We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Helmsdale Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helmsdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Helmsdale Hostel
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I used this hostel for the first 2 days of my charity bike ride, the hostel was excellent value clean and kitchen facilities were impeccable very friendly made the start to trip wonderful and there are nice places to eat out also.Thanks to the staff

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Well looked after hostel with friendly and helpful staff. Extremely clean throughout and very comfortable. Made very welcome after a long and weary days cycling and pleased to find no bunk beds. Huge lounge area with cosy log burning fire.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Would highly recommend this traditional hostel. it is well equipped and extremely clean with a friendly host who was very knowledgeable of the local area and recommended loads of interesting places to visit
i stayed at the hostel for three nights and enjoyed a large burning stove to read by each night extremely relaxing. ideal for a trip to orkney too. i will be back and would recommended to others too.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99bicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Had an overnight stay here on the way up to Orkney. The hostel is a converted old school gym which used to be run by SYHA and has a nice wood-panelled high-ceiling atmosphere. We stayed in the family room which was very comfy , spotlessly clean and had a great shower. The open plan kitchen lounge has all you would need but if you want to eat out then La Mirage in the village is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grampian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We were greeted very warmly and welcomed to the hostel. The log burner in the living area was great and the selection of books also good.

Stayed at a few hostel en route to John O'Groats and this was the best. Location perfect and all facilities clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adorey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

This was my last stop on my Land's End John O'Groats ride in 2008. With only 60 miles of road left, this is the only form of accommodation for the budget range. There weren't too many guests staying here in Spet, so I had the fantastic place to myself.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoshi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matteosandona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Helmsdale Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helmsdale Hostel

Address: Stafford Street, Helmsdale KW8 6JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Helmsdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Helmsdale
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Helmsdale Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing