We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great tranquil location tired property”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
5 reviews
Thorpeness beach
The Scallop, Aldeburgh beach
Aldeburgh
Thorpeness beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Thorpeness, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roam72139...
1 review
“Very good location, house not of a good standard”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Having recently returned from our stay over Christmas at 3,The Haven we feel that we must write and express our disappointment
with the accommodation and the property.
The situation of the property and the area were excellent and ticked all of the boxes for our party.
However the property was lacking in so much i.e. property was old and certainly needed updating. We found the beds very uncomfortable and needed to be renewed, the carpets were old and dirty, bathroom facilities were primitive and needed cleaning and updating in particular the shower on the ground floor. The lack of wardrobes or hanging space. The house needed painting inside as and some of the walls were very damp etc. etc.
We could go on much longer, but by now you will have gathered that the house was a great disappointment to us all particularly as two of our party had travelled from Australia to join us.
We do appreciate that you stated that the furniture was basic, but in reality it left a lot to be desired.
We went on to enjoy our holiday and it was lovely to be together with our family but we cannot recommend this property or the service that was supplied. We await your observations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at 3 The Haven we are saddened to hear the property was not up to your expectations. We do feel the house is of a basic standard. However we take on board your comments and these have already been discussed with the owners to address. It is a shame you did not contact us at the time of your stay to express your dissatisfaction and we would of gladly moved you to an alternative property. We do take quality and the satisfaction of our guests seriously, we would of been able to address your concerns at the time had we known about them. However, I am pleased you found the location of the property very good in order to explore the local amenities and being only a short walk to the beach. I am also happy to hear that despite your reservations you enjoyed the time with your family.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJB43...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best view”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thanks to everyone at Aldlebrough Coastal Cottages for all your care. Number 3 must have the best a view of the Meare!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Hi Chris many thanks for taking the time to review 3 The Haven in Thorpeness. The view is stunning from the property whatever the season. Should you wish to return to Suffolk in the future please get in touch with us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downsgolb
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great tranquil location tired property”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stunning location overlooking the meagre at thorpeness and a short stroll to the beach pub and cafe. The property is best described as tired, carpets are threadbare in place (perhaps because they allow pets which we don't have) best improvement the owner can make however is better mattresses. Springy would be an understatement. The stairs are also quite steep so not ideal for elderly guests. That being said we had a great weeks holiday and with new mattresses would stay here again. The location is amazing overlooking the lake and thorpeness is a gem of a fantasy village and the pub and meal was excellent

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattresses
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review 3 The Haven and we are delighted your enjoyed your stay in Thorpeness.

We are aware that the property is in need of some upgrading and this is reflected in the rental price.

I have passed your comments on to the owner of the cottage and she has assured me she will address the issues during the quieter winter months.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Angela
Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral C
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Time”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Arrived at 3 The Haven on a lovely sunny & warm day. Our dog settled himself in straight away,trotting round the front garden,surveying his territory. The house is like a home from home well nannys house,warm & comforting. The Haven sleeps 8 in 5 bedrooms, consisting of :- bunk room,double,twin & 2 single rooms. There is a family bathroom & a shower room with toilet, dining room, front room & kitchen. The best thing about this house is the view over the Meare. Good food for breakfast or snacks are from either The Meare Teashop or The Kitchen Cafe both overlooking the village pond & green.
Would like to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing