We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Hotel !!!!”
Review of Vale Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vale Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hensol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Living only ten minutes away from this hotel we tend to forget that we have a World Class Hotel & Spa right on our doorstep.

My recent stay was in conjunction with a corporate hospitality sporting Dinner arranged by MBN.

The hotel arranged the rooms for all our attendees with just one call.

The rooms were excellent as was the meet and greet by the reception staff.

The Salamanza Bar provided a relaxed atmosphere to meet our guests – Reasonably priced too!!

The food provided at the function was exceptional despite catering for over 150 people.
After a good night we all convened for an excellent breakfast before giving our farewells...

This is a great hotel and very worthy of a visit if in the area....

Room Tip: First Floor Rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,364 - 1,370 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

2 days business.
Private dining evening one. Food okay, forgot 1 meal, we waited but had to eat as it was going cold. Service was good, selection of wines very good.
Evening two, Xmas party night, Abba ( welsh version) good evening, good laugh, food for 200 peeps always a challenge.
Rooms were okay, nothing special.
Summary was the 4 stars are given for the facilities, golf spa etc not the food or hotel standard.
I would not book a weekend for the wife and I, many better places available.

Room Tip: Exec room a must, even if not value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a spa & stay break. We arrived at the spa on a Sunday and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The spa facilities were fantastic, and we especially enjoyed relaxing on the floatation beds. We had purchased extra treatments to add to the massages we had as part of our package, and we were very pleased with them. The therapists at the spa are very professional and friendly.
Following our treatments we were treated to a lovely afternoon tea which we hadn't expected.

Our hotel room was lovely and spacious, and spotlessly clean. We had gorgeous views looking out onto the golf course. Our only complaint would be the wake-up call from the fire alarm at 5am!! It scared the life out of us! Not sure how that happened.

The following morning we enjoyed a tasty welsh breakfast, the food was very nice and the scrambled eggs were the nicest we have tasted!! There was also plenty of choice.

This is the second time I have stayed at the Vale Resort and the third time to visit the spa (first time since its refurbishment however), and we had a fantastic time and will most definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L-osborne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel itself is in a great location, not too close to any busy roads and it has nice views. The Vale is a pleasant looking place, with nice spa and leisure facilities.
The room itself was spacious and clean, although the double bed we had booked was in fact two singles bolted together. Another downside was that the room temperature is controlled by the staff at reception. It was cold in the room, so we had to phone a few times to alter the air conditioning rather than being able to do it ourselves.
My partner had a massage in the spa, this was to a very good standard and she was pleased with it.
The reception staff were less than helpful, I was told that the room was guaranteed to be ready by 3pm, it wasn't ready. It took one of the managers to step in and tell the receptionist that she could just put me in another room.
In the morning we had breakfast at the hotel, this was below the standard that I would have expected. The eggs were revolting, the coffee was like mud and the tea was like coffee. The milk was warm for the cereal, not what you would expect.
Overall it is a nice enough hotel, as I had it on a deal it was ok, however if I had paid full price I wouldn't be happy.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

What a terrific place! Wonderful rooms, food was excellent and the golf although slow (due to Boys W-end) was challenging but great. Staff were friendly ,helpful and very pleasant. Can't wait for our next years trip!!! Might even do a few.... we didn't have time to do Spa treatments but that wasn't our priority. The beds were very comfortable ,decor to my taste, couldn't fault it.
down side was we missed the celebs that were there the day before....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having booked my Daughter and myself in for a luxury Spa day and Luxury overnight accommodation last weekend, we were nothing but dissapointed. On arrival we were informed by a less than enthusiastic Spa Receptionist, that we were not entitled to lunch at the Spa as we did not arrive at 9.30 for the complete day. Despite the fact that I had phoned previously to clarify this and let them know that we would not arrive until around 11.30am, totally in time as the treatments were not until 4pm anyway. However we did not want to start the day badly, so just went along with the suggestion that we had to use the Hotel Bar / Restaurant if we wanted lunch. This meant dressing after using the Spa and then undressing again for our treatments, rather than ordering from the Spa and eating in their Cafe as everybody else seemed to do. We were shown the facilities by a Newstarter, who although very sweet did not know her way around and did not even comb her hair that day. Eventually after circling for a while we found everything. The leasure area was busy with a water aerobics class, so not very relaxing and the sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi were occupied by rather loud regulars, so no relaxation there. The general facilities were not looked after at all, the toilets ran out of paper half way through the day, there was soggy tissue paper in the steamroom and the hand rail down tot he pool area was rusty. The water jugs in the Spa area were constantly empty and the Spa was not that busy. Our lunch was forgettable and expensive, the only highlight were the treatments which were nice, although I had to change rooms after my full body massage and before my facial ( by the way don't have an equilibrium touch facial as it ain't no facial ) it was a very pleasant massage until the gilr pulled my hair, this is apaprently part of the treatment, but not nice. There was no cleansing, exfoliating or soothing the eyes, it was just an oily 30 min. massage.
After that we decided we did not want to go to the Restaurant that evening, but dine in our up-graded to an Executive suit ( at the cost of £60 extra for chocolates and a bottle of wine ) the room was no different from a Premier Inn, but cost the earth and had a rusty balcony, yipheee. The chocolates were there, but the wine had to be asked for, we also adressed the issue of room service, as we had booked with Last minute a complete package including a £30 per person food allowance in the Restaurant. We asked Reception to cancel the table, which we had to double check again, we were not given any information for the hotel on checking in, neither were we told where and at what times breakfast was served. All in all a rather minimalistic service.
Having slep on it and reviewing our documentation and having received a hotel bill during the night, pushed under the door ( for everything we had already paid for on last minute ) we decided to query this the following morning. To be fair once we explained everything the Receptionist ( a different one ) was very good. She confirmed that they had all the information on their record including the Spa lunch and also said that the Spa reception should have double checked with them. She called the Spa Manager and gave us her name just in case we did not get a refund. We did go back to the Spa and saw the Spa Manager, who again was very good and there was no problem with a refund. Sadly overall the experience was not worth the hundreds of pounds we did spend there and we will certainly not return. So anybody wanting to pamper themselves, go somewhere else !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fitzies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in the Vale Hotel and Spa on a break booked for us. Having experienced it I would not have book it again. Some aspects of the hotel are excellent but it is very patchy for its 5 star rating. I would have to echo the other comments made by other trip advisers reviews.
The setting in the vale of glamorgan is superb and if you have a car there is plenty to visit and Cardiff is nearby. If you like us foolishly did not hire a car it a good 25 pound cab ride to Cardiff. Without a car you are stuck in the resort and I think the description should make this clearer. The Larnach vineyard (yes welsh wine and very nice it is too) is a ten minute walk away though and also has a nice albeit small bar and restaurent. You will need to book and we had not so had to make do with some wine tasting in the bar!
The room sizes are spacious and have some nice features like balconies but the duvets are a bit thin for November, no bath robes are supplied and the TV only has freeview. Room service is bit limited but food is fresh. £5 delivery charge is bit excessive as does £12 for breakfast
The double room has two single mattresses pushed together and hard beds which did not make for a good nights sleep. There seemed to be no way to turn up the heating.
The bar area lets the resort down. The champagne bar has some nice cocktails but not very many champagnes by the glass (3) and opens onto the reception and so got very chilly. It also lacked atmosphere and felt like an aiport lounge. You could only get bar snacks in the bar. The "grill" next door seemed to have nice food but lacked ambience and was pricey. The other bar was like a pub with rugby on the TV and not very relaxing.
The treatments were ok but seemed a bit rushed and it was organised around the hen nights that supply most of the business. The best bit was the relaxation beds with soft lighting area but due to bad design this was in effect a corridor between different areas which tended to make it less relaxing than it could be. The pool and jacuzzi were too small to use and the pool has childrens swimming lessons when we wanted to us it (if you have kids the the resort does seem to have good facilities for them).
The staff were very friendly and helpful but various minor things went wrong e.g. not getting the paper we ordered and they seemed confused and disorganised at checkout times.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back which overlook the generator and make sure you are not next to a hen night r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_rees, General Manager at Vale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Stephen956,

Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding our staff, which we always appreciate.

I feel I should address just a few points made by yourself. We are actually a 4* Resort not 5. As a 4* bath robes are supplied to our upgraded rooms. We have very recently upgraded our TV system to be the current 40" LED flat screens in the rooms. Which as you mention do have 48 television channel which include a mixture of freeview and Sky Sports, in addition to 26 radio stations.

The Vale Bar is actually a sports bar attached to the leisure complex and as such sports such as rugby are shown on the televisions. We are also home to the WRU and like to support the team. Our Salamanza Bar does only have snacks available as it is a little more sophisticated and as you mention food is available in 3 other outlets plus room service.

Regarding our newly refurbished Spa, we have tried to cover everyone’s needs for quiet time, one being our softly lit relaxation section with warm water beds leading through to our deep sleep zone.

I am sorry if you found the pool and jacuzzi too small to use, the pool is actually 20M long and does have adult only swim times.

Best regards

Andrew Rees
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hensol
1.5 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
3.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
573 reviews
6.3 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 74 in Cardiff
3,392 reviews
5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
8.6 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale Resort

Address: Hensol Park, Hensol CF72 8JY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Hensol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hensol
Price Range: $91 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vale Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vale Resort is one of Wales' favourite four-star Resorts. Set in over 650 acres of beautiful countryside, the Resort is home to a luxuriously appointed 143 bedroom hotel, Wales' largest spa, two championship golf courses and an award-winning AA rosette restaurant. Leisure facilities are world-class and provide guests with the opportunity to work-out, relax with a swim or join in one of our many fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Vale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Hotel Hensol
Vale Resort Hensol
Vale Of Glamorgan Hotel
Vale Resort Wales/Hensol, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing