We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vale Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Vale Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hensol
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I recently held an event at the vale hotel which was organised by the events team; I would like to say a special thanks to Jodie who made the whole experience enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble for her, I will definitely be using them again for future events.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_rees, General Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear jeffrey w

Thank you for your review and kind comments, I will ensure you thanks are passed onto Jodie our Assistant Events Manager. We will of course look forward to you booking your next event with us.

Many thanks

Andrew Rees
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    371
    197
    96
    50
See reviews for
241
453
28
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Went to the Vale this weekend for my husband's 50th birthday with our sons. They played 2 rounds of golf and we used the leisure facilities and had 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast. The facilities are very good and the rooms were large and well equipped although a fridge would be nice. I thought the communal areas were a little tatty and the feel is a little souless and the pool area a little tired but the gym very good. Residents could be given dressing gowns and slippers, you have to have a 55 minute treatment before they lend them. However, the food was excellent with a generous dinner allowance on a package and the staff in the restaurant were very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a good aspect, the preference would be if you wanted to look at the front or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_rees, General Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear gcr23

Thank you for choosing the Vale Resort to celebrate your husband’s 50th Birthday, I was delighted to hear you all enjoyed your stay. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks

Andrew Rees
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had an incredible two night weekend stay. The staff and services offered were excellent. With beautiful views, delicious food and fantastic facilites. Will definetely stay again without a doubt. Extremely happy

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harriet96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_rees, General Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear harriet96

Thank you for the great review. Hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

Andrew Rees
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I came to the Vale hotel for a birthday weekend and I was extremely impressed!
My weekend was made up of a spa treatment (back and shoulder massage), dinner in the restaurant and then afternoon tea the next day.
The spa was very impressive and the relaxation beds... Amazing! I could have stayed there all day!
The dinner in the restaurant was lovely, not too busy which is just how I like it. Nothing compared to breakfast which was very busy and hectic! we had a wait to be seated, but didn't mind because we could see the staff were trying to accommodate us as best as possible.
And afternoon tea... Wow! Such good value for money! The amount of food you get for the price is great. Compared to other hotels which are double the money for half the food! They could do with putting the price up a bit!
The bedroom I stayed in was lovely, great views and comfy beds! Only down side was the noise I could hear from the function going on, but it didn't go on for too long, so I didn't mind too much.
The staff are a credit to the hotel, everyone I walked past smiled and said hello. A lovely atmosphere!

The only down side is that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mag12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_rees, General Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Mag12345678

Thank you for taking the time to review the Vale Resort. I am pleased you enjoyed your birthday weekend and had a relaxing time in the Spa. Thank you for your kind comments on the friendliness of our staff, this is much appreciated and will be passed on.

Don’t wait until your next birthday before returning!

Many thanks

Andrew Rees
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have just had another fabulous three weeks at the Vale Resort. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well presented. The new menu is brilliant. I cannot fault this hotel. I have been coming here for over 8 years, spending up to 20 weeks a year here and I have never had a complaint.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - some bigger than others, but ask for a large room when the hotel is not too b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_rees, General Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Malcolm R

I would like to thank you for your valued custom, I am so pleased you still enjoy staying with us.
We have had great feedback on our new menu in the Vale Grill, glad you enjoyed.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, and hopefully for many years to come!

Many thanks

Andrew Rees
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed for two nights over the weekend in February and had a brilliant time from check in to check out. We really got more than our money's worth!! The room was fabulous, clean, spacious and had all we needed. The bath was huge! Staff were friendly and helpful and knew what we wanted without us having to ask. We had massages and facials in the spa, which is a lovely place to spend a few hours relaxing and using the pool. Food was great, no messing around on the breakfast buffet which had the works and dinner was exceptional. Didn't use the gym but had a look and it seemed pretty slick as you'd expect since the wales rugby team and the Cardiff blues frequent this place. Had a walk around the beautiful grounds and down to The Castle which they've turned into a spectacular wedding venue. These guys really know what they're doing. We had a great time and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I think our room was 240, it had a little terrace over looking the rear of the hotel grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monga500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_rees, General Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Monga500

Thank you for such a great review. Lovely to hear you had a nice relaxing stay and enjoyed the food.
Hensol Castle is a 17th Century Castle in the grounds of the Vale Resort, as you say it is a spectacular venue for a wedding or banquet alike. The setting is perfect and the marquee in the central courtyard takes your breath away.
We would of course be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks

Andrew Rees
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband booked a 1 night spa stay at the vale resort as a birthday surprise and what a fantastic surprise it was! Staff were friendly and helpful, with a smile and greeting when you passed them in the corridor. The room was spacious and clean. The spa experience was fantastic, only wish I had more time to experience a few more of the treatments! The food in the grill was lovely - exactly what you would expect from a resort of this quality, and the waitress who served us (can't remember her name) was fantastic. Huge selection for breakfast! A great experience that I can't wait to repeat soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkerRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_rees, General Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear ParkerRed

Thank you for your review, I’m pleased you enjoyed your surprise Spa stay and experience here. It is always good to read nice reviews regarding our friendly staff, this is much appreciated by us all.
Glad you want to return soon, we can’t wait to welcome to back.

Many thanks

Andrew Rees
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hensol
1.5 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
9.4 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
8.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
8.0 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale Resort

Property: Vale Resort
Address: Hensol Park, Hensol CF72 8JY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Hensol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hensol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vale Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vale Resort is one of Wales' favourite four-star Resorts. Set in over 650 acres of beautiful countryside, the Resort is home to a luxuriously appointed 143 bedroom hotel, Wales' largest spa, two championship golf courses and an award-winning AA rosette restaurant. Leisure facilities are world-class and provide guests with the opportunity to work-out, relax with a swim or join in one of our many fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Hotel Hensol
Vale Resort Hensol
Vale Of Glamorgan Hotel
Vale Resort Wales/Hensol, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing