We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 2 Long Compton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

stayed at the Red Lion Compton for an overnight stay on Friday 18th October. Very enjoyable and relaxing. We stayed in room 5 and experienced no road noise as previously mentioned in another review. Room very comfortable and all needs catered for. Food very good with local produce. staff very welcoming and knowlegable about the local area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Returned again for a weekend break after 2 years & still the same excellent high quality. Staff still remain as attentive as before & nothing seemed too much trouble for them- extremely welcoming. We stayed in room 3 again and contradictory to some reviews it faced the road but we were not disturbed by the road noise at all. Similarly we were above the bar but the noise did not disturb. If there was one thing I would change it would just be not having to choose your breakfast the night before as sometimes you would like something different. Only a minor remark but am guessing that the staff are that agreeable it wouldn't be a problem if you did change your mind. Will return again next year we hope.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Found this Inn on the internet, ideal for our annual few days away with friends. All looked good although the double rooms were real quite small. We had driven down from Scotland and arrived just after 2pm to be told we could not have any food, the chef had gone home. All we wanted was a sandwich, a chef is not needed to make that !! When we came down for dinner at 7.30, we were told the A La Carte menu had finished at 7pm!!!!
Why were we not told that when we arrived and many people have dinner after 7pm. Just a couple of points that I think would be easy to improve on.
Coco the chocolate lab was lovely.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Syb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Spent a Sunday evening here a couple of weeks ago and have mixed emotions. A poor choice of real ales was made up for by an enthusiastic bar person. A good food menu was let down by not a great meal but made up for by a team of excellent waiting staff. All in all it was an ok but not great time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This lovely pub with rooms made a perfect stopover for us on the way to a family do. We drove up after work on a Friday, arriving mid-evening feeling weary and hungry. The friendly staff and excellent food soon sorted us out!
The bedroom decor was fresh and modern (sort of New England style) and the restaurant had a relaxing ambiance with candles and art and tasty food. Would definitely stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiggiewiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Driving from London to Warwickshire we stopped at this Inn for dinner. A delightful surprise. It is not pub food, rather it is the best of the Cotswolds fresh produce cooked to perfection. Very private, as the tables are scattered in the nooks and crannies of this ancient Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank davidwelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The managers and staff are fantastique. Good location for walks and to visit all the nice paces in the Cotswold. Stay for dinner ! On the room you find a Cotswold brochure with all the latest information.

Room Tip: There are different rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadedelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Compton
12.8 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
752 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,151 reviews
5.2 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
956 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
671 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Main Street, Long Compton CV36 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Long Compton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Long Compton
Price Range: $124 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion at Long Compton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing