We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great house and a great place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Thorpeness
The Meare - Thorpeness
Boat House - Thorpeness
House In The Clouds - Thorpeness
Scallop shell sculpture - Aldeburgh beach
Aldeburgh
Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Thorpeness, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clarelamb...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great house and a great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 19, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The house was really comfortable with plenty of space for everyone. The standard of the accomodation was really high with well proportioned bedrooms, a large kitchen diner and three beautiful bathrooms. The small courtyard garden was the perfect spot for a BBQ and early morning coffee.
The house was well positioned for the beach, local pub and boating lake.
I would recommend this property wholehartedly - it was a real find!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2018
Dear Clare
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at 7 Whinlands in Thorpeness. Wonderful to hear you have enjoyed your stay and you found the house comfortable and space for all to relax and chill. The house is perfectly situated to explore the Suffolk coast and all the local amenities. We at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages look forward to you returning to Suffolk again. We thank for recommending this lovely house.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerry k
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfy family house”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a super family home for a week near the beach. Excellent comfy beds...plenty of room for everyone and a very well equipped garden. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
Dear Gerry
Thank you for taking the time to review 7 Whinlands in Thorpeness. I am delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable and you found the property to be a great home for a family holiday.
I hope we can be of assistance in the future if you return to Suffolk.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“70th birthday celebration ”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The Oliver family stayed at this house to celebrate Dave's 70th birthday. Spacious accommodation with plenty of room for the 6 adults and four lively children aged between 5 and 12. Very well equipped and in a great location only 5 minutes from the beach and mere.
Would highly recommend this house and the very helpful agents ☺

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2016
Dear Margaret

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at 7 Whinlands and we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay there.

Please do get in touch if you are looking to stay in the area in the future.

Happy New Year.

Best regards
Angela
Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesB109...
1 review
“First-rate accommodation in a first-rate location”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

You won't regret this place if you want a traditional British holiday by the seaside. We liked it so much we're likely to go again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandsBrit...
Brit up North
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A comfortable, spacious house in a beautiful village!”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here with another family (friends over from the States). The house was perfectly sized for all 9 of us, with enough comfortable seats, couches and beds/bedding. The gas BBQ was a nice touch and we enjoyed using it! However, décor and cleanliness wise it is a little tired and in need of some TLC. One of the bedrooms looked as if someone was thinking about painting the walls as it had several different coloured paint patches on the walls! The oven smoked so badly when we first turned it on because it was so dirty inside. The carpets are tired and stained. It is obvious the house is well-used and as it's in a perfect location (Thorpeness is a gorgeous place to walk, sooo peaceful and there's a lovely pub next door) I can imagine it's a popular cottage to rent. However, for the price we paid (and it's a fair bit during school holidays) I had hoped for better quality. The location really saved it for us though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing