We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, excellent value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, excellent value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for one night for the princely sum of £20 for the room and an additional £7.50 each for breakfast. We weren't really expecting too much, and having read previous reviews we knew it was primarily used as a business/conference hotel.
The actual position of the hotel is lovely, quiet and pretty. Yes, the part we stayed in wasn't particularly pleasing to the eye, but we saw through that considering the price we paid. We stayed in room 76 which was small but clean and adequate for one night's stay. The actual Horsley Towers is very impressive and is set in beautiful grounds with a lake. I presume that this is used for Weddings.
Breakfast at the price of £7.50 each was very good value for money.There is a good choice of toast and preserves, cereals, fruit and juices, The hot selection was very good and there was a choice which was kept topped up with fresh foods,
In addition there is a lounge area and bar area where you can relax and enjoy free coffee and teas together with biscuits. A nice touch.
Finally we did get to use the pool facility and had this to ourselves, The pool is a good size and one depth, so good for children. The changing areas do need a bit of updating and also the showers but it was very clean,
For the monies we paid would I go there again? The answer is yes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyhand7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sunnyhand7
Thank you for your recent review - delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    302
    239
    114
    83
See reviews for
121
443
19
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for valentines night as a change. Thought it would be a stately home type set up. WRONG. It's a conference hotel. Food was a Buffett not that good. Gym was a little shabby as were the changing rooms. It had been repainted.

You ah e to check out by 9am which is just stupid! We did ask for a late check out which they have us but that's only at 10am!

Rooms are OK - beat part of the hotel

Unless you are attending a conference with a large group stay away otherwise you will be bored and disappointed. However with a large group you can make anywhere good.

Overall disappointing from what looked liked great photos for a couple. However It's OK for a conference.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear James T
Thank you for your recent review. I apologise if we did not achieve your expectation ~ Horsley Park is a fantastic conference centre with great accomodation & deals for leisure customers, but is not a stately home type hotel.
Thanks & regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a strange place. It was really a management centre/conference centre with small bedrooms. The taxi driver couldn't find the entrance as it was just signposted management suite.

The rooms were tiny, no toiletries you would expect from a 4 star hotel, even an Ibis hotel. A tiny travel bottle was priced at £2!!!!

The restaurant didn't open till 7' but I found there was a bar menu which in fact was better choice than the restaurant. The pulled pork sandwich was good.

There was no atmosphere to this place. The old Towers was not the hotel, which are led to believe from the main pictures. The bedrooms are in a basic building.

The pool was tiny as is the gym, and not worth the effort of getting changed in the smallest changing room I have ever seen. The gym had about 6 CV machines in it. Pity as I chose this place on that basis.

This really just a faceless conference centre, full of groups of "suits" . I feel sorry for anyone looking forward to a cozy hotel with rooms and facilities of a 4 star standard.

De Vere what are you thinking of..... Rebrand this, and stop leading people to believe this is a hotel !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanineLovesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear warnzy
Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry if Horsley Park did not match your expectations. As you will see from the numerous reviews below we certainly do not hide the fact that we are principally a conferencing & meeting venue. A part of the 'Venues' brand of De Vere we are not and never suggest that we are a 'cozy' 4 star hotel - i am sorry if that was your assumption.
I would however have to agree with you on the pulled pork sandwich - delicious!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Horsley hotels

Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent one night/2 days here for a work conference Feb 2013.
The location of the hotel is very nice, just north of Guildford in serene Surrey countryside.
The hotel effectively comprises 2 different sections - the modern conference centre section and the old Towers section. The Towers has character while the modern part definitely does not.
The bedrooms in the new section are functional but very small. Everyone in our group found the rooms either hot or cold, nothing in between. Beds not particularly comfortable nor were the pillows.
Food was reasonable without being exceptional, and the service was what you'd expect. Nothing outstanding. For a conference event the venue did the job but there unfortunately was no compelling reason I would want to rush back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilywombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Roamingranga
Thank you for your review and overall comments. Whilst pleased the conference was a success I take on board your comments regarding making it special - we focus on this but could obviously always do more.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting set up for the hotel, I arrived late at night and was welcomed in a warm manner by the receptionist. The room was slightly on the small side (Management Centre) but it did the job! Room was clean and the bathroom was clean as well. Can't really complain, value for money! :-)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Abi-Janet
Thank you for your recent review - I would have to agree that Horsley is a great venue, whatever your reason for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a venue aimed at conferences and the room we were allocated was meant for a single delegate. It was very squashed for two. It is also noisy as the locks on the doors mean that they are impossible to shut quietly.
The welcome from the receptionist was cool if not downright wintery.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Lizzie071
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry if on this occasion the venue and indeed service levels did not achieve our normal high standard. Whilst we are a conference and meeting venue at heart, I believe we cater well for guests across the spectrum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Booked a Saturday night stay with breakfast for £38 as part of a promotion. We were booked into a room in the management centre (room 60) which was nicely decorated and modern, it was a little on the small side but comfortable and had what we needed (TV, tea & coffee, hairdryer, iron etc) and the bed was very comfy.

It had snowed the day we arrived so the grounds looked absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed walking around the grounds and up to the main tower building, it was very pretty.

As with most De Vere properties, there was the complimentary tea & coffee machines, which were a nice touch and we enjoyed the free coffees to keep warm after walks in the snow. We also had a few drinks in the bar area which was busy and had a nice atmosphere.

We ate in the main restaurant, we thought it was a 'set menu' but it was actually a buffet for £18.99 per person, which was great value (much better than the bar menu food prices) and the food we had was some of the nicest flavoured food I have had, it's clear that the chef is very passionate about the food he creates, there was lots of choice from salads, cold meats, soup, bread a variety of main dishes and then desserts, the meal was thoroughly enjoyed, our breakfast the following morning was equally enjoyable.

We did use the pool, however it was small, cold and very busy, I believe that general public also use it on a membership basis which would explain why it was full of people just swimming lengths. The sauna was nice, however it was in the changing rooms (single sex)... a massive downside is the size of the changing rooms, they were absolutely tiny, which made the whole experience of going to use the leisure facilities a bit of a stress and effort, if I stayed again I would not bother with the pool.

The staff on reception were extremely friendly and could not do enough to make us feel welcome, equally the restaurant and bar staff were very friendly.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and would like to return, maybe in the summer.

Room Tip: Management centre rooms are located where the bar/reception/restaurant are
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belindacoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear belindacoles
Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to Horsley Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
6.3 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
3.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
12.5 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Property: De Vere Horsley Estate
Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing