We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont expect to sleep here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont expect to sleep here!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The pool is nice but shared with childrens swimming lessons, sauna is big enough for two people and over heated (in the red on the guage) and noise is unbearable! I stayed in room 20 which is across a tile floored reception foyer so ended up being woken up by people walking across the reception, the receptionists themselves shouting to each other, the gateway buzzer and even typing on their keyboard throughout the night. I really believe I would have slept better in a bus shelter! I spoke to the receptionist about this whilst checking out and was told that she already knew about the noise from reception as she had previously stayed in a room 5 doors further away! Why are they still putting people in these noisy sleepless rooms?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahmearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sarahmearns
Thank you for your recent review. I do apologise if you were unable to sleep - that's a pretty basic requirement and we need to resolve the issue.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    313
    253
    125
    90
See reviews for
123
463
20
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Don't be deceived - this hotel is awful.

Having recently suffered a family bereavement we booked into the De Vere at East Horsley simply to get away for a night, and try to relax, how wrong we were.

The web page shows views of a fabulous old building and accommodation. In fact what is are not told is that your room is housed in a very impersonal red brick building, reminiscent of a university hostel.

In reception there were groups of youths, with presumably 'supervisors'. The noise they were making was deafening. He 'supervisors' made no attempt to ask them to be quiet or respectful.

On arrival in our room, the first thing we noticed was a framed mirror, over six feet tall, leaning against the wall, not fixed, and a blatant hazard, especially as I use walking aids to move around.

There was a full length window, ground floor, and these youths were running past this one window, screaming and telling at each other,so we had to pull the blind down, and sit in the dark! And still out up with the racket they were making. This was compounded by the fact that the floor we were on, also housed these youths in a whole corridor of rooms. They, being youths were slamming doors, yelling at each other....dreadful.

We ventured along to view the restaurant menu....Menu? Two choices only, both seemingly aimed at the junk food market, southern fried chicken or a burger!

Tea and coffee requisites were absent, we asked for more, but the cups were filthy and no spoons or stirrers. Bathroom, musty and unclean.

After two hours of noise, door slamming, and frankly an appalling menu, we approached reception, told them our concerns and decided to leave and drive home instead. They did condescend not to charge us for our two hour stay which is the only reason for one star given in this review. You would be better off staying in the pub up the road, who at least had a decent menu, if nothing else.

Please do not be taken in by the website images. It is nothing like it, and certainly this hotel doesn't deserve any stars at all. I'm minded to have Trading Standards look at their website, then go and stay there and see if they think this is blatant deceit, designed to lure unsuspecting customers in.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theladysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear LoriB
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park.
I am sorry that the venue did not match your expectation and that you were quite clearly disturbed by the groups we entertained this weekend. I will certainly pick up with the music college to discuss whether the supervision they provided was adequate.
I am also sorry that your expectation of a country house hotel was not matched. As I have pointed out on several prior reviews and is indicated in the opening paragraph of our website, the accommodation at Horsley is quite mixed between traditional and contemporatry.
I will ask for all the mirrors to be checked as indeed they should all be attached to the wall.
Thank you once again and please accept my apologies for what appears to be a wasted trip.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Horsley hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have visited this hotel for corporate training programme. If not business, would not come back. Heating in the rooms is switched off automatically @10pm. i called reception several nights in the row asking to fix it and no one came. Finally I got cold and could not sleep well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksevna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Aleksevna
Thank you for your recent review - I apologise for the 'terrible service' you received, it's generally not a complaint i hear much about Horsley Park. Heating is indeed controlled centrally (particularly in the summer months) but is certainly not switched off as you suggest.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the new Management Centre so can't report on the interior of the older building except to say that from the outside it was beautiful. The grounds are also attractive and like the previous writer, we enjoyed a morning stroll round the grounds in the sunshine. We had a non-refundable special rate for our room which was clean and opened on to a little courtyard with pond and bridge. The swimming pool was a nice size and clean. We had a swim first thing in the morning and once we were showered and changed we were able to help ourselves to tea/coffee and biscuits. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Ivan
Thank you for a terrific review, delighted you enjoyed your say with us.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not up to the De Vere standards I've been to in the past like Solihul and Cameron House, in fact it doesn't meet the standards of local independent hotels, however my room was in "The Towers" and not in the management centre, which through the windows of the rooms it looks A LOT better.

Room was tired, creaky floor, hard bed, rotting fireplace and a 10" CRT TV with poor signal. The nicest part of the room was actually the bathroom, although the walls need a replaster - looks like they will crumble any second!

Grounds were nice though. Bar food was mediocre at best.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the management centre and not the towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Evostance
Thank you for your recent review of Horsley Park.
I am sorry that the Towers appeared dated to you - the rooms are indeed far more traditional that the contemporary rooms at the Management Centre and one could suggest this 'dates' them - I wouldn't disagree.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, Tyneside
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as a delegate on a course being held in the hotel. Very clean, efficient service and very good choice of food (fab salad bar for example and great quality breakfast). My room was a little small - hence my 4 stars not 5 - but functional. Grounds lovely but can't comment on location as apart from a trip to the (very nice) pub 5 minutes walk away one evening I didn't venture out. Excellent choice for business traveller or weekend away. Only 25 minutes from Gatwick.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Stephanie
Thank you for a great review, following your visit to Horsley Park. I would have to agree that we are ideal (and ideally located) for training & meeting events, indeed Heathrow is even closer that Gatwick.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just completed a short working tour of the UK and stayed in lots of different hotels, all of differing standards. However, in terms of value for money and style, Horsley Park beat them all. The rooms, although in the newer part of the building, are clean, stylish and comfortable. The bar and lounge areas very pleasant. If you have time, take a stroll round the grounds which my colleague did (I didn't).

Breakfast was very good too and the bar was well stocked. We did arrange a later check-out at no additional cost and found all the staff to be very friendly - they even smiled which in many of the places we stayed at they charged you extra for.

The summer-lovin' promotional deal was something we would clearly repeat next time on the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pianoman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Pianoman
Thanks for a great review and delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us - keep in touch as the Autumn 'Lovin promotion will be coming soon!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
556 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,628 reviews
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,910 reviews
3.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Property: De Vere Horsley Estate
Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing