We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Vere Horsley Estate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Thatchers Hotel(Leatherhead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cobham(Cobham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,100)
Filter reviews
1,100 results
Traveler rating
246
336
277
139
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
336
277
139
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorsley parkconference hotelfree tea and coffeeswimming poolbuffet styletraining coursebeautiful groundsthe main hoteltwo night staywedding venuefull englishyogurtchapelguildford
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 1,100 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We usually ask for a quiet room and always seem to get one. The beds are comfy with clean white bedding and the towels are fresh and fluffy. We book when there are offers on, seem to find a reasonable room rate and feel do exceptionally well for what we pay. The breakfast is buffet style with a reasonable choice with the chef cooking delicious omelettes on request.
The rooms are warm but as they are thermostatically controlled it's possible to adjust the temperature. The wardrobe storage area was small but as we weren't "dressing up" the space was adequate.

The staff are polite friendly and helpful.
This particular De Vere hotel has areas where you can relax and help yourself to tea, coffee hot chocolate etc.
On this occassion we didn't use the pool area as we were meeting up with family and were extremely busy.
The grounds are beautiful and worth a stroll round and we'll return again. I rate it as a 3 star which is fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Gail
Thank you for your recent review and I hope you enjoyed your overall trip, including the visit to RHS Wisley Gardens, they are magnificent. Only 3 stars ??
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Horsley Park De Vere hotel is located in a superb country parkland setting, making for very pleasant walks. The main building is a former stately home and looks beautiful for weddngs. Our room was in the conference centre area and was well situated and very quiet at night. Although modern and well equipped, the room was rather small, not a big problem in itself, but the wardrobe opened on to the bedside cabinet and this made it very awkward to reach into. It would have been ok for one night, but we stayed for three nights and it was irksome.
The restaurant served a good choice of food on a buffet basis and everything we tried was delicious, so that we did not bother looking elsewhere for an evening meal. Staff were helpful and informative, and the atmosphere in the restaurant was lively yet relaxing. Well done to the restaurant staff!
We swam twice in the hotel pool. This was of a relatively large size for a hotel and was clean and very pleasant. So it was annoying that the changing rooms were tiny and only adequate for one person at a time. I have never experienced such a minuscule area for getting changed and wonder why there was a need to be so penny-pinching when the pool itself is quite lavish.
Overall, a good hotel but partially spoilt by some small but annoying issues. Have stayed in much better hotels for less money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H9105ULelaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Elaine
Many thanks for a great review - I have to agree with you and if I could make the changing areas more extensive I certainly would.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Five of us stayed here for three nights. Bride gave us an indication of price with the invitation. We felt it expensive and looked to hire a house but no house was available. We booked as there really wasn't an alternative. Rooms were smallish and hot as previously reported and really not suited for a three day stay- maybe ok for a conference but not with all the wedding outfit paraphernalia and in addition the guys had full highland dress. There was only a tiny wardrobe in each room and that was filled by an ironing board. Upon arrival my daughter noticed that the shower in her room wasn't working and reported it to reception. Later that evening she was told it was fixed. Morning of wedding arrived and it wasn't. Reception offered them an alternative room but they had settled and unpacked they were then offered the use of any empty room for showering. That suited them better. my daughter duly took all her nice wedding toiletries to the other room showered and left the toiletries there for her partner who was going along to shower next. Imagine her upset when he went and came back and told her they were'nt there. Reception had not advised housekeeping about the arrangements and the cleaning staff had binned everything thinking the room was empty. When they complained the toiletries were retrieved from the rubbish bag where they had been with amongst other things sanitary products. She was very unhappy and didn't want to use them again. Reception offered to drop one night's room charge for her inconvenience. But to make things worse tried to charge them for two evening meals when they hadn't even been in the building. Not a hotel I would recommend. The only thing I would say in it's favour was that it had the best hotel hair dryers we have ever had and although the changing rooms were smll the pool was. Decent size.

Room Tip: I believe the disabled rooms are a decent size.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Susan
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park. I apologise for the issue encountered regarding your daughters room & toiletries and the miscommunication among my team.
I hope you enjoyed the wedding.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I rather like the de vere brand, even though i don,t fit into their typical customer slot. I appreciate the care that has been given to the fitting out of the rooms, and so i was a bit disappointed by the shower cleanliness and its state of repair.
This was relatively new bathroom,but showing black mould, limescale build up,, and rust stains at the base of the shower cubicle, and that detritus wasn' t mine.
The answer now has to be the handyman and then in future better cleaning/cleaning products,so lets get it done,yeah !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelshopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Steelshopman
Thank you for the constructive feedback - we will remedy this issue.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed last Friday and Saturday. Room in management centre very clean and tidy on ground floor, near reception. Really quiet at night, a real treat as we live near a busy port, even though there was a wedding in the tower. Staff very friendly and welcoming, especially Hayley in the restaurant. Food was very good in the buffet style restaurant, especially the perfectly cooked duck! Good choice of wine, Peroni or San Miguel on draught would be a welcome addition to the bar - staff made it feel like a friendly local! Drove to Hampton Court on Saturday, only 30 minutes away, well worth the trip. Tip - go by train if you want to go shopping in Kingston. Sunday, walked round the grounds of the hotel, great for taking scenic shots, especially of the tower. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Could open window and door on ground floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Andy ... and a FANTASTIC review - thank you.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews