We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Church Farm Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 3 Bickenhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've stayed a few times now at Church Farm for business trips to Birmingham.

It's very conveniently situated for the NEC or the Airport. A stone throw away from Birmingham or the great shopping at Solihull.

Every time i stayed i've had a very pleasant time. The rooms are always clean and comfortable and the family that run the B&B always go out of their way to help.

Great cooked breakfast in the morning tops off a good stay.

There isn't a bad thing to say about the place - 5 stars.

Will definitely book again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 148 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for the holistic show at the NEC. Stopped in one of the rooms inside the house, which was clean and comfortable. This is a cosy friendly family run B&B so it does feel a bit like home, Breakfast is seated all together but if you stopping there on your own as I did then thats quite nice to mix with other guests as you dont feel on your own, as I said cosy friendly family run B&B. Cooked breakfast was good, but did have to ask for more orange juice and butter, but this could have been because they were full that weekend and really busy.The B&B is very convenient for the NEC and the Train station, owners where more than happy to pick and drop me off at the NEC and station with no extra cost. I would revisit in the future

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Of course it is very convenient for the NEC and this is almost its only plus point. The room we had was in the converted stable block and was so narrow that the door to the shower/toilet only must missed the end of the bed. Moving around the room required considerable coordination with your room mate. It's not far from the airport and flights continue to about 1 am and start early in the morning. The church clock strikes every hour so unless you are a sound sleeper, take ear plugs.

The wash basin was too small to wash your face in properly and the shower was of the wet room variety which meant that all of the small bathroom soon got very wet.

Reviews say the breakfasts are good. We'd tend to say they were mixed. In most B&Bs there is a selection of cereals, often in plastic boxes. Not here - it's muesli, an apple or a banana to start. Having said that the cooked breakfast was good with really nice bacon and eggs. But service was sporadic - toast would arrive at odd times - no choice of brown or white. The coffee was weak and tasted cheap. The hosts were very pleasant and friendly and with a few changes it could have been much better.

We'll be looking elsewhere when we next go to the NEC.

Room Tip: They have rooms in the house - they may be better than the stable block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a concert at the NEC. The owners were friendly and gave us a lift. The b&b is very convenient for the NEC on a country lane. But when i read some of the reviews it's like we stayed in a different place.The room we stayed in was in the stable block, yes it was warm, but smelt so bad, the bed linen was stained, and there were slugs and some bugs crawling in the shower.Could have been cleaner. Breakfast was not so great, 8 people sitting round a big table so you could not reach the milk jug etc. We had to ask for sugar, orange juice and butter as they had run out. We would not stay here again, there are much better b&b's close by at the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lost047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jellytots75, Manager at Church Farm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

This review does not seem to reflect the opinion of the majority of people that stay with us. This particular room is in a converted stable block and occasionally the odd insect does get into the rooms. Have you never had a spider in the bath!!

The room is near to the stable block where there are horses, so is this the smell these guests are referring to. No one has ever complained about this matter before, maybe they are not used to country smells!!

The bed linen is washed every day and the rooms are thoroughly cleaned after every use.

Please read the positive reviews on tripadviser as most people are very happy with our accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Traditional farm with lovely and thoughtful owners. I arrived unannounced with a bike and was provided with accommodation straight away :) I would highly recommend this B&B due to their understanding of customers requirements and the service was excellent. The farm is warm clean and comfortable and i would revisit on future trips.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daleyparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights because it is really convenient for the Motorcycle Museum Conference Centre and the motorway but tucked quietly away. Had a comfortable stable room. Wi-fi and the usual facilities provided. The host who was very pleasant cooked an excellent breakfast. Went a mile down the road to The Boat Inn for a good meal at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked 2 nights, our accommodation was a lovely clean/warm compact converted stable room, with everything we needed for our stay.
Ideally not far from the NEC, and the generous offer of a lift there.
Our delicious full English breakfast was served in the main farm house.
Would book again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liverbird10liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickenhill
0.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.7 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
0.4 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#3 of 3 in Bickenhill
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Accommodation

Address: Church Lane, Bickenhill, Solihull B92 ODN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Bickenhill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bickenhill
Price Range: $105 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Farm Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Church Farm Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Farm Accommodation Bickenhill, UK - Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing