the restaurant was excellent and great value at £20 for 3 courses. The breakfast was also excellent. We used the pool the next day which was lovely, with a great pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and 'bucket shower' which we had fun with! We didn't use the gym but that looked great too. Overall we couldn't quite believe what we'd had for our money and would definately return, especially at the rate we had.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn_ifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Dawn_ifan

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and I am really pleased to see that you got value for money from our Sunday night deals.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future for your next stay in the area.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed one night for Gary Barlow concert - excellent location as could walk (10 minutes) to the concert. On arrival receptionist very efficient (with complimentary toiletries!) and we were settled in room quickly. Staff in bar very friendly and good value for money (large portions).

Room tidy and clean - even though next to A45 could not hear any traffic noise.

Breakfast was very good - lots of choice and plenty of food. It was busy in the morning as there was some kind of conference going on but we were seated quickly.

Friends used the gym and pool and they were very impressed with the facilities - especially as it was included in the price. Very nice atmosphere in the hotel - staff friendly and helpful and the hotel, although a bit dated, was clean, bright and spacious.

Overall the hotel is in an excellent location, free parking, and no problem finding the way to the NEC as clearly signposted and is on a clear path. On return after concert (10:45) bar was open and busy and we had a drink before we went up to bed!

Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Paul C,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope you enjoyed Gary Barlow, and I look forward to welcoming you back to us for your next concert at the LG Arena.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. The staffing levels here are second to none and everyone is helpful and cheerful.

You must eat in the hotels restaurant it is superb!!!

We had an issue with a blocked sink and a shower you have to run around in to get wet. The manager contacted me by return and assured me something would be done. This would not put us off staying here again.

The level of service is also superb because of the number of staff

Excellent breakfast choice probably £2 overpriced but again compensated by the staffing levels

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leggy1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Leggy1274,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on your stay with us, I am please you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your lovely comments about our staff team.

I will pass your comments on about our Main restaurant to our Restaurant Manager & Executive Head Chef. It's always lovely to hear that our guests enjoy our food offering, our team prepare all our meals freshly on site using modern cooking techniques.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for the Miranda do on the Friday night at the LG, reception staff friendly and gave us all the information we needed including the walk to the arena, took us a bit longer than we though it would, its all pavements and well lite so really safe for a couple of oldies, the room was clean and well equipped nice touch the gift bag with hand sanitiser, hand/body cream, facial wash and tissues all toiletries were in the bathroom, towels white and fluffy. we stayed two nights b&b, breakfast was fresh and hot with no shriveled food, we had a evening meal in the restaurant Saturday night all was good well presented and hot, all the staff from reception, bar, restaurant and greeter in the meeting place(breakfast room) all friendly, smiled and seemed happy in there jobs, will be thinking of stopping here when we fly out of Birmingham airport next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear daves,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased you had a good time, and I hope you enjoyed seeing Miranda at LG Arena.

We have recently upgraded our complimentary toiletry packs and replaced all the towels in the hotel with a higher quality thicker towel so I am pleased to get your feedback on both of these.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your next flight from Birmingham Airport, or event at LG Arena.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is an ideally situated hotel for Birmingham airport. Good small conference facilities. Rooms clean tidy and reasonably well equipped and insulated against aircraft noise. Food was good but unremarkable. However, of six people dining, they managed to get four of the meals wrong.
Corridors of this hotel which has been added to time and again are like rabbit warrens. Remember to ask for a room near the stairs/lift if you are infirm.

Room Tip: As mentioned, it can be a longh walk to some of the rooms, so if it is important specify a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Ewenmac,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us, and I am pleased you generally enjoyed your time at the hotel.

I have taken note of your comments about the food at the hotel and will bring your feedback back up with my Executive Head Chef, and we will ensure that your feedback is taken into account as we conduct our menu reviews, and my sincerest apologies if some of your orders were inaccurate. We are in the process of an infrastructure upgrade to ensure that this issue does not regularly occur.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Had to cancel a booking for 2 rooms for 1 night a mere 30 mins after making reservation via a booking site and hotel refused to not charge me the full price of both rooms as it was within their cancellation time frame.
I know businesses need policy's but punishing me for a 30 mins reservation when they can use the rooms and resell them with no problem seems harsh and unjust.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelakittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear angelakittycat,

Thank you for contacting us with regards to our cancellation policy.

As with every hotel we do operate a cancellation policy. We have a record of your cancellation, and having reviewed your instance, we would not have resold your bedrooms for that night, therefore we will have charged a cancellation charge in that instance.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with our policy. We review our policies regularly to ensure they are fair and in line with the rest of the industry to make sure we do not unfairly treat our guests with regards to our policies.

Yours faithfully,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bickenhill hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickenhill
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.4 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 8 Coventry Road, Bickenhill, Solihull B92 0EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Bickenhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bickenhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arden Hotel & Leisure Club is ideally located adjacent to Birmingham Airport and NEC, just a 15 minute walk to the Genting Arena and Resorts World Birmingham. Our 3* AA rated hotel boasts 216 Bedrooms, 12 Meeting & Event Rooms, and a full health club with indoor pool onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arden Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Hotel And Leisure
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club Bickenhill, UK - Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing