We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”

Review of Hafod Lodge

Front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view
High View of Whole Property Side View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Front view
High View of Whole Property
Side View
Hot Tub & Heated Pool Area
Back of the Property
Pool at Night
View of Back at Night
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2 (Purple)
Bedroom 3 (Blue)
Bedroom 4 (Green)
Upstairs Bathroom
Downstairs Bathroom
Lounge
Lounge (OtherSide)
Kitchen
Kitchen Leading onto Patio Area
Hallway
Conservatory
Conservatory (OtherSide)
Bunk Room Upstairs Bed
Bunk Room
Bunk Room
Bunk Room Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 25
Hensol, Vale of Glamorgan, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CATHYSMIT...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Today with sad face we had to leave the lodge after a fantastic 4 days. 6 adults 1 child and 1 baby we all loved the setting esp the castle grounds were awesome too. The pool and jacuzzi were perfect rain or shine and the lodge was roomy totally private and mary was there whenever we had a problem. The lights inside and out were playing up come on the one day and off the next but they didnt cause a problem. The only downfall were the amount of cobwebs everywhere having teenage girls i had to sweep away the cobwebs and put out the spiders that took me all afternoon before theyd venture into the rooms.and the other con was the fact that we had to leave.thank you to mary and her team for a brill week and we willdefinately be booking up again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire W
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is an excellent place to stay for big groups of friends and family! It's definitely a party house and we all can't wait to book again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mal_Grass...
Sandown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal Family house away from home”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed at Hafod Lodge for my daughter's wedding last weekend. The lodge is perfect for a family get together, and would definitely book again. Unfortunately, the weather was terrible, but did not stop men and children using the pool and jazuzzi.

Unfortunately, could not get outside lights working, and then inside lights went as well. Rang up to sort out, but still not lights in kitchen for second/third night.

The overall appearance/décor is superb, but some of the rooms bathroom areas are very tired and in need of a refurb. Overall, a fantastic house for family get together.

Would book again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Big family kitchen table
Liked least: Flaking walls and ceilings and inadequate lighting
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenaghan7...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good we've booked again!”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Second year running we have been to Hafod Lodge. We were a party of 4 adults and 9 children and it is absolutely perfect for us. Mary is always on the other end of the phone if we need her.
We've already booked for next August!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose A
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent house for a girly hen do!”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Hafod Lodge for my sister's hen do. We were a group of 16 so the large house and bunk room were perfectly suited to our needs.

The hot tub and swimming pool were a real hit and really made the weekend for us. We stayed in on the Saturday night and had a BBQ and enjoyed the house and then went out on the Saturday night for a fabulous meal at Cardiff Bay followed by a nightclub in the city, but all we could think about was returning to the house and the hot tub!!

The house is really easy to access - it's about 5-10 mins away once you've exited the M4. We booked a mini bus for our night out, which only took about 20 mins each way.

I should also mention the beautiful setting of the house. It's very quiet and secluded and surrounded by trees. There's a lovely vineyard down the road and Hensol Castle so there are lots of lovely walks if that's something you enjoy.

I'd def recommend this house for groups of friends or families and would happily stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: The oven really didn't work very well
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhiannon8...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect house to unwind and relax in style!”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were so pleased with this house that we cannot wait to book again. Mary, our host, welcomed us in and showed us around, explaining about the use of the facilities. The swimming pool was used a lot as it is heated so it was lovely. There is so much room and everything you could ask for was provided. The hot tub was the ultimate in luxury and we all used that during our stay. There is lots of seating area and tables and chairs in the huge garden. The beds are so comfortable and the whole house is decorated beautifully. We could not thank Mary and her staff enough for the amazing break away we had. We had a 3 year and two toddlers and everyone was so happy and relaxed. We'll see you soon!
Rhiannon and friends xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub, pool and the house.
Liked least: Lack of Wifi for some guests.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing