We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic chocolate box village...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Byeways

Country cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Country cottage
Street View Outside seating area under pergola perfect for afternoon tea or a glass of wine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Country cottage
Street View
Outside seating area under pergola perfect for afternoon tea or a glass of wine
country kitchen
Newly fitted kitchen with range cooker and mod cons.
Cosy lounge area
Loung and dining
King size bed in a soft grey and lime green colour scheme, original ceilings and elm floor boards.
Twin room
Bathroom
Super king bedroom
Garden
Garden tyre swing
large private garden for kids and dogs to run around in.
Breath taking view from the kitchen
Church of Saints Peter and Paul in Long Compton a short walk from the cottage.
few minutes drive: The Kings Men Stone Circle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Long Compton, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
HelenBett...
London
1 review
“Idyllic chocolate box village...”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Loved our stay in Byeways - ideal location for pottering in villages, going for bike rides/walks (we did both). Loads of National Trust places nearby - highly recommend Hidcote Gardens. Fabulous dinner at the pub (within walking distance). We had a BBQ (all equipment provided) in the gorgeous sunny back garden on our second night - perfect family catch up weekend, thanks so much! I think we may be back again next year....

(Only reason I've put '4' for rooms is that the upstairs single beds are a bit small for adults - perfect for kids/teenagers though I'm sure. Also, a huge bonus for us to escape London/work but just to note there is no phone signal so best to organise navigation in advance (!) - wifi provided though)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside play area
Liked least: Low rear entrance way - bumped my head but I very tall 184cm
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and quality furnishings
Liked least: Getting in and out with the car into a fast road around a blind bend.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Etype150
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Cottage with Great Character”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Byeways was a great place to stay for my family and Bruno !. It is ideally situated to visit Stratford-Upon-Avon and surrounding areas.

The property is maintained to a high standard and has a lovely area outside to relax in. There is a very good local pub within 10 mins walk which serves very nice food and it may be advisable to book at peak times.

The owners are very heplful should you be required to contact them.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Staying in a thatched cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdra C
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Absolutely Stunning cottage”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at Byeways cottage with my daughter and her family. The cottage is truly beautiful and the decor is designer standard but fits the cottage beautifully. The garden is worth the trip on its own - we spent some magical time out there and the tyre swing was a big hit with the grandchildren. Long Compton is a beautiful village and we can highly recommend the Red Lion for food. We will definitely be returning to Byeways!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden, the decor and stunning location.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor space, seating and play area for kids
Liked least: Have to remember the low ceiling beams
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, my husband has also bumped his head a few times, sorry about that.

best regards
Melody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the antiquity and lovely feel
Liked least: that we had to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2013
thanks so much for the great review. We have now supplied a drying rack.

Kind regards
Melody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing