We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel was lovely although the room was a bit small. Relaxing surroundings set in beautiful grounds. The photos used by De Vere don't do it justice. Should have staffed the reception desk for the guest rooms - we stayed 8 nights and always had to trek to the reception at the management centre.
Staff very helpful and pleasant. Dining facilities great and good value. Loved the fact that tea/coffee/biscuits/fruit available free all day! Overall a good experience and would go back.
It's a shame the first review on the web states "horrible horsley park" - it was anything but horrible and we're glad we ignored that review and booked

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

Just had 5 nights at Horsley Park and was really impressed for the rate we paid. £39.00 per room, room only.
We had interconnecting rooms, one of which was for wheelchair users therefore very spacious.
Lovely grounds. Free coffee,tea,fruit & biscuits at various points around the hotel.
Great 'chillout' room with a football table for the children. Pool and gym were a good size.

All in all a really good hotel :)

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank 265Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Made a last minute booking whilst already away from home and got a Summer deal, Room only £39 which wasn't bad.
Originally allocated a large room in the Management centre, rather than the Horsley Towers, but subsequently found that this was not available via their 'offers'. The room reeked of cigarette smoke and was totally unacceptable to non-smokers like ourselves. Shouldn't really have allocated this without warning. Happily changed it for a smaller, but equally comfortable room. Shower over bath was a little lacking with folding shower screen that had seen better days. limited TV channels on TV. Very quiet room. Bar has Tv on at loud volume and lounge lacks any atmosphere. Only used restaurant for breakfast (additional £7.50 a head), but you have to be relatively early as some of the choices start to run out after 9.30.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwholderness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We went to Horsley Park just to have a break from the everyday life and we did not want to travel far from home so Horsley Park was a good choice, especially since we got a bargain price at £39 a night.

Upon arrival we drove into these very beautiful grounds. Very picturesque and beautiful with the Horsley Towers. Green, lush and well maintained. Nice walks around the grounds and also a fitness trail with different exercises along the way.

We stayed in the management centre of the hotel and I have seen that some people has complained about this, but to us this was fine. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was nice and clean. Not the biggest room, but spacious enough for a couple. Read in another review that the space was so small, but this was not the case with our room. The only thing we missed in the room was a bedside table on one side, there was only one bedside table and the possibility to open the window properly as we only could open a small part at the top.
The bathroom was clean and had nice details in the decor. Shower was great, very refreshing and powerful.

The hotel has got a very nice leisure centre with gym, sauna and swimming pool. We used the swimming pool and that was great!! Good size and very clean. Nice warm water so very refreshing on a cold rainy day. The hotel provides free towels for the swimming pool, just ask in the reception. The gym looked well equipped although we did not use it. Another bonus was free coffee and free wifi, also in the rooms. There were also a very nice bar with lots of seating and a big TV which showed Sky Sports. The hotel has also a restaurant that we did not use so can't comment on it since we did not eat there.

We had a very nice and pleasant stay at Horsley Park and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieMike2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This hotel is definitely for business only! Although I was dressed in smart clothing I did feel that because I was not in a blazer and pencil skirt I was looked down upon by the woman on the reception. She was rude and clearly thought she was above me, I did not feel comfortable here at all. The staff that we did have a nice time around were the 'bar staff' two sweet foreign ladies who had very little training, yet made the best they could out of the situation. These ladies were completely thrown in the deep end, unable to use the till at the bar and even had to ask a customer to pour his own pint as they couldn't do so without leaving a giant head. Nevertheless we all had fun in their company. The manager came along whilst I was being served and was extremely rude to the nice ladies and pushed them aside to serve me (a little too late I thought, at least they were learning whilst serving me!). He was smarmy and apologised for the women, which just infuriated me. The only two members of staff that had a fantastic communication with the customers were being apologised for!? This hotel is lost in their stuck up ways.
The hotel room was very small compared to other De Vere venues and the dressing table mirror was too high to use when sitting on the stall and was dimly lit, I had to use the mirror in the bathroom and stand.
The swimming pool was nice, the Jacuzzi spa was out of use though, which was a shame.
You need a code to leave the premises, the reception failed to warn us about this so we had to reverse back up the long drive and ask for it after checking out! Ridiculous!

Nevertheless, the local area is lovely, and as they say, it's the company you're in. We had a fantastic time just being away together. Although service with a smile would have made this a nicer stay ;)

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Terri-Louise206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We are not new to the De Vere or their venues. We usually have a wonderful stay. These grounds were absolutely wonderful, so quiet, peaceful, lovely to take a slow stroll around the lake and through the fields, then sit in the sun with a glass of wine, bliss.

The bar staff were fantastic, ensuring our glasses were always kept topped up and the Irish coffee's flowing!

Just outside the hotel, there is a pub called the Duke of Wellington. Very friendly staff, great real ale. We went on a Sunday, and they did 2 very tasty home cooked pizza's and a bottle of wine for £15. A real deal!

Our only problem with the Hotel, was the temperature of the room. Usually we would open a window and put it down to a hot night, but the windows were so small, it really made no difference. We even tried to call down to reception for a small fan, however were told there were none.

Overall, I would go back, however I would ensure that we wouldn't stay in the same room, or if we did, we would get a fan! . My advice would be if you see the room, and it has a tiny window, grab a fan, just in case =)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ichdienme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I booked a last minute £39 room for an anniversary break - it clearly said on the booking that the rate was for a room in the management centre, and not the Towers, so I was under no illusions.
Was pleasantly surprised - the room was compact, but beautifully clean and tidy, very comfy bed with 2 very plump pillows each (plus cushions), and had a door that opened on to the gardens (which were very well kept and tidy). The tv was small, but worked ok - and I don't really go to watch tv.
The staff were all friendly and efficient, and offered a leaflet on the history of the house.
We enjoyed walks in the gardens and around the lake, and the breakfast had a good variety, buffet style, and you could eat as much as you wanted.
Free wi-fi and the free coffee machines in the lounges were an added bonus. Reception areas welcoming and the outside seating by the pond very pleasant.
We had a look round the Towers after a wedding party had left on Sunday - fabulous house.
All in all, we had a great stay and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacames2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
610 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,760 reviews
12.5 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#4 of 11 in Guildford
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range: $92 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid quiet, extensive Surrey parkland, De Vere Horsley Estate offers guests free access to its leisure facilities, including croquet lawn, football pitch, gym and indoor swimming pool. De Vere Horsley Estate is made up of 2 venues - Horsley Place and Horsley Court. Bedrooms are located in Horsley Place and include a remote-control TV, safety deposit box and free WiFi access. De Vere Horsley Estate offers good access to Heathrow and Gatwick airports, as well as the A3 and M25 motorways. Horsley Station is 1.5 miles from De Vere Horsley Estate. On weekdays, there are 2 trains every hour from both Waterloo and Guildford. The Steam Bake and Grill Restaurant offers hot dinner buffets, with bar menus also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing