We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bickenhill
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here 4-6 sept as we were attending a funeral. on arriving after a long drive from south shields we didn't get their until 12.15am but were welcomed but a friendly guy who couldn't do enough. We stayed in the oak room which was very nice (rooms around us were undergoing renovation so corridors we a little cluttered but this didn't bother us) Once we put our bags in the room we went down to the bar which was actually closed but the opened it for us until we went to our rooms at 3am. breakfast in the morning was fantastic with a lot of choice . overall I would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: If travelling with elderly request a room close to the lifts as it is a large hotel and can seem a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Paul N,

Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay with us, I am really pleased you had a good stay with us, albeit under difficult circumstances.

Our refurbishment that has been completed throughout the summer on the bedrooms is coming to a close in the next couple of weeks, so hopefully on your return to us you will have an opportunity to sample some of our newer rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us for your next trip to the Birmingham/Solihull area.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    499
    366
    181
    113
See reviews for
235
438
65
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when visiting the NEC. Absoloutley brilliant hotel. The manager, Michael was an absolute credit to the business, he was so welcoming and ensured we had everything we needed for our stay. Will definitly be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheStevieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear TheStevieGee,

Thanks for the lovely comments, and I am pleased we met your needs!

I look forward to welcoming you both back to Birmingham in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have been to the Arden several times.most recently in july.the staff are always helpful especially the lady in reservations.as I normally request a room in a certain location.The breakfast is reasonably priced and very good.And although the weather was very hot the air cooling was adequate.The hotel is a bit dated but for the price paid it is good value for money.We had some business in London so parked our car at the hotel and walked to the Railway station which took 10 minutes.We will continue to use the Arden when using the Airport also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEE69712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear DEE69712,

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you have become so regular as a customer with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your next flight from Birmingham Airport.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Arden Hotel last May, 2013. We enjoyed our stay, room is well furnitured, nice view and quiet. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Only food at restaurant was not so splendid as we expected, that's why I put 4* for this. All is well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenyNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear QueenyNguyen

Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your stay with us at Arden Hotel, Solihull. I am pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I will pass your feedback onto our Head Chef with regards to your dinner, we try to keep our menu selections varied to ensure we are meeting all our guests needs, however I would be interested to hear some more detailed feedback on your stay if you have time.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future, and thanks again for the great feedback on your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Arden Hotel and the hotel's wedding co-ordinator, Richard, made all my dreams for the day come true. From the moment we first looked at the venue to the morning after the big day when we checked out of our room, the service was impeccable. Richard's attention to detail was incredible - the reception drinks were just as we requested - quirky candy striped straws with 'drink me' labels for our Mad Hatter's Tea Part theme. The conservatory looked wonderful - with our flowers in teapots, candles in birdcages, characters from Alice to match the seating plan, perfect setting for our Alice themed cake. The pianist played wonderfully, the food was incredible and the service was exemplary. Richard ensured the swift running of the speeches, the smooth transition from the conservatory to the evening suite and even sorted the fabulous DJ, Andy, who played all the tracks on our play list and others which were in keeping with the genres we had chosen. The bridal suite was wonderful and the breakfast delicious. I cannot believe how reasonably priced this wedding venue is for all you receive - I cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear MissDoherty,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your big day and the lovely pictures you posted too!

We have had some wonderful feedback on the day from your guests, and your feedback is very appreciated by myself, Richard and his team.

I hope to welcome you back to us in the near future for another great event.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night prior to an early flight out of Birmingham airport. The hotel is dated and old fashioned but the staff are friendly and the rooms were clean. I left my car here for 6 days which was included and the airport was a very short taxi ride away. Ideal location if you need a bed for an early flight or a concert at the NEC - would def use again if I flew from Birmingham.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hels_Bells_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Hels_Bells_1978

Thank you for your comments, and for taking the time to review the Arden Hotel Solihull.

I am pleased to let you know that our refurbishment of our bedrooms is underway and we will be refurbishing some of our public areas further in the near future.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us shortly.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights during the quilt festival, comfortable, clean, very close to the NEC, walking distance for the active, food was lovely and good value. Rooms are a little old fashioned in decor, but that's a little gripe, it definitely is more than fit for purpose, cheap, comfortable and close!
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eacht2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Arden Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear eacht2001,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.

We are in the process of refurbishing the bedrooms that are looking a little bit tired, we should have this process complete in the next few weeks, so next time you visit you will notice the difference.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickenhill
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
1,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 8 Coventry Road, Bickenhill, Solihull B92 0EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Bickenhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bickenhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arden Hotel & Leisure Club is ideally located adjacent to Birmingham Airport and NEC, just a 15 minute walk to the Genting Arena and Resorts World Birmingham. Our 3* AA rated hotel boasts 216 Bedrooms, 12 Meeting & Event Rooms, and a full health club with indoor pool onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arden Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Hotel And Leisure
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club Bickenhill, UK - Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing