We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent one night/2 days here for a work conference Feb 2013.
The location of the hotel is very nice, just north of Guildford in serene Surrey countryside.
The hotel effectively comprises 2 different sections - the modern conference centre section and the old Towers section. The Towers has character while the modern part definitely does not.
The bedrooms in the new section are functional but very small. Everyone in our group found the rooms either hot or cold, nothing in between. Beds not particularly comfortable nor were the pillows.
Food was reasonable without being exceptional, and the service was what you'd expect. Nothing outstanding. For a conference event the venue did the job but there unfortunately was no compelling reason I would want to rush back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilywombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Roamingranga
Thank you for your review and overall comments. Whilst pleased the conference was a success I take on board your comments regarding making it special - we focus on this but could obviously always do more.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    313
    252
    125
    90
See reviews for
123
463
20
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting set up for the hotel, I arrived late at night and was welcomed in a warm manner by the receptionist. The room was slightly on the small side (Management Centre) but it did the job! Room was clean and the bathroom was clean as well. Can't really complain, value for money! :-)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Abi-Janet
Thank you for your recent review - I would have to agree that Horsley is a great venue, whatever your reason for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a venue aimed at conferences and the room we were allocated was meant for a single delegate. It was very squashed for two. It is also noisy as the locks on the doors mean that they are impossible to shut quietly.
The welcome from the receptionist was cool if not downright wintery.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Lizzie071
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry if on this occasion the venue and indeed service levels did not achieve our normal high standard. Whilst we are a conference and meeting venue at heart, I believe we cater well for guests across the spectrum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Booked a Saturday night stay with breakfast for £38 as part of a promotion. We were booked into a room in the management centre (room 60) which was nicely decorated and modern, it was a little on the small side but comfortable and had what we needed (TV, tea & coffee, hairdryer, iron etc) and the bed was very comfy.

It had snowed the day we arrived so the grounds looked absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed walking around the grounds and up to the main tower building, it was very pretty.

As with most De Vere properties, there was the complimentary tea & coffee machines, which were a nice touch and we enjoyed the free coffees to keep warm after walks in the snow. We also had a few drinks in the bar area which was busy and had a nice atmosphere.

We ate in the main restaurant, we thought it was a 'set menu' but it was actually a buffet for £18.99 per person, which was great value (much better than the bar menu food prices) and the food we had was some of the nicest flavoured food I have had, it's clear that the chef is very passionate about the food he creates, there was lots of choice from salads, cold meats, soup, bread a variety of main dishes and then desserts, the meal was thoroughly enjoyed, our breakfast the following morning was equally enjoyable.

We did use the pool, however it was small, cold and very busy, I believe that general public also use it on a membership basis which would explain why it was full of people just swimming lengths. The sauna was nice, however it was in the changing rooms (single sex)... a massive downside is the size of the changing rooms, they were absolutely tiny, which made the whole experience of going to use the leisure facilities a bit of a stress and effort, if I stayed again I would not bother with the pool.

The staff on reception were extremely friendly and could not do enough to make us feel welcome, equally the restaurant and bar staff were very friendly.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and would like to return, maybe in the summer.

Room Tip: Management centre rooms are located where the bar/reception/restaurant are
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belindacoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear belindacoles
Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to Horsley Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My daughter and her husband had her wedding reception in the Towers on 1st February and we cannot fault the whole event - the organisation, the terrific staff, the great food, the helpful toastmaster - everything was perfect and everybody had a great time. Those of us who stayed in the Towers loved the rooms and the breakfast in the main hotel was superb (as per previous reviewers' comments).

I would really recommend this as a great wedding venue .

Room Tip: The rooms in the Towers are obviously older but are large and well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear TravellersA58
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read your feedback, particularly regarding the whole wedding experience - Horsley Towers is a very special venue indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horley surrey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful, relaxing 2 night break in this tranquil hotel. The setting is very picturesque, with lots to explore around the hotel and the surrounding area. A walk up to the Manor house is a must, the beautiful chapel is outstanding, and the surrounding countryside perfect to explore, lovely quaint little villages. Check in was efficient, our room, perhaps a little tired, could do with an update, but for what we paid, was excellent value. We did not have breakfast, but ate in the bar both nights, very enjoyable and plentiful portions. Staff amazing and friendly, very polite and attending to every need. Gym and pool good. Complimentary hot drinks, biscuits, apples and newspapers are a lovely touch too, the lounge area has comfy chairs, perfect for relaxing and watching the world go by. Would highly recommend a visit to Denbies Vineyards near Dorking, a super place to visit, also Polesden Lacey National Trust property, which is a ten minute drive from the hotel. ( Check opening times if visiting in Winter). All in all, a wonderful, relaxing stay, we will certainly be back. thank you to the team at Horsley. Last time we visited, there was a deal offered to us when we checked in, for a breakfast and evening meal package, which we did and thoroughly enjoyed. We did ask, but they are not doing this at present. A shame, as I'm sure it would encourage visitors to eat in the hotel, we would definitely have taken up the offer, and also would have probably had a couple of bottles of wine !!!!!!!. Thank you to all the team, hope to be back very soon.

Room Tip: Heard rooms in the 200 range are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear PhilipG
Thank you again for another excellent (and detailed) review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Between Christmas and New Year the girlfriend and I were looking for a hotel in the South East for just one night. I'd never used Devere hotels before but found this on a discount deals website and liked the look of it. When we arrived it was already dark but it was clear this was an impressive looking place with large grounds. Receptionist was very professional. The room was a lovely surprise, really good size, clean, good shower and very comfortable bed. Used the free wifi which was pretty reliable and discovered that most of their hotels do good winter deals so might use them again as they have a number of impressive looking hotels.

We did not eat an evening meal or breakfast here. When we checked out we were not given code to exit barrier so had to call them for it. Liked the hotel and certainly great value if booked on one of their winter deals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Gary B
Thank you for your Twixmas review - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
556 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,624 reviews
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,907 reviews
3.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Property: De Vere Horsley Estate
Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing