We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Horsley Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here for the weekend as a group of 6. Yes, the rooms were small and basic, but we knew that when we booked, as we had stayed at other De Vere venues. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and the seating areas to make use of the free coffee were very comfortable. The weather was glorious so we were able to appreciate the grounds, and had a nice meal in the Duke of Wellington 2 minutes away on foot.
A very pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    299
    232
    108
    82
See reviews for
116
435
17
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here on a late deal for £39 per room per night on a Saturday , we upgraded the room for £10 and got breakfast included. The rooms were basic but were clean and in good order, the staff seemed very helpful and the facilities were more than adequate. Bit disappointed that the hot tub was out of order but the pool, gym and sauna were all good. Didn't eat in the restaurant on the saturday evening as the menu was limited so we went to the Indian restaurant in the village (also nice). One complaint would be the noise overnight, we had the misfortune of having a room directly next to an external metal staircase which was used heavily throughout the night. The breakfast provided was lovely and as it is buffet style you can eat as much or as little as you like. We would definitely stay here again although I probably wouldn't pay full whack for it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellys013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've read through the comments about and would agree with most of them. This hotel is very much like a Travelodge and if I had paid more for the rooms it would have been a disappointment.

The site of the conference centre type hotel is within the grounds of Horsley Towers and this is a grand maison house with some impressive features such as stained glass windows and an array of fascinating masonry.

Our rooms, compact but not claustrophobic were clean and everything was freshly laid out for us.

Considering on our first night the place was full it was not noisy and the staff were pleasant and not stressed. They suggested an early buffet breakfast for us before the wedding party of 300 arrived in the dining room for their pre-booked meal!

No complaints - the neighbourhood is lovely with an abundance of thatched cottages and the Duke of Wellington, a 5 minute walk from the car park, serves lovely food until about 9pm on a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Check that breakfast is included if you want it and shop around for the best deal on prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I'll make this as brief as possible, the grounds that the "management centre" are surrounded by are fantastic, peaceful and picturesc. That's the good bit, the Hotel is refered to as the management centre in place of a Hotel everywhere, it's one of the team building places most of us try to avoid! I can't stress how depressing it is.
The restuarant was ok, cooked breakfast was cold though, left under lights that dont seem to do a good job. Reception was well set up although when I arrived no external calls could be made. The room, 87 to be presise, small, dull and miserable, portable telly with only 4 channels, corby trouser press that was falling apart and a bed that was on roller skates! The bathroom was ok, clean and recently refurbed by the looks of things, now here is the one thing that really got up my nose,
Why do hotels insist on having automatic door closers that work by slowing the door so that it wont slam and make a racket but maintain them poorly!! In this hotel they work until the last 3 to 4 inches then let go!! result, BANG!!! Oh yes, this goes on until the small hours and then kicks off again.
I would not stay here again, the whole place reminds me of the above film, long corridors, no natural light, kid on a trike, ok no kid but you get my drift.

Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chester150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Horsley hotels

Worthing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Had a lovely stay and left very happy with our decision to choose Horsley Park as our weekend getaway. You can't go wrong booking with De Vere's summer offer as the service definitely outweighs the price. Staff were very welcoming on arrival, offering plenty of valuable information on the hotel including use of the leisure facilities and dining options. I would recommend upgrading as our room was very clean and spacious including walk-in shower, flat screen television and full length mirror. We were swayed to book Horsley Park over other De Vere hotels due to its leisure facilties and we were very impressed. The swimming pool looked very inviting and the cleanliness was outstanding leaving us with peace of mind to relax and enjoy a quiet swim.
With access to the beautiful grounds of Horsley Park, an evening walk is a must where the towers and crocquet lawns can be seen lit up in all their glory.
Overall, we had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay and would certainly book again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 182Brittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I booked several weeks in advance after seeing the website and watching the video showing the lovely stone building and towers. Nowhere did it say I would be placed in a 'lodge' basically a separate building nearby. As the visit marked an anniversary, I opted for a slightly better room than the basic one.

On arrival I found the site confusing, the place not even signposted from the road. A long way from the car park to drag cases also. We were given the key to room 1 right next to reception. very small, with a 14" old fashioned type TV. Also there was a glass door out onto the pathway where all visitors to the hotel pass by. So no privacy unless you close the curtains. Another factor was the continual noise and chatter from reception.

I told the manager I was not happy. He said they were fully booked but would see if anyone hadnt booked in and we could have that room. I explained we had booked upgraded rooms and he said there was a problem with the system as we clearly hadnt had an upgraded room reserved. We were left for an awkward half hour while he 'tried to sort something out' but couldnt.

The only option was to move to another Devere Hotel in Woking which was a nuisance but at least the room we had there was acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revjames1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Booked to stay here for a quiet weekend break with my husband for 2 nights.
It got off to a bad start when we were showed our room (room 68). The only way I can describe it is like a University Halls of Residence room. The bedroom was tiny, the walls were dirty and the bathroom was tired and plain. I have stayed in other De Vere venues and hotels and this room was by far the worst and definitely not worth the £79 a night as it was more like a travel lodge. But we decided to make the most of it so I went to run a shower but all that came out was dark brown dirty water. We immediately told the manager who came and told us they'd been having problems with their water system that day. We waited for about an hour for them to let us know that it was going to take them about another 3 hours to fix and then they'd have to spend that time in the room fixing it. With it being 8:30pm already we didnt want an engineer in our room for the remainder of the evening so he said he would move us to another room. We were moved to room 18 which was a much nicer room. It again was small and basic but the carpets, curtains and bedding made it feel more like a hotel room not just like a conference centre room. We found the room to be quiet and our sleep wasnt disturbed at all.
I would point out to be careful when booking because although on the De Vere website it says you can choose between a "traditional stay" in the Horsley Towers or the more "contemporary accommodation this is not true. It was pointed out to us when we wanted to move to another room that the Horlsey Towers building is exclusively a wedding venue only. So basically if you stay at Horsley Park you will only be able to stay in the convention centre which when we were going away for a romantic weekend is definitely not the kind of surroundings we wanted.
The plus side was the restaurant and bar were modern and well decorated and didnt feel like a conference centre. The breakfast was very good and we had 1 evening meal there which was also nice. However it was a set menu which although was a good price of £15.99 per person it again reminded us that we werent staying in a proper hotel. On the Saturday afternoon we headed over to the bar in the hope of ordering a snack only to be told they dont serve food in the afternoons and all we could buy was crisps and nuts. What kind of hotel doesnt serve any food anywhere in the building in the afternoons! So although all we wanted was to stay in the hotel for the weekend without having to leave, we then had to go out in search of some lunch. I cannot believe how ridiculous that is when there is a bar and restaurant in the hotel.
I do have to say that all of the staff were very curtious and helpful at all times. The manager who helped us with the water problem in the first room couldnt have been more apologetic and sincerely tried everything to fix the problem and we were very thankful to him for his help.
The other good quality is that you can access free wi fi for the duration of your stay.
This is the 3rd Devere hotel I have stayed in and will definitely be the last. I have experienced too many problems in all of these hotels put together to ever want to stay in one again. I would say be careful when booking De Vere venues as you dont always get what you are expecting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenriettaLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
4.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
6.3 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
6.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Property: De Vere Horsley Estate
Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing