We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky Cafe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mirage

La Mirage
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Helmsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saratoga Springs NY
Level Contributor
217 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quirky Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our B&B hosts who made a reservation for us. We questioned the need for a Tuesday night reservation for a restaurant in the tiny town of Helmsdale, but as it turned out it was very busy.

The F&C was served in large portions and was good and fresh, with healthy sides of peas and a salad. The décor is quite funky with a "leg lamp" right out of "A Christmas Story" and other decorations that make it just a fun place to be. Great value and the owners/servers are quite cheery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 22man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    88
    31
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good value good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went with family which included a teenager and two much younger children. The waitress was very patient and great with the young ones. The fish was as ever - fresh, well cooked and in sizes to suit every appetite - and the chips were good too. Puddings were a delight, the teenager was the envy of us all being able to eat a pancake after the fish and chips. No wonder we always eat here when we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Food is WoW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal here for 4 of us and I had the large haddock meal and what a meal. Two pieces of fish and loads of chips and a very nice salad. So much food it was lovely. Kids meal was very good as well

We had one Meringue and we had 4 spoons and we was full and no room for anymore once it was all gone. What I'm saying is a lot of food for the money i paid. 10/10 can't say anymore.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidandJane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A GREAT MEAL AND A MIRAGE DESSERT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am well overdue in reviewing La Mirage. The founder of the restaurant would be delighted to know that her 'entertainment with food' continues.

Practicalities first: Entry is from the street at one level. The restaurant is on split levels. The majority of tables appear to be on the lower level. The Restroom/W.C is on this level and is reached via two wide doors. As this restaurant is very popular with the locals, and by 'local' I mean with the population of the north of Scotland, La Mirage gets very busy. I strongly advise a reservation. The staff will always try to accommodate customers, sometimes, though, it is just not possible.

La Mirage has a take-away service next door to the restaurant. It, too, can be busy, but, it's worth the wait.

For quenching thirst, you can choose from a variety of soft drinks, a range of teas and for an after dinner drink there's a nice smooth coffee in a traditional press. Cafetieres for two are a generous size. If your tipple is wine, La Mirage has a wine list to choose from.

You'll get the very best fish dinners. Be warned, ask for a SMALL fish supper from the menu, if you do not want two large pieces of fish to eat. There were choices of Cod, Haddock, Sole and the special dish of the day when I was there, was Salmon steak, with chips and peas, (whole or mushy). Also a Salmon salad was added to the salad choices. The fish can be ordered with a batter and fried, or, crumbed and grilled. You could try the mixed sea food platter, there's no better place to try one.

There's a selection of steaks and chicken dishes on the menu and as mentioned, salads, too. An alternative to chips is a baked potato; a basic salad can replace the peas. The many snacks on offer are useful meal alternatives. Vegetarian meal options are available, including omelettes and veggie burgers.

There is Capaldi's ice cream made by Gows, (from a nearby village), ice cream in pineapples and coconut shells, but, if you want to finish off your meal with a real flourish, be adventurous and have the the chocolate pudding or, one of the truly magnificent home made meringues. Mine raised gasps from other customers as well as from me!

The staff were really helpful, as busy as they were, they gave time to customers to assist with their meal choices.

GO EAT AT LA MIRAGE AND ENJOY!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZAC_ZACL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best scampi and chips ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Went in with some of my family and I ordered scampi and chips and it was really good no grease on the plate at all

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mirage also viewed

Helmsdale, Caithness and Sutherland
Helmsdale, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Helmsdale, Caithness and Sutherland
Helmsdale, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Golspie, Caithness and Sutherland
Brora, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to La Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing