We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning and unique seaside holiday home”
other travelers have booked this property
The Tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Tower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
The Tower
Thorpeness Meare
Thorpeness beach
Scallop Shell Sculpture
Aldeburgh
Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Thorpeness, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Guluge
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning and unique seaside holiday home”
Reviewed December 7, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A relaxing few days staying at The Tower in Thorpeness warranted a review to put at ease those with reservations. It is a delightful and unusual holiday house, full of distinct church features cleverly converted into a comfortable living space. The central spiral staircase connects the floors each leading to unique spaces for bedrooms, bathrooms and sitting room. Everywhere was well decorated and maintained and I loved the eclectic choice of furniture in the rooms which enhanced the quirkiness of the house, while still being comfortable and welcoming. We stayed in the bedroom on the 2nd floor which has recently been refurbished to include a very comfortable brand new luxury mattress so we slept extremely well! It was a good sized room with views from a long narrow window peeping out high over the sea up the coast.
With large, well equipped modern kitchen on the ground floor and spectacular sitting room on the first floor we thought The Tower was the perfect place for holidaying with friends or family in Thorpeness.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Tower in Thorpeness. Your review describes the house wonderfully and is spot on with the quirkiness and uniqueness of this converted church. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. The house also benefits from walking distance to the sea which is an added bonus. Great house for large gatherings and it sounds all your party had a lovely time. If you should be returning to Suffolk in the future please do not hesitate to contact us again at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly unique large beachside property.”
Reviewed December 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We arrived at The Tower on a cold December afternoon and were delighted to walk into a really warm, spotlessly clean holiday home for a long weekend.
The property has been beautifully restored and is extremely well equipped. Several rooms have sea views and the fourth floor bedroom has stunning, quadruple aspect views across the surrounding countryside and the North Sea.
We gained access to the property easily through consice , simple instructions from the agents, who had arranged for a decorated and illuminated Christmas tree to be provided for us, which was a really lovely touch.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2017
Dear Sue, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Tower in Thorpeness. So pleased to hear you arrived to a warm house to enjoy your long weekend. The house is situated in a perfect location and as you say has great views. This is a unique house making each stay a memorable one. I am pleased you enjoyed the Christmas tree as we wanted to make this weekend special for you. If you should return to Suffolk please do not hesitate to get in touch again with us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring building in a magical coastal setting”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We booked the Tower as it looked impressive and was suitable for a party of eight. It has a real wow factor, the conversion is brilliant ( it was a chapel in its original form ) and we loved it.
The kitchen was fine, the heating and hot water excellent and the place was clean. The local area is special, the Suffolk coast is quite unspoilt and full of places to explore, we all loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2017
Hi Mark, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Tower in Thorpeness. Lovely to hear the house suited your requirements and you found this unique house perfect for your party of 8. The house is in a great location to explore Suffolk and only a few minutes walk from the sea. If you wish to return to Suffolk please do get in touch with us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D
1 review
“Perfect for 4 couples enjoying an autumn break in a quirky converted Chapel by the sea”
Reviewed November 16, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Very well equipped house. Warm and comfortable. En suite bathroom to lovely high ceilinged bedroom. We cooked on the first evening and enjoyed an excellent, good value supper at the Dolphin pub which is only a 4 minute walk - but be sure to book. And it's good, too, to book your paper from the local newsagent.

For the potterer its a lovely stroll to Aldeburgh; for the serious walker (and dogs) there are great footpaths along the coast or inland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2017
Hi Simon
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Tower in Thorpeness. It's great to hear you found the house well equipped and you enjoyed its comfortable furnishings and warm ambience. The house is perfectly located being so close to the beach and local pub. A real find in the Suffolk coastline which is unique as the property is a converted church and offers a truly different experience. If you wish to return to Suffolk please do not hesitate to contact us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina221
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A perfect autumn weekend break”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We were eight – four couples – and the house and location suited us perfectly. We had great walks in the autumn sunshine, along the beach to Sizewell and Aldeburgh and inland to Snape Maltings, and although the kitchen had everything we needed we treated ourselves to dinner one night in the excellent local pub (the Dolphin), an easy five-minute walk from the house. My husband and I slept in one of the ground floor bedrooms and were very comfortable. The bed linen was lovely, the shower first-rate and the whole house very clean. We plan to return in the summer.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2017
Dear Robina
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at The Tower in Thorpeness. I am delighted to hear the house was perfect for your stay and you had everything you needed for your stay. The house is in an ideal spot only a stones throw from the beach and short walk from the local pub. This unique property is perfect for large groups and ideal to explore the Suffolk coastline.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Tower in Thorpeness. I am really sorry to hear you found issues with the housekeeping this has been immediately addressed with our housekeepers. The Tower is a converted church which has reclaimed concrete which is porous in places and when the heating is on this can cause a slight damp smell in places. However this is being checked for any issues. The property is very unique and the majority of the building is the actual church. I am also sorry to hear you had a problem with the lights this has been addressed with the maintenance team. We are saddened to hear that your experience of the The Tower was not as you would of liked, we have taken on board all your comments and these are being addressed. We appreciate your feedback as this is important to us to maintain quality standards. Should you wish to return to Suffolk we hope you will contact us again at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Z7494PUjo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quirky, spacious, great views, only 50 yards from beach”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Booked this for family stay, with three generations. Very well equipped ( only missing any sort of coffee machine ). Kids loved it. Great for the beach, also boating on the Mere. Lovely village and only 5 mins from Aldeburgh.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2017
Thank you taking the time to review The Tower in Thorpeness. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with your family. The Tower is perfect for family gatherings and is perfectly located for all the amenities.Great to hear the kids loved the property also. Should you wish to return to Suffolk again please get in touch with us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing