We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely inn with great food”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 2 Long Compton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely inn with great food”
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We were looking for a night's accommodation for a last minute weekend trip to the Cotswolds, the Red Lion were really helpful. We had a nice room, modern, recently renovated by the looks of it with a nice big bathroom. The food in the evening was lovely, the service very attentive and roaring fires helped us feel better about the fact it was pouring down outside. Centally located, a good base at a decent price for exploring the Cotswolds.

  • Liked — Service and interiors
  • Disliked — Sunday breakfast finished at 9.30- a bit early
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ap82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    45
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
122
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2008

....apart from we loved this place so much we've booked to go back in Jan 09!

The location is perfect, the staff are welcoming, the food is superb, the atmosphere in the bar is friendly and the rooms have been tastefully decorated.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — Going home....
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We - 2 adults, 2 children & 2 dogs - loved this place. The rooms (#1 & #5) were clean and nicely decorated. When we arrived we were shown to our rooms directly even though the pub downstairs was full of happy eaters.

Room #1 is a bit small getting in the door, but otherwise the space is made up in the large bathroom. The only concern with room one is that it is located at the top of the stairs of the entry which was noisy due to late arrivals one evening - but I must say it quieted down quickly. Room #5 is up a few more stairs and you need to negotiate 2 doors.

The breakfast is super and the staff was very acommodating to those of use who didn't prefer black pudding. Fantastic selection that you choose from a selection sheet the night before. It made arriving for breakfast unrushed.

The food - breakfast, lunch & dinner as we had all 3 at some point - were wonderful. A very nice selection to choose from each time. The staff couldn't seem to do enough to make us feel welcome. Dogs are allowed in the restaurant and several locals did this. We did bring ours to breakfast one morning, and they placed us at a table with lots of room for the dogs as they are large.

The staff was also very helpful in helping us plan out our daily walks. I would definitely recommend this delightful place to anyone.

  • Liked — we liked it all
  • Disliked — being able to get the shower temp right
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just_journeying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

We stayed here for one night last September. We were three singles traveling together, so it wasn't easy to find hotels to accommodate us. Booking the hotel was easy and upon arrival, we were made to feel very welcome. The room was crisp and clean, the bathroom spacious, with nice toiletries. It's obvious the staff really care about the place! We had dinner in the pub/dining room at a table near the fire - cosy and warm. The food was delicious for both dinner and breakfast. We are planning a trip back this fall and intend to stay at the Red Lion again.

  • Liked — Cosy, clean, traditional feel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTracy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

The Red Lion is a lovely, quaint, very English Inn with rooms. The food is of an excellent standard, drinks are reasonably priced and the atmosphere is great, really cosy with the log fires and nooks and crannies. The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable. The Red Lion is a perfect retreat for a wonderfully relaxed break.

  • Liked — Quality and comfort
  • Disliked — Short beds
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeezeandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

A little gem set in the wonderful Cotswolds. An Inn with rooms best describes it. We stayed four nights. Friendly staff and management made us feel very welcome - nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom was comfortable and the ensuite bathroom well appointed, but remember this is a very old building, the original bult in 1748, so the ceilings are low - care must be exercised if you are 6 feet tall or more! The restaurant is charming and unpretentious, the food adventurous and satisfying. The Full English breakfast, cooked to order, is to die for. No bland button mushrooms here but the genuine tasty field variety.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Smart mix of old world charm and the contemporary.

The Red Lion has recently been re-furbished and the bedrooms were very clean and comfortable with tasteful modern decor and crisp white bed linen.

The food was excellent and the breakfast one of the best 'full English' I have tasted in a while.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and my small dog was made most welcome. It is such a refreshing change not to be given a substandard room because we have him with us.

Kay Clamp
Somerset

  • Liked — good food, well decorated, friendly service and pet friendly
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-Clamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Compton
5.2 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,876 reviews
7.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
960 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,080 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
13.1 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Main Street, Long Compton CV36 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Long Compton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Long Compton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion at Long Compton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing