We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vale Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bear Hotel(Cowbridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scotts Hotel(Beddau)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greendown Inn Hotel(Saint Georges-super-Ely)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,679)
Filter reviews
1,679 results
Traveler rating
849
436
226
110
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
436
226
110
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursethe grillleisure facilitiesspa breakhensol castlewelsh rugby teamevening mealcocktail barpro shopgreat golfdriving rangechanging roomsafternoon teabar areagolf clubsteam roomexcellent facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,213 - 1,218 of 1,679 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Fantastic, 14 people in our group Christmas eve til New Year, age range 2 1/2 to over 65, all catered for really well, great food, clean suite, lovely staff, will definitely return. First Christmas away from home, won't be the last.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Recently stayed here and was very happy with the room it's was spotless and warm as well as being very big as is the ensuite,big comfy bed also breakfast was good as was the friendly staff,really great gym,pool,sauna and huge pool,would defo stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked Xmas lunch on the big day for 5 of us, age range 18-70 and it was the best Xmas lunch for many a year.
Lunch booked at 2.30 and on arrival there was champagne reception (as designated driver it was juice for me) which was lovely.
The table settings were very pretty.
The food was divine and although we all had different there was no issues with any of it. The roast Beef was sensational.
The biggest plus was the staff who hopfully got a few extra quid for working. There was no rushing between courses and they were cheery and extremly helpfull.
I will definately be booking again for this Xmas.
Thankyou
Beth,Cath,Gwen,Rhys and Pam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muchbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Arrived for check in at 3pm was told by a receptionist who seemed like she didn't want to be there that was room wasn't ready, couldn't tell when the room would be ready, other people in reception in the same situation why say check in is that time if the rooms are not ready...Room was lovely and clean once checked in, had to ask the same receptionist where breakfast was served next morning i had to ask, i was not advised. Ordered room service in the night very quick and hot not a lot of choice on the menu but what i did order was nice! Bed is two single beds pushed together mattress seemed to be wearing you could feel the springs starting to wear really not what i expected All the staff i encountered just seemed to find everything a chore not what i expected from a 4*.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo19772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for just the one night and that was enough! The hotel grounds look lovely and there is plenty of parking. The reception area is big but service slow. Our room wasn't quite ready but we left our bags with the concierge whilst we went off to the spa.
Interestingly, the spa isn't quite 'part of' the hotel and they do not provide robes etc unless you have booked more than a hours treatments (as there was only availability for 1/2 hour each we were left sitting around the spa reception/shop/cafe in our coats!). The pool is in a different place so you can't simply use the pool and spa at the same time - very strange!
Once our room was ready it was very spacious and clean all be it a little tired in places. It was also freezing! You need to contact reception to have the room temperature changed and after finally getting through by phone, the temperature was changed.
There was no water or minibar in the room - something you would expect from a 4*.
In the evening we visited the Champagne bar which was also freezing! Bearing in mind it is December and Christmas time you would have thought that they would have the hotel cosy and welcoming.
The restaurant was fully booked when we checked in so a bar meal was our only option - the menu is pretty limited and the room has a sports bar feel.
Breakfast the next morning was a joke. The queue was really long and it took them some time to get us seated. The self service looks good but the food was all cold, bacon fatty, toaster either warmed the bread or burnt it and the pastries weren't fantastic. We were offered tea or coffee but when our tea came it had been made with cold water! Off it went and another was requested. This time it was hot but really, it's not difficult to get right.

All in all we were very disappointed with our stay and it put a damper on the last part of our holiday. We won't be returning I'm afraid.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank holidaybabe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews