We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorpeness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Bang on the money. Lovely rooms, nicely done out. Food great in the pub but v busy at the weekend! 2 mins from beach with a great village shop next door. Cant think of a negative. For the price it is great, and its dog friendly too!!

Room Tip: they all face the little town- sadly no sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    62
    9
    6
    9
See reviews for
49
98
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

A lovely place for a short break. Lovely location, peaceful setting, great food and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.The bed was fantastic and the room relaxinglly pleasant As a lone traveler I appreciate the help and the friendliness particualarly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Dolphin Inn in August and really loved the place. The staff, led brilliantly by the owner are very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. This even extended to sausages for breakfast for our dog!
Our stay coincided with the Thorpeness Regatta and in spite of the fact that the Dolphin was incredibly busy, the service and hospitality remained spot on.
I would definitely recommend it to friends and family, in fact I have already!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, we had room 2 and found it comfortable. It was a little cramped for 2 adults...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Dolphin for two nights whilst attending a local wedding. The landlord was welcoming and all the staff friendly and very helpful. There is a separate entrance for guests which was good for getting back after hours.
The room was very comfortable, big comfy bed, very clean, fluffy towels with everything we needed, we particularly enjoyed having the DAB radio. Lovely big bath with plenty of toiletries provided. Tea and coffee with fresh milk on request (no biscuits but we bought some lovely home made ones from the shop next door!).
Lovely breakfast, very relaxed, good beer and cider on tap. we were there the weekend of the village Fete which was held in the pub garden, this obviously took a lot of planning with stalls, BBQ and live music, we still felt that we were given their full attention.
We ate at the Dolphin our first night and although every table was booked they still managed to squeeze us in before the rush. The next day all tables were booked too so it is obviously very popular.
With regard to the area it is just gorgeous, the beach at Thorpeness was stunning and we walked twice down to Aldeborough which was about a 45 min walk along the beach path another lovely place to see. We had two goes out boating on the Lake which was hilarious mainly because I didn't know we had a rudder! The village is very small so the Beach and lake are only a couple of minutes walk. There is a lovely village shop next door linked to the pub and it sells lovely pastries, biscuits etc. You have to order your paper the night before if you want to purchase one.

We spent our last night in Southwold but much preferred it here at the Dolphin in Thorpeness.
We would definitely stay again and would have loved to stay longer.
Thank you to everyone at the Dolphin.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely, it really doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My Wife and I have just returned home after a four night break. Echo all the previous complimentary remarks concerning the inn comfort and food. One thing not mentioned is that the three guest bedrooms have en suite facilities have baths with attached mixer showers. No way can these be 'hooked up' and the wall tiles are only three deep over the bath. As elderly guests near 80 years of age we found that non provision of proper showers a no no! The whole stay in extremely hot weather was marred by the lack of proper shower facilities. We have never experienced this oversight in recent times. Otherwise the Dolphin was excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scaldwelljrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesscliffe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have been staying in Aldeburgh and had a meal at the Dolphin Inn based on a recommendation from my brother who had previously stayed there. We both had steaks and they were delicious. Decided to book in for another meal a couple of days later and we were not disappointed - it was a very busy night (a lovely sunny night and everyone had decided to pop to the pub for their tea!). The staff did an amazing job of keeping everything running smoothly and still kept smiling! We will definitely be trying the accommodation at the Inn in the future for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Another lovely weekend spent at the Dolphin. For the 3rd consequtive year... great food, comfortable beds in immaculate bedrooms and a lovely atmosphere.
Highly recommend a w/end in Thorpeness staying here & enjoying the quirky village,coastal walks and the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: room 3 is a double aspect corner room but all are lovely & 1 & 2 have window seats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aubin785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpeness
1.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Property: The Dolphin Inn
Address: Old Homes Road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thorpeness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpeness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the unique seaside village of Thorpeness, the Dolphin Inn, a free house, has placed itself in the heart of the community. A short stroll takes you to miles of unspoilt Suffolk heritage coastline and we are a short distance from Minsmeare, a birding paradise hosting some of our rarest wildlife. The Dolphin has three well appointed four star bedrooms, a fantastic restaurant with an enthusiastic chef, a bar that dispensers a large variety of whiskeys, ales, has a superb wine list and boasts a large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Thorpeness
The Dolphin Inn Thorpeness, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing