We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helmsdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jutta`s Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Helmsdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My Wife, and two teen age sons spotted Jutta's B & B as we drove on the road leading to John O'Groats, nearly the northernmost point in Scotland. It was on the road but it looked charming and had a wonderful view of the water. We went inside and met Bernard, who runs the B & B with his wife and child. They are a German couple but speak English wonderfully and we found them delightful and interesting facts about where to go in the area, ie, hikes, the old steps that lead to a former whaling an fishing launch.

Bernard, whom we dealt with more, was charming with a great sense of humor. Our two teenage boys loved the accommodations as did we. I think they particularly loved the selection of movies and dvd player that Bernard has available in the two rooms he lets out. But it was the homey charm that they trully loved. We walked across the road and down to the coastline - which is gorgeous, and one of the few places you can gain access to the water along the Eastern coast. Bernard mentioned that students and researchers often go there in search of fossils.

We really enjoyed out stay with Bernard and his family. Though the B & B is right alongside the road it truly is charming. There was no traffic noise whatsoever as it's an old stone B & B with thick walls. Also - there's a lovely heater in the rooms!! What a plus!! The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was great! If you're traveling north on the road to John O'Groats, or anywhere on the Eastern coast in Northern Scotland, do stop in Juttas's B&B for a stay. It's delightful.

Room Tip: Thought the B & B is right alongside the road it truly is charming. There was no traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 27 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Jutta's B&B in September this year and it was great. The views from the rooms are great (sea view) and the rooms were clean and comfortable! Our hosts were very helpful and gave us advice on restaurants and sights in the area. Breakfast was plenty (we even got a vegetarian option). We'd love to stay there again! We'd definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wini423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great stay
Rooms are spotless
Right by a main road but you would never know once you are in the rooms

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j55axa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank alm-ollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FRAMAU1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jutta`s Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jutta`s Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Portgower, Helmsdale KW8 6HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Helmsdale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsdale
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms ensuite. All rooms with seaviews. All rooms with LCD-Freeview-TV and DVD-Player.All rooms ensuite. All rooms with seaviews. All rooms with LCD-Freeview-TV and DVD-Player.From 25.oo Pounds per person per night incl. breakfast.German and english speaking.WIFI Internet !Children are welcome.Dogs are welcome.Full english breakfast or continental breakfast or vegetarian breakfast. 200 Metres to the beach, 20 metres to the Highlands. A paradise for walkers and cyclists.Gold panning possible in Kildonan (8 Miles), equipment available.Salmon fishing in the Helmsdale River. Collecting fossils at the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jutta`s Bed & Breakfast Helmsdale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing