We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relax and rewind”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 6 Lakeside Avenue

Front of the House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the House
Front of the House Front Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Front of the House
Front of the House
Front Garden
Back Garden
Back Garden looking towards the studio
Back Garden seating
Back garden seating outside studio
Breakfast Room
Breakfast Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sitting Room 1 with open fire
Sitting Room 1 with open fire
Downstairs Double Bedroom off Sitting Room 1
Downstairs Twin Bedroom off Sitting Room 1
Sitting Room 2 with woodburner
Sitting Room 2 with Woodburner
Landing
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Upstairs Twin Bedroom 1
Upstairs Twin Bedroom 1
Upstairs Twin Bedroom 2
Upstairs Twin Bedroom 2
Upstairs Family Bathroom shared by both upstairs twin bedrooms
Outside of separate studio
Inside separate studio looking towards kitchen area and bathroom door
Bathroom of Separate Studio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Thorpeness, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
robertlow...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relax and rewind”
Reviewed October 17, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Such a beautiful house, well equipped and layer out in such an enchanting area. There is so much to do and so many places to visit with everything set in a place where the modern day rush does not exist. Thorpeness and Aldeburgh are picture post card towns with a wonderful relaxing pace of life and the house on Lakeside Avenue fits right in to the mood of the area but with all the mod cons required for us that cant quite leave the rat race behind ..

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time in Thorpeness and the surrounding area. Many thanks again for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable house”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very comfortable house, well equipped and large. We really enjoyed our week there. Suffolk was new to us and Thorpeness was a good base. We walked to Aldburgh, and used the car for short journeys to Sutton Hoo, Orford, Framlingham, Dunwich, Walberswick and Southwold.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thank you. I really appreciate your positive review. I am so pleased you enjoyed visiting Suffolk. Many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashley40
leicester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This property was perfect for our family of all ages. The garden was great for the small ones and very safe. Local pub and Meare only a few minutes walk, as is the beach and the golf club. Highly recommend. Mr & Mrs Bolingbroke

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
We are so pleased you had a lovely stay in Thorpeness and we are very grateful for your positive review. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you so much for your really kind review. It was lovely to meet you and your family. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Thorpeness and hope to see you again. Many thanks again for your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rhami01
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quintessentially an Olde English holiday”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Thorpness is located on the east coast of Suffolk 1.5 miles from Aldeburgh. It is a purpose built holiday village focusing a central mere which provides boating jaunts, ice creams and is within a short walk to the shingle beach.
The property is in keeping with the area and enjoys a quiet off road location.
We had initial difficulty in finding all the various keys to french doors, back doors and annex etc. It would help if they had been located in one place/dish rather than hung around different spots.
There is a disappointing lack of wardrobe hanging space aside from a few hooks on the backs of doors. The owner advised one bedroom was being addressed, but in the "Granny Annex - there is ample room on the mezzinine for the water system which apparently was in the wardrobe.
The cleanliness of the French/Back doors was unacceptable and the plastic table cover was very sticky. Given the owner advised contract cleaners took care of the property. Quality control needs to be in place as they are not doing their job.
We could not close the lounge door to minimize noise when children sleeping
Overall this property suited our holiday requirements for space and location, plus the owner was exceedingly helpful when I left our freezer block in the freezer.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you had a lovely time in Thorpeness.
I am sorry you had trouble finding the various keys. I hang them all on the heart shaped key rack in the utility room as mentioned in the welcome folder. Unfortunately due to the upstairs bedrooms being in the eaves (as the photos show) it is not possible to have wardrobes in the bedrooms but there are cupboards with hanging rails on the landing. I'm afraid in the studio we are not able to move the boiler etc to provide more hanging space. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. I will mention the french windows to window cleaners and I am going to replace the oil cloth as the stickiness is due to age rather than cleanliness. Thank you again for your comments and I hope you have a lovely rest of the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2017
We really appreciate your kind review and are very pleased that you had a lovely time in Thorpeness. Many thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are very grateful and so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Many thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing