We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities & Food. Rooms very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here on business and after seeing the set up was very excited. The grounds are gorgeous, it's just a shame the rooms are SO dated. The rest of the hotel is great and the staff were v helpful. The bathrooms were gross and felt slightly dirty. I also had no curtain for the morning! It's fine but could be better!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank Portugal611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear Portugal611
Many thanks for your review and great overall comments. Apologies if the rooms were not as you expected, you will note from recent responses that we are about to embark on a significant upgrade to our bedrooms, that will certainly lift their decor.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Horsley Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed here as As a stop gap to Redhill from the west country. Venue was good, rooms well decorated and clean. It is a massive place so you may have to walk a lot to get to your room. Facilities are good, gym swimming pool, pool table, restaurant and bar meals (a bit limited). The hotel itself is hard to find and has several entrances so could get confusing if you don't know where you are going. Overall would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SammyJoe37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Chafchi
Many thanks for your recent review - delighted you had a great time.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed for the weekend due to attending a local wedding. When booking, please note that your bedroom will be in the main building, not the beautiful old Horsely Towers which is at the end of the carpark and used for private functions.

Also bear in mind this is a management training centre - conference rooms all over the place, and bedroom corridors that stretch for miles.

However, we found it delightful. The rooms are perfect for the many single occupants who are attending a conference, but a little small for 2 people. bed is a standard double and everything was very clean. Shower room was fine, but lacking shelf space. Space is tight, but if all you want to do is sleep here, you will like it. There is a small desk for writing and free wifi at a decent speed.

For some strange reason there are no coat hooks in the bedrooms, so you end up hanging jackets and coats on the mirror. Very strange.

We had a quick drink at the bar and a good nights sleep. Nice and peaceful location, clean room and comfortable, but this is no luxury hotel with expansive suits, or multiple TV channels or room service.

Breakfast was superb! If you read my reviews you will see I am very critical of breakfasts - many hotels just do not make any effort. Breakfast here was delightful - i may well stay again just for the food! Array of fruits, cereals, breads, pastries and fresh hot items cooked in front of you ( flame grilled bacon & sausages - YUM!) then served on a chef attended buffet. This really is what breakfast should be like. Endless juices, yoghurts and everything else you might need.

I would certainly stay again, and if you are looking for a comfy bed, clean room and great breakfast its superb. if you are looking for a romantic suite with excellent views and spending hours in your room, you may prefer somewhere more suitable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travellerocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear travellerocity
Many thanks for your fantastic (& balanced) review - look forward to seeing you again at Horsley Park.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for 3 nights, the hotel is set in the most beautiful surroundings, with plenty of free parking, and security barriers to get in and out, so you feel very secure.

The welcome we received from Kelly was fantastic, we asked for a quite room. We were given no 33, but unfortunatly it was right over the front door, as soon as we pointed this out she moved us to a room at the back overlooking the pond no 46. However all these rooms are really small, the bed was not even a standard double 4'6"x6', My husband who is 5'8" his feet were at the end of the bed, the ensuite shower room was equally as small.This part of the hotel looks quite new so why make the rooms so small, We will not return because of the nights sleep which was very uncomfortable, it was not hot last weekend, in fact it poured all the time, but because there is a silly little window that only the top bit opens it was very hot, in the summer months it must be unbearable. We asked to see an executive room before we left and boy what a difference a large 6' bed room to walk around and a large window that a third opened. We would only go back if we could get one of these rooms.

However the breakfast was fanntastic, plenty of choice, and dinner was very nice as well.

The hotel is well situated for National Trust properties, as well as Denbies Wine Estate, along with other places of interest,

Room Tip: Larger rooms ask to be in the 200s
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacandhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Jacandhow
Thank you for your recent posting. I am sorry that the bedrooms did not match your expectation but as you say, there are upgrade options available to larger bedrooms, perhaps more suited to leisure guests staying as a couple.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This place really sells itself well but it fails to deliver. Admittedly we got a good price on our one night stay but we had expected much more. The grounds are wonderful but inside, the hotel has no soul. The reception staff (and we saw at least 4) ranged from nice-but-clueless to downright-rude. The room was tiny and noisy - despite being in a rural setting it is set up to cater for large corporate groups!! The literature everywhere declared it is championing British hospitality - we didn't any sign of it. The pool and leisure club were awful - like something out of the Eastern Bloc! The only good thing I can say was - the breakfast was alright. I would have been livid if I'd paid the full price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellydeancumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear nellydeancumbria
Thank you for your recent review - please accept my apologies that you stay did not live up to your expectations. Whilst we are indeed a corporate training centre I would hope we do offer excellent service & value for leisure weekend breaks if visiting the Guildford area.
Your comments regarding our pool & gym are unusual but again, maybe our facilities just did not match your expectation.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on the devere spring offers deal for a visit to Thorpe Park which is only 30 mins drive away. They have no family rooms so I had to book a seperate room for my two teenage daughters which I think they were grateful for. The hotel itself is quite hard to find and not very well signposted abd the sat nav takes you round all the private estates at the back of the hotel. The rooms were small but adequate and clean. Could do with new tv,s as they are a bit old. When I went to Thorpe Park with the kids my partner used all the facilities. The gym is small but good and the pool is large enough for a good swim and the surrounding area is lovely for a walk. The hotel is missing an opportunity for hiring out bikes as the local area is great for cycling around the woods. Good breakfast on the last morning to see us off. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smo4ggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Smo4ggy
Many thanks for your overall positive comments, delighted you had a good stay. As per the last review response a refurb is indeed winging it's way to us this Summer. We have updated our online directions regarding misleading sat nav's to try and overcome the very issue you faced & I'll take a look at the bikes idea - sounds like a good one.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed here for 5 days, it was a course i had to attend with work, the management centre is were you stay the rooms are basic and could do with an update. Beds were not comfy, TV was antiquated. Though generally the room was clean. Although they do not do room service the Manager allowed my Wife who accompanied me to take her breakfast in bed, excellent. The downstairs bar and restaurant was excellent, food was top class and plentifull. Staff were absolutely brilliant and could not do enough for you.Overall it was a good location serviced by excellent staff. I do believe there are larger updated rooms which are very good so i am told. Overall pleased with the stay i cannot complain too much as this was work related and if i had to pay for it myself i would be a little disgruntled what with staying in one of the smaller rooms, though if i was to return i would ensure i was in one of the larger rooms no problems.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevelittler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear stevelittler
Many thanks for your recent posting. We do recognise the bedrooms are somewhat dated and are delighted with a forthcoming refurbishment of most of the management centre bedrooms. Thanks also for your comments regarding the restaurant & bar service - really great to hear that.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
567 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,668 reviews
6.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,633 reviews
13.8 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range: $77 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing